home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Beach Club Villas (BCV) « Previous Product  · Next Product »
BCV2BR.jpg
·
BCV1BR.jpg
>
BCVStudio.jpg
>>

One Bedroom Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
13 50177 Fri June 26, 2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
92% of reviewers 8.0
BCV1BR.jpg
supersize


Description: Beach Club Villas One Bedroom Vacation Home
Accomodation Size: One Bedroom


Author
Post A Reply 
ushighlanders

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 12
Review Date: Fri January 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: washer/dryer, lots of room, nice kitchen, sundeck, main pool
Cons:

We spent a couple of days in a 1 bedroom villa a few years ago. Disney is always great, but when you can get the chance to stay in a larger room...it's wonderful. We liked the fact that the bathroom had two entrances/parts. The soaking tub was in the part in the bedroom with a sink (tiolet too?...can't remember, the kids had the bedroom) for one person to use, and the main bathroom with the shower could be used by someone else at the same time. We liked lounging on the sundeck (which was on the ground floor in a far corner unit) and waving and saying "Good morning" to people as they walked by. We never got to go to EPCOT on that visit, but it was extremely easy to walk there. You can also take a boat to MGM Studios (Disney Studios). We liked the sand bottom pool and lazy river. The icecream shop was fun! Those cast members work hard!!!! We could not get reservations to the Lobster Feast at the restaurant, all booked. I would stay here again, I even tried to get an extra night back then.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
zulaya

Grand Villa

Registered: June 2007
Location: Circle Pines, MN
Posts: 1012
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Spacious
Cons: Pretty small once you've been in a 2BR

We do 1BR when we are point-poor. One of the kids will take the sofabed and we bring an Aero bed for the other. Can't tell you how much I LOVE having a full kitchen AND a washer/dryer.


There are a limited number of dedicated 1BR, but not very many at all. And really, ANY location at this resort is good. It's small enough that you are close to everything.

------------------------------
~Mary DVC Member since 2002. Homes at BCV and AKV 30+ trips! Dec 2018 - Bringing the sweet 3YO and 5YO nieces for their first time along with their parents, Gramma and Grampa!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit zulaya's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
mathmouse
Studio

Registered: April 2007
Location: Missouri
Posts: 83
Review Date: Sun January 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: lovely room, beautiful and short walk to Epcot
Cons: Stormalong Bay not great for little kids

I only disliked one thing about BCV, and am only going to ramble on a bit about it because I really haven't seem this criticism much and it's good to keep in mind for parents with small children: while BCV is a fabulous location for both Epcot and the Boardwalk area, the villa rooms are really quite far from Stormalong Bay (especially when you're walking with kids who are 3 and 6), and Stormalong Bay was a little scary with such small kids. DS was 3 when we went and was happy to stay in the shallow part, but the sand on concrete at the pool bottom was rough on his little feet. DD was 6 and swam well enough to get away from us, which was scary in that with the twists and turns she only needed to swim a few feet ahead to get around a corner and out of view. The whirlpool areas also required very close monitoring. The big shipwreck slide was much too scary for little kids.


Don't get me wrong: we had a fantastic, wonderful time, and just couldn't believe how beautiful the walk was every night as we came home from Epcot along the path by the water. However, parents with very small children might want to keep this perspective in mind when deciding.


I should add that everything about the room itself was perfect. I've never seen such a comfy sofa sleeper before! The colors were cheerful, everything was immaculately maintained, and there was plenty of space in the 1BR. Bus service to MK and AK was swift.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
amycthir
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 22
Review Date: Mon January 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: beautiful rooms and views. lots of space
Cons: none

Very freindly staff when we arrived (Easter Sunday morning) that let us in our room right away. We had a view of a wooded area that was very peaceful after long and loud days at parks and the pool.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DonnaO
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 7
Review Date: Wed February 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Close to Epcot adn Boardwalk
Cons: cleanliness, hospitality, knowlegde of res. system

