home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Beach Club Villas (BCV)   · Next Product »
BCV2BR.jpg
<
BCV1BR.jpg
·
BCVStudio.jpg
>

Studio Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
28 100063 Thu July 20, 2017
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
100% of reviewers 8.9
BCVStudio.jpg
supersize


Description: Beach Club Villas Studio Villa
Accomodation Size: Studio


Author
Post A Reply 
jfellows
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2006
Review Date: Mon September 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: pool, location, staff
Cons: no food court

Our favorite resort for its proximity to Epcot, amazing pool and incredible staff. We feel so at ease here- the piped in beach smell is wonderful! Beaches and Cream is a favorite and we love the movies on the beach. We have had little trouble with the buses and often walk through Epcot to take the monorail places. Book early!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
michaels1mom

Studio

Registered: April 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 153
Review Date: Mon September 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Location to EPCOT & boardwalk amenities, views!
Cons: Cramped counter service rest.within the hotel &at pool

We stayed here in July for 5 nights following July 4th weekend. Our room was ready upon our arrival which was magical in itself, since we arrived before 1pm.


Once again, we loved BCV. This year my children DD6 and DD4 were old enough to really enjoy SAB. We would go to the parks early, go back to the pool for a couple of hours and then go eat a TS restaurant at night and perhaps go to a park again. The staff does alot of interaction with the crowds at the pools with games, karaoke (sp?), disney trivia,etc. and gives out prizes.


We are really beginning to love EPCOT so there is really no better location to be staying at if your last park of the day is EPCOT. When we did EMH (or it may have been just getting there at opening) at Epcot on one of the mornings, we did use our car so we could be at the front of Epcot, so we could be closer to TSM. For some people that may not make sense, but for us, it does.


Although we do have a car every trip and don't rely on the buses, I don't think I would like the walk (with the kids at this age in the heat) to the Hollywood studios if we missed a boat (as someone previously posted)!


We didn't have an EPCOT view, but views really aren't that important to us because we try to keep our children off of the balconies.Our preference is not to be facing the quite pool. I would rather look at trees than be facing the pool. For some, I can understand that an obstructed tree view would be non-desirable, but for us it really doesn't matter.


My only two complaints about this resort deal with CS dining options. If you are at the pool and are hungry, AND if you can find a place to sit, be prepared for the attack of the birds. We were sitting next to an older couple with grandchildren who were encouraging their children to feed the birds. At the same time, my daughter practically was attacked in the face while trying to eat a chicken finger!
Inside BCV at the Marketplace, there really isn't anywhere to sit unless you want to go outside in the heat or sit in some of the common areas/sun rooms (don't really know if the common areas are conducisve to eating with children). And I think checking out at the Marketplace is a pain. If you are lucky, there are two people working. Even then the line can be long. I wish Disney would knock out the display cases they have with merchandise that is situated in the entrance from the BCV side, although they are attractive, and add some booths there to sit in. Maybe that would help.


BCV is still my family's favorite! I would go there right now if I could. I can deal with the less than par counter service choices. The pool is great. The location is great. Staff is helpful and courteous. We had no problems at all during our last trip.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
amartel9

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: February 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mon September 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: Laundry facility

We love the Beach Club Villas! We had stayed at the Beach Club many times, but we stayed at the Villas for the first time August 23 - 30, 2008. We had a handicapped accessible room on the second floor. We are definitely going to request a non-HA room next time because we did not have enough shelf space (none, actually) for our toiletries, but we loved the location of our room (225). It was the first room off of the elevator lobby, so it was an easy walk down the stairs or up from the elevator. We also really liked the view of the woods and could see some Illuminations fireworks from our room. Very nice!!


We love the Beach Club because we often just "wander" over to Epcot for a late night glass of wine or a walk around the world during our down time. We also LOVE Beaches and Cream. We ate lunch here 3 times during the week. The burgers and ice cream are amazing. We even wandered over to the Boardwalk a few times, which is something we do not usually do, and had a great time at ESPN and a great dinner at Spoodles.


