home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Beach Club Villas (BCV)   · Next Product »
BCV2BR.jpg
<
BCV1BR.jpg
·
BCVStudio.jpg
>

Studio Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
28 43100 Thu July 20, 2017
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
100% of reviewers 8.9
BCVStudio.jpg
supersize


Description: Beach Club Villas Studio Villa
Accomodation Size: Studio


Author
Post A Reply 
carolina_yankee

Administrator

Registered: February 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25276
Review Date: Wed January 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Location, Resort Amenities, Dining Options
Cons: Views

It doesn't get much better than BCV for being in the middle of things. I was initially skeptical of the resort because I really don't like sea-side themes and the Victorian decor that comes with them, but I was surprised by how understated the decor felt in the room and how sturdy furnishing were (feared my wicker-y flimsy). Sheet and towel quality was upgraded half-way through our stay - a noticeable improvement.


Dining and recreation options are among the best on property. They were doing a trial-run of a separate check-in for DVC units which was nicely done. We were seated in a lounge and given refreshments while the processed our paperwork - my first taste of concierge-style service and of feeling truly special as a DVC member.


My negative about the resort - which keeps me from giving it a 10 - is that the majority of the room views just aren't that interesting. We also had issues with laundry to guest ratio. While everything else is excellent, the room views count to us, too.

------------------------------
https://photos.smugmug.com/Walt-Disney-World-Vacations/2017-Disney-Cruise-Fantasy-Easte/2017-Sea-Days/i-sMSC4PL/0/2038e744/S/DCL%202017-0708-S.jpg
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit carolina_yankee's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
RweTHEREyet

Add-on Aficionado

Registered: February 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC; OKW; BCV; SSR; BLT; VGC; VGF
Posts: 6119
Review Date: Thu January 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Close proximity to EPCOT, MGM and the Boardwalk
Cons: Not too many great views

We had two studios here on the night of Jan 9. We arrived late and the sign at the front entrauce told us to check in at the BCV lobby. After trucking over there, the check-in for that time of night was actually the Beach Club front desk, so back we went and we got an "oops, we forgot to take the sign down".


Our rooms were clean, no issues, but I don't go in looking for problems either--I wait for them to smack me in the face or cause a problem.


The realitvely new Marketplace is a definite plus for grabbing a quick bite, for any meal of the day. And Beaches and Cream is a short walk and really a treat.


The parking lot is close for self-parking, but valet parking is also available. As mentioned before, there are few really nice views.


You reqlly need to plan ahead and book your stays at the BCV, few rooms and the Storm-a-Long bay attraction make this a highly requested resort.

------------------------------
RweTHEREyet? http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g295/jkm8113/1aa70712-70af-499e-a70d-f250a139c2f4_zps4ad7a58d.jpg http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1504854003.jpg http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1539414000.jpg
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
mullertwin

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: February 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 11
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great location!
Cons: Small room

I stayed here on a solo trip. I had a fine location that was really close to the International Gateway at Epcot. The room was very clean and well kept up. However, the studio is really quite small. I would not recommend staying here with more than 2 adults and one small child. Additionally, the laundry facilities were run down and several of the machines were broken. Overall, though, it was a beautiful resort and I would definitely stay here again.

------------------------------
Joy
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
shovan

Studio

Registered: October 2006
Posts: 116
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent service
Cons: handicap access to pools not adequate

We are DVC owners with our home resort at the Beach Club. Our last stay was in October for the F & W Fest. We stayed at a BCV handicap accessible room. I am in a power wheel chair. As usual accommodations were great. The only complaints I have is: (1) There is no pool lift in any of the pools including the DVC pool. (2) I really think its time to replace the bedding as the mattress is quite lumpy and the installed mattress pad/cover does not mask the lumpiness as I am sure the DVC had hoped. DVC, PLEASE REPLACE THE BEDDING! Now that I gotten the bad stuff out of the way....On our second-to-last day there, we got caught in rain outside the American Adventure Pavilion in Epcot. I accidentally ran over my DW’s rain poncho with my wheel of my wheel chair pulling her to the cobblestone & rolled over her foot!. This aggravated her lifelong back, causing us to have no choice but to retire to the BCV early. Once we returned to the room, I asked my wife if I could go out to the Beach Club Marketplace to get her something to eat. She said soup or chili would be great. There was no soup that she liked and they served no chili. While wheeling around the lobby, passing the concierge desk, someone from behind the desk asked if there was something I needed help with. Feeling rather beaten down and emotionally defeated, I told them the whole “rolling over my wife story”. She said to wait a moment and she’d be right back. Ten minutes later she showed up with a plain unmarked take-out box with a bowl of Beaches ‘N Cream chili and a Beaches ‘N Cream hamburger. Anyone who knows anything about Beaches ‘N Cream will tell you this..... They don’t do take-out and their chili and hamburgers are to die for. I thanked her and asked her how much was the food. To add icing to the cake, it was all at no charge. She said, this is our piece of Disney magic to you and your wife. I LOVE THIS PLACE!

------------------------------
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p289/bshovan/DVC%20signature/BCVBLT1.jpg http://distickers.com/ticker/tickers/1l5l5e8e5nm2a1db.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MCazer
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: October 2007
Review Date: Tue January 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Pool is amazing
Cons: Got Lost in the Hallway!

We stayed here a few nights before a cruise on Royal Caribbean leaving from Port Canaveral.


We own at OKW, so this was our first stay.


Well, we are not BUS people, we always rent a car, so we found parking a big problem here.


We are used to parking outside our building at OKW, which is impossible to do here.


We found the room smaller, and of course the porch is small/non existant. However, we were able to see part of Illuminations if we hung our the "porch" window and looked to our right (which we did).


One day I had to run back to the car to retrieve something I forgot, and found myself lost in the building. More signs would be greatly appreciated, since you lose all sense of direction when you can't see outside.


Our favorites: The touch of sand on your tired feet when lounging in the pool after a long day.


Taking a boat to MGM, and Epcot, and just walking to Epcot along the path.


You really don't need to take a car from this location most days, which is wonderful.


Cons: rooms are smaller than OKW, but then again, most are.


Would we do it again, yes, but maybe during offseason, as points are higher here. OKW still wins out on points!

------------------------------
Margaret DVC 1997 - OKW - 10 Years! WOO HOO!! Time Flies When You're Having Fun! http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10701;99/st/20071101/e/Disney+Trip/k/ef00/event.png http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10747;405/st/20080816/e/Disney+%60+Universal+Trip/k/7d8f/event.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
hillbilly1170

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 6
Review Date: Thu January 31, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Epcot 5 min walk, SAB, Cape May Cafe, close to BW
Cons: Laundry on 4th floor

Our favorite resort. We stayed on 1st floor close to the lobby and were so close to the bus stop, walkway to Epcot and SAB. I would recommend this resort to anyone.

------------------------------
http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/akv2.jpg http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/bcv.jpg http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/okw3.jpg July 72 offsite July 80 offsite March 96 All star music March 04 Shades of Green March 06 Villas at Wilderness Lodge March 06 Beach Club Villas March 07 Boardwalk Villas March 07 Old Key West March 08 Beach Club Villas March 08 Wilderness Lodge March 08 Shades of Green October 09 Beach Club Villas October 10 Old Key West October 10 Animal Kingdom October 11 Shades of Green October 13 Animal Kingdom October 13 Beach Club Villas
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Pocahantas

Studio

Registered: April 2006
Location: Louisiana & BCV
Posts: 160
Review Date: Wed February 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best Location!
Cons:

We are DVC members and BCV is our home resort. We have stayed at this resort numerous times before and after buying into DVC. The location of this resort is the best on property in our opinion. Can't beat the short walk to Epcot, closeness to the Boardwalk and the boat ride to Disney Studios.