We thought the service at BCV was exceptional! We loved having a greeter escort us in to the check in desk, which we had never experienced before. The theming of the lobby is one of my favorites, even though it can be noisy at times. It was also fun to see Art during the week. He cracks me up!


The only (slight) downsides to this resort are the store and the BCV laundry. The store is very nice, but it is so hectic to get in and out in the morning and grab a quick muffin and coffee. The lines are all crammed in the back and there is not really a system of where anyone should line up to get to a register. It is just kind of a free for all, but we just go with it and expect to have to wait and deal with the morning crowds. We factor that time in, but I wish they would rearrange the quick service area of the store. Also, the laundry only has two washers and two dryers. We often found these in use no matter what time of day, and they only offer powder soap for the HE washers, which meant that soap was all over the machines because people use too much. Kind of messy and the washers take 60 minutes. All in all neither of these issues are anything to really complain about, and we had a terrific week.


We love BCV and will continue to go back!!!

------------------------------
DH :Pirate: Me :Princess: Boyd Smile!og: Brady Smile!og:
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
TW1

Founding Member

Registered: September 2005
Location: Philly and/or HHI
Posts: 6795
Review Date: Sat September 20, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fabulous resort!
Cons: Rooms can feel far away.

This is the resort we prefer when visiting WDW, though the main reason is to have access to SAB. Yes, the resort is quite beautiful, and being near B&C is a plus, but SAB is worth the trip in and of itself. Somehow we usually end up on the top floor far from an elevator and resort to taking the stairs since the walk to the 'vators is a drudge. But it is more than worth it and hardly a 'negative'. Enjoy!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
kinghorse
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: September 2008
Posts: 6
Review Date: Mon October 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: None

We stayed in a studio villa and it was perfect, the decor, room size, bathroom (loved the vanity outside), comfort, view. Everything here was wonderful and of course the pool which I could hardly get my daughter out of. Beaches and cream was great and so was Hurricane Hannah's. (recently stayed at OKW and it was horrible). This is the only Disney property we will stay at since I can't imagine anything better.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
apurplebrat

Studio

Registered: January 2006
Location: Boston, MA & BCV
Posts: 179
Review Date: Fri October 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Location, atmosphere , storm-along-bay pool EVREYTHING!
Cons: having to go by smoking location to get to beach club market place

We stayed at BCV 9/28/08 - 10/7/08 had room 561 - top floor. Great room. Housekeeping was excellent. The room was very clean and even smelt fresh and clean Awesome views of illuminations felt like you were in the park. The room was right by the back elevator. Excellent location


BCV is our home resort. We love being able to stroll into EPCOT BCV doesn't have a food court but with EPCOT so close we don't mind. Beaches and Cream is a favorite of ours. The sundaes are fabulous and huge!


The pool is one of a kind. Great fun, not to be missed

------------------------------
:bouncingp:kickingco:birhdaypa:boundumbo:bounfigme:maleficen:bouncingc:tinker::dust:bouncingm
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
kathleena

One Bedroom

Registered: September 2005
Location: Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Posts: 270
Review Date: Sun October 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Close to Epcot, SAB
Cons: None really over any other resort

Checked in Sept 6th to Studio #476. Next to the last room down the hallway. Although a long walk, very quiet in the halls! Easy to use the far elevator and walk across the pool deck to the buses or to the walkway to Epcot or the lobby. View from the room is the quiet pool and the rest of the BCV.


Check in was quick - we were greeted at the door and escorted over to the check in desk. That was new and seemed to be so they could re-route you if the desk was busy, over to the consierge.


Room was clean and in great condition, CMs were friendly, pool was great as usual. Just a really nice resort, especially if Epcot is your favorite park, like me!

------------------------------
Nancy in Maine
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y64/DisneyBUff/kathleenatag.gif
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Kmermaid

Two Bedroom

Registered: March 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 828
Review Date: Mon October 13, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Close to Epcot, cape may cafe, new mattresses
Cons: check in at beach club main desk.

We took our friends for a 5 night stay at the BCV from 10/4 - 10/9. We had two studios. Upon checking in my only request was a high floor. We got that. What then happened was the girl checking us in said that my room had only a small standing balcony. After talking to a manager who also concurred that the balcony was only big enough for one person to stand at a time I asked her (the manager) to see if there was something else available. Cutting to the chase she found something on the second floor which we went and took a look at. Which ofcourse was the road with a view of some pipes. In the back of my mind I kept saying I know the BCV balconies though not huge where all big enough for two people. I got my original room assignment room 531 dedicated studio and IMO is the perfect studio. Next door is a storage area, which is hardly used and across is one of the electrical rooms. Basically we were by ourselves. The view is a woods but you can see the America's steeple and to the right is the Tower of Terror. But the best part is a partial view of Illuminations which was only partially blocked the end of one BCV's hallway. The room was very clean and had a new pillow top mattress. My only con was that the tub was slow draining and got worse as the trip went on. I notified the front desk upon checking out (maint was not available) of the problem. Our friend's room was 560 a lock off studio which overlooked the dunes pool. This room has an oversized balcony. It is also right by the elevator which takes you down to the pool which makes getting to your car easy.
The boat and bus situation while there couldn't have been better, the longest wait was AKL eve to leave maybe a 20 minute wait, seemed longer cuz of the rain. It seemed like anytime we went somewhere our transportation was ready for us. Even going over to DHS to catch a bus to SSR for our spa treatments was effortless.
Had breakfast at Cape May Cafe. We did not have an ADR but was down there at 7:30 and got right in. Loved seeing Donald Duck and had a conversation inwhich I asked him how he liked working at his new location. My girlfriend said only I the disney kook would know that Donald was new to the place.
Pools: We had beers at SAB and had a good time swimming around. The sinking sand area seems to have been toned down quite a bit. The marking is no longer there and instead of sinking up to my knees it is only the feet that disappear. We went to the hot tub after getting back from an exhausting but definitely fun MNSSHP, our first. Planning to go back next year but taking the kids. This trip was mostly for the F&W which was great as always.

------------------------------
http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/bcv.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Farm Girl
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: October 2008
Review Date: Tue October 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Stormalong Bay & Location
Cons:

We were at BCV from 10/5-10/12 in studio 461. This studio overlooks the road, France in Epcot, and the mysterious oval.
It had a large balcony that made a twist around the building. You could see the canal from the far end of the balcony. This studio had a couple of stains on the carpet and we needed maintenance to replace a light bulb in the entry. Otherwise, it was very clean. I thought the hallway carpet looked a little dingy even though I knew they had just replaced it a few months ago. They were shampooing carpets on the first floor when we left so maybe it was just time for a good cleaning.


We enjoyed the ease of getting to Epcot for the F&W Festival. Bus and boat transportation was good! SAB was not too crowded in front of B&C except when they played Bingo. Another thing we enjoy is all of the different restaurants within walking distance at the Swan, Dolphin, BW, Y&B and Epcot. Exercising around Crescent Lake is enjoyable too with all the sights and sounds to experience.


This is our home resort and we have had many enjoyable stays here!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Cookie123

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 41
Review Date: Fri December 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The Location
Cons: None, really

I stayed in a Beach Club Studio Villa from December 7-13th, 2008. My room was # 439. I could have had a room right away, but it was in an area that I didn't want. I was quite willing to wait for the room in an area that I wanted. My check-in went smoothly. I did not have a car, so I cannot review the parking. My room was clean and tidy.


Having a DVD player was important to me, so I was glad that there was one in the room. This particular DVD player was just not working properly. I had already brought my own DVD player for my first night at The Dolphin, so I just hooked up my own player. I hooked mine up quickly and never bothered to complain about the other one.


The view out my balcony, while not spectacular, was just what I wanted, peaceful and quiet. My view was of the woods, a walkway that goes around the buildings, and one of the Beach Club buildings. I never saw another person out there! I could see the highest Epcot fireworks to my left, but the view was not really good enough to be standing out there.


The laundry room on the 4th floor was NOT the greatest. They only have 2 washers and two dryers, and the machines were strange. One washer malfunctioned. I put in my own hypoallergenic laundry detergent from home, and the washer took it, and went immediately to the spin dry cycle! I wasted my own detergent, had to buy more, and then start all over.