------------------------------
Past Trips: 12/02 - CR; 2/04 - CR; 5/05 - Pop/BCV/AKL; 10/05 - POFQ/BCV; 2/06 - VWL; 5/06 - BWV; 12/06 - POR/BCV/WL; 6/07 - SSR/BCV; 10/07 - BCV; 12/07 - POFQ/BCV; 5/08 - DCL/VBR; 2/09 - BWV; 6/09 - BCV; 9/09 - AKL/DCL/BC; 5/10 BLT/Poly; 3/11 BCV/BLT; 6/11 - DCL-Alaska; 6/12 - DCL Next Up: 2/13 - Magic Western Caribbean On the Horizon: 5/13 BCV; 10/13 BCV
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
magicmama

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 23
Review Date: Mon February 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: location of resort
Cons: can feel a bit crowded or small

I like the styling and comfort of BCV. We needed to use the sleeper sofa. When we had it pulled out, navigating was crowded. The bathroom door was slightly warped so closing it was sometimes an issue. But since we weren't in the room a lot, it was fine.


Being close to Epcot was a plus. Taking the boat to Hollywood (MGM) and Epcot can have advantages. Stormalog bay was fantastic! This sand bottom pool is large enough and has enough for kids and adults.


The Marketplace store has a lot to offer. There is a lot to explore in and around the resort that can make staying at BVC a lot of fun. You can be close to 'the action' or find a quiet spot on the beach or one of the many sitting rooms tha offer wonderful refuge when it rains!


Parking can sometimes be an issue here.

------------------------------
:smile18: http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f132/artbrush/bcv2.jpg http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f132/artbrush/ssr.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Carolina

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 29
Review Date: Mon February 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Location, Pool, Theming
Cons: Decor updates needed, rooms are small

We stayed at the Beach Club Villas this past fall and loved it. We stayed in a spacious studio that was wheelchair assessible. We are a family of 4 and the room was fine for us. We do not have a wheelchair, this is just the room they gave us. Our friends had a regular studio and it was a bit smaller.
When we arrived to our room, we noticed the kitchenette sink was leaking around the faucet. We reported this, then left for the parks. When we returned it was repaired.
I was glad that the room had a tub in it because my daughter will not take a shower. The shower curtain rod kept falling down. We called maintenance, left the room and it was repaired on our return.
We love BCV because of the location, the pool, and the beach. It was fun watching movies on the beach at night. We also enjoy the restaurants and looking across at the boardwalk. My kids really loved the sandy pool and slide.
Some say the theming of BCV is "Grandma's cottage" and it is supposed to look worn, but I still feel the rooms need to be updated.
Our room had a great view of the fireworks at Epcot, but if you don't have that view, it is a short walk to the beach for the view.

------------------------------
"If you ride Splash Mountain with Mommy, you're gonna be held." ~ ds warning dh about our upcoming kidless Disney trip.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
wdwphanatic
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: February 2007
Review Date: Mon February 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Best-located studios at WDW
Cons: Wish they were roomier

We've stayed at all the DVC properties at WDW except SSR and the new AKV, and BVC is definitely our favorite based on location (proximity to Epcot, especially), amenities, service and visual appeal... My only wish is that they were a bit larger (more like OKW). To me, however, I'd sacrifice a bit of space for the location and the awesome pool!! I absolutely love this resort!!! :-)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Smitty

One Bedroom

Registered: August 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 358
Review Date: Mon February 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Location of resort
Cons: Housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired

Our first visit to the Beach Club Villas was not impressive. I have never been disappointed with, or complained about, a room in the past, but this time I had to request a manager. I was attending a conference 20-22 February in the Yacht Club and my husband and I added a couple of days in a studio for vacation, prior to the meetings. We invited a co-worker to join us, as she is a single mom with little opportunity for time away from her daughter and the expense of staying a couple of extra nights limited her options.