All in all - my vacation was almost perfect - and I would definately go there again!

------------------------------
Cookie123
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
WDWSchul

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: December 2009
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue December 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best pool at WDW, close to epcot, BW, Hollywood Studios, great theme
Cons: No Grandvilla, some buildings can be far from main resort & pool

Stayed here in 2005 (5 studios with 18 people) for the first time and BCV is hands down my favorite resort. The decor is delightful, the staff was friendly, the room was clean, the pool is awesome and the proximity to Epcot, the BWV and Hollywood studios is so convenient. Beaches and creme is a real treat!!!

------------------------------
Saratoga Springs Home Resort Members since 2006
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
vtstarr

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 29
Review Date: Wed February 8, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: location to epcot and hollywood studios
Cons: new renovation and refurbishment.

Beach Club Villas Studio
19 years of being BCV owners at Disney Vacation Club. Worst visit ever at the Villas. Major renovation and refurbishment is a big disappointment as far as studios go.
In order to accommodate more people in a studio, a Murphy bed has been added that replaces the former dresser which had drawers, shelves and the TV set. Now there are only 4 drawers in that area that measure about 10" wide and about 10 inches deep. No way to store folded t-shirts or much of anything for that matter. Now, there may be folks who are delighted they can cram 5 people in the room (however, where any of them will put clothing etc is an issue). I would venture, however, that at least 50% or more families who visit and stay in a studio do NOT have 5 people in the room and would very much appreciate added storage space. Might have been nice to leave 50% of the studios without the murphy bed and with extra storage space.
New TV is HUGE - that's an improvement - however the remote provided had no way to mute the TV or select a channel by number - had to move up and down the channels - pretty annoying since every time the TV is turned off, it defaults back to Disney info.
Furthermore, the old sofa beds (which were very comfortable, could be fully made up and then folded back in to a sofa with pillows tucked in behind), have been replaced. Unfortunately, the replacement is horrid. It cannot be folded back up if made as a bed, meaning that the sofa bed needs to be made up every night if one plans on having a sofa during the day. The housekeeping staff is unable to make up that bed in a way that keeps the sheets tucked in, and leaving it out as a bed is quite unsightly, since the sofa cushions have no place to go other than on the floor or tucked in the barely adequate closet. Part of the problem is that the queen sheets are not correct for the double size sofa bed. They are way too big and cannot be tucked in easily since there is no more than about 3 inches under the mattress to do the tucking. Two words : fitted sheets. While we were there we heard many housekeepers complaining about the sofa beds and they said they had spoken with management, obviously to no avail.
It also means that the coffee table (now replaced with one that has drawers on both sides) has to be moved out of the way and then, there is no way to get at both drawers without pulling it out and turning it around.
The queen bed STILL only has one table on the side - wouldn't one think in a redo that they could finally provide a small table so the person on the other side of the bed has a place to put glasses, a book, glass of water or whatever? Oh no.
DVD players are no longer standard in the studios. One can request one at no charge, however - good luck. It took us days to get a proper player with a remote that worked.
WiFi was awful in the room - my phone said poor connectivity and my computer often couldn't connect. Had to use cell phone data most of the time. Could have been in issue just in that room however. I called tech support - they were not helpful. During previous visits I have had such good wifi that I could even stream Netflix if I wanted to.
All fun Disney decor has disappeared in the rooms, which are now painted a boring gray color. These rooms could be rooms in any hotel and that is NOT what I expect from Disney.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
robgoofyrm

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: August 2015
Location: MA
Posts: 49
Review Date: Thu July 20, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Location & food options
Cons: Hallway noise & bus wait time both were not good

Awesome pool and location to 2 parks and dining options. Hallway noise was the worst of any deluxe resort I have stay at on Disney property. The bus wait times returning from MK & AK were easily 50-75 minutes in the afternoon hours. Watched 3 Boardwalk/Swan-Dolphin and Poly buses come multiple times(on several different days) before a BCV/Yacht bus.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 PM.

MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by Forum Software