The room was clean, but we were missing coffee mugs, glasses (both sizes), and wash cloths and towels. We also had a light bulb that was burned out. We called for the missing supplies and left for a park. Upon our return at 11:15 PM we discovered that nothing was brought to the room as requested. We called again, and housekeeping came within minutes. We reminded the housekeeper about the light bulb and she submitted the request again for the next day. Upon our return from the park on tuesday, once again, no light bulb.


I also had boxes shipped to the resort for the meeting I was attending. I asked on Monday, 19 February, if the boxes had arrived. After the concierge made a phone call, he told me that there was no delivery on Monday as it was President's Day. No problem, made sense to me. I asked again Tuesday afternoon and was once again told the boxes has not arrived. Since they were sent Fed Ex, 2-day on Thursday, they should have been in WDW by now. I had to call my office to ask for tracking information and was told by the secretary that the boxes arrive Monday (President's Day!!) and were signed for at the Beach/Yacht Club receiving department! I then had to pay for internet access to be able to have the necessary information for the concierge...I was not amused at this point. Turns out the boxes were there the entire time and my "vacation days" were spent working due to the errors at WDW.


The conceirge offered to get a manager for me, an offer I gladly accepted. I explained my issues to her and told her my biggest concern is that we are scheduled to be back at the Beach Club in May for an entire week! We were not impressed with our first visit and we are concerned now about the second visit that is upcoming. She was quite sympathetic about our experience and told us we would be "wowed" in May and that I shouldn't be concerned that we would be disappointed.


We moved to the Yacht Club Wednesday morning for the work reservation. We had our luggage (and the boxes!) moved at 9 AM and walked over to the check-in desk in hopes that we could get a key before heading to the parks. They had a room ready for us and we had a spectacular view! There was a note on our reservation that we were not happy at the Beach Club Villas. Everyone that we had contact with in the Yacht Club made a point of asking if this room and stay were an improvement over our first room.


We are going into the May vacation with the hopes that this time was a fluke. Our three kids, a daughter-in-law, and two friends are all going, so we will be in a 2-bedroom with 8 adults. We are hoping for a better experience, but if we have any problems, I know who to ask for!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lisa

Two Bedroom

Registered: December 2005
Location: Honeoye Falls, NY
Posts: 747
Review Date: Wed February 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Location to parks&restaurants, beach theme, marketplace
Cons: View of Epcot Resorts Blvd.

BCV Studio Rm # 155 - Dec 2007


This was my first solo trip and first time in a studio and had a great trip.


I used the new check-in located in the villa building. A wonderful CM checked me in and was very considerate at asking if I wanted to have my room moved to a higher floor since I was staying alone. They were not able to make a switch in the end, which was fine, but the thought was appreciated. The other CM didn't seem as well trained but pleasant.


The room was clean and well maintained.


The room I was given was a first floor facing the back of epcot and Epcot Resorts Blvd. There were trees and foliage blocking half of the view of the road and if I had been in my room for Illuminations, it probably would have blocked most of that too. The road didn't seem as bad as I thought it would have been on the the first floor (an earlier room #367 that was over the canal bothered me more).


BCV is my home resort and I like the addition of the marketplace. The self-serve soda was very appreciated. The sandwiches made a good dinner the first night but I do wish they were made fresh to order.


If you eat at Hurricane Hannahs be warned about the birds. They are fierce! They attacked my hand and food! Ouch!


Love the location. Walk to two parks and many restaurants, but tucked away behind the BC.

------------------------------
Cheers, Lisa (aka lisareniff) A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men. - Willie Wonka AKL & VB - Pres. Week 2012 - last time as VB owners AKL ...then the Gulf - Pres. Week 2010 BCV - Back home for President's Week 2009, 2011, 2014 & 2016 VB - April 2008 in a BC baby! BCV - MO Grand Gathering solo VWL & BWV - Presidents Week 2007 Poly & VB - Presidents Week 2006 VB & Poly - Short "no kids trip" May 2005 AKL & BCV - Presidents Week 2005 BCV - Thanksgiving Week 2003 (first time home!) Off site 1975 & 1980 (back when WDW was the MK)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
helenabear

Add-on Aficionado

Registered: April 2008
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 5487
Review Date: Thu May 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Location is perfect and staff was wonderful
Cons: Can hear the voices in the hall

We just got back from a week long stay at the end of April/beginning of May. It was myself, my husband and our infant son.


The location is absolutely wonderful! The food choices near by are the best. I love having the beach to walk along and play in with my son.


The staff was top notch. Whenever we needed something, they came within moments to help us out. On our last day, our son was having a melt down (he refused to take a morning nap) and they set us up in the drawing room with a pack n play. We didn't even have to ask, they just offered to help us out. Every day they were there to greet us and chat with us. The check in at the lobby area of BCV is wonderful and keeps you away from the busy lobby that the rest share.


I only wish we had stayed in a 1 bedroom instead of a studio as our son was not used to sharing a room with anyone. I think we all didn't sleep as well due to that.


The balconies are very tiny, but otherwise I loved everything else there. We would definitely stay again.

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bernie

Two Bedroom

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 707
Review Date: Wed June 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: nearness to epcot
Cons: none

Stayed at the beach club from May 18 to May 25. As one mouseowner said I do not look for problems unless I am confronted with one. I had requested a room overlooking the quiet pool so that we just go down one floor and the pool is right there. When we got to our room we noticed that the pool was closed. I mentioned this to a cm at the front desk and he did his best to move us but I said no we really like the location and I appreciated his help. The next day after returning from the main pool there was a message saying that there were 3 tickets for My husband, my daughter and I at any water park we chose during our stay. I saw this cm a day later and thanked him for being so thoughtful and we appreciated his efforts. The BCV is an awesome resort to stay in. The proximity to epcot is fabulous, the marketplace is very nice with everything you need the main pool is wonderful with the sand on the bottom and the quiet pool, which opened up one day before we left, is nice with not a lot of children if you are all adults and want a little quiet time. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone going to the Epcot area. Also we had a studio and it is perfect for us. Love Love disney

------------------------------
- Bernie http://www.mouseowners.com/images /BWV2RL.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MickeysChicagoPals

One Bedroom

Registered: July 2008
Location: DC
Posts: 259
Review Date: Tue September 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Closeness to Epcot
Cons: Only option for Hollywood Studios is boat or a long walk

OK, we stayed here in July, studio room. We had an excellent view of Epcot, and could see the 'ballie' as my kids call it, everyday. Check in was a breeze (arrived at around 1pm). I lOVED the concierge desk, they were so helpful and always eager to answer our many questions. The room was nice and clean, no problems to report there. We LOVED walking to Epcot, a really nice plus. Although, if you miss the boat to the Studios, the walk is quite a trek with younger kids.


My con on this resort, sorry to say it, is the pool. We have 5 & 8 year old boys and the pool's depth seemed perfect for 4 and under, or 10 and over. We really didn't spend that much time at the pool because the kids wanted to swin, but it was too deep in the only area you can really swim in. My other negative is that there's really no cafeteria-style breakfast option. We ended up purchasing a 1/2 gallon of milk and individual cereal boxes/bowls for us each morning.


Overall, loved the resort. I wish there were more options for a quick meal, but overall it was a good stay.

------------------------------
http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1375513221.jpg :earboywavJuly 2008-Joined DVC-AKV! 2013-Vero Beach, BWV, & BCV; 2012-Bay Lake Towers; 2011-Disneyland-Paradise Pier; 2009-AKV; 2008-Beach Club Resort; 2007-Disneyland-off property; 2006-Port Orleans Riverside; 2005-Port Orleans French Quarter; 1996-Caribbean Beach Resort-1st Trip as Husband & Wife; 1972-1994-Too Many Trips To Count As Kids Growing Up :bounfigme:bouncingmWe love our MAGIC!:bouncegoo:bountigge
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 More Items


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:27 PM.

© MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images © The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.