We had a horrible stay in the 1 bedroom. The first room they gave us had someone already in it. They locked that person out of their room and gave us a key to get in. I opened the door to find someone elses key. I just happened to be walking away when I noticed the person staying there was trying to get in his room that they now locked him out of. When they did give us room, it did not have the view they told us it would. It was also not cleaned. There was pubic hair on the toilet and coffee in the coffee pot. They came back to clean it but later that night when I made dinner I noticed that the dishes in the cabinet were filthy! I mean had food caked onto them and were put back into the cabinets!! So I called again and they cleaned again and to make up for it we were supposed to get housekeeping for the entire stay. We didnt. They never came back and it had already ruined my vacation so much that I never even called that manager again. I will never stay there again!!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jbhoward_99
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 15
Review Date: Wed February 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Close to Epcot, great pools, Beaches & Cream
Cons:

We stayed at the Beach Club Villas once when we were moving. We moved all day and then instead of sleeping on the floors we all went to stay here! What a reward for a hard day's work of moving! The pools are great (sandy bottom with a pirate slide!) and we loved being within walking distance to Epcot! Beaches and Cream is a great ice cream place that we love (we got the "Kitchen Sink"!) I think they serve burgers etc... too, but I'm thinking that the burgers weren't available for take out... or maybe the ice cream wasn't... I can't remember which. Anyway, we really enjoyed our stay! The beach along the lake was wonderful and so peaceful!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
vtstarr

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 29
Review Date: Wed June 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Close to Epcot,MGM,Boardwalk/Lazy River!!
Cons: Bedding!!! KS sheets too short/ Too many doors

BC is one of our home resorts an we love it. Lazy river etc is like your own water park. Beaches and Cream is super 1BR has everything one needs. Some things needed to be fixed (leaks, burned out bulbs, etc) We're going back to a studio in Sept.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
mgilmer
Studio

Registered: August 2007
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 82
Review Date: Mon June 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quiet, Beautiful, Good location relative to parks, and of course, SAB
Cons: Long walk to lobby and even longer to the lake and pier to catch a boat.

We stayed in a 1 Br from June 8-13 and just loved it. We were in Villa 265 near the pool elevator. The villa had a large balcony. The only problem was the washer-dryer unit made very loud noises when running.

------------------------------
Disneyland in 1957 WDW in June, 2002; December, 2002; July 2004; Aug 2004; December 2005; June 2008 Next trip in December, 2011. I am :loveisint for Disneyworld! http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z261/tngilmer/bcvgroup.jpghttp://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z261/tngilmer/BCV2RL.jpghttp://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z261/tngilmer/Disney_Beach_Club_Villas_Logo-150x1.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Luv2golf
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sun September 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great location and SAB, refillable drink station is a plus
Cons: some views are not the best, far from SAB

This is our home resort and we have stayed here many times. We love this resort for the pool, location, decor and the proximity to many restaurants at BC and BW. Sadly, our opinion of Beaches and Cream has gone down the last two visits due to quality of food and some service issues and we will only be going there for ice cream from now on, but we love Cape May! We've always had "EPCOT view" (which is not an official view anymore) on the upper floors and enjoyed that even when the only we have is of trees. Our last trip was "pool view" which was an upper floor looking toward the pool. This view didn't work for us because most of our view was of the parking lot and because the ambiance lighting on our deck was on 24/7. The lights were large and bright and kept us from sleeping well. Maintenance must have had this complaint before because they quickly came up and unscrewed the bulbs for us which was great!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dsquarednz
One Bedroom

Registered: September 2008
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 238
Review Date: Tue September 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Proximity to Hollywood Studios and Epcot, beautiful architecture, pool
Cons: Very large resort, thin walls, several smoking areas

Our stay at BCV in Sept (7-12th) was a first in several aspects: our first stay at BCV, our first stay at the resort in general, and our first stay in a one bedroom villa.


At first blush, this resort is stunningly beautiful. Walking to it from Epcot (or even the parking lot!) it's difficult not to appreciate the colors and feel of the resort.


However, once you get inside and start searching for your room, you can easily get disorientated and lost. Like other resorts, the hallways are FREEZING. We also found that on the way to our room we passed a very creepy hallway that reminded us of The Shining!


Beyond that, the room was very airy and bright. The kitchen was indeed fully stocked and the perfect size to make meals. The bedroom was also a good size, the bathrooms had excellent lighting, the shower water pressure was perfect (and the shower big enough for two), and having the shower separated from the toilet made things more efficient in the mornings and evenings.


The doors and lights were a bit confusing, though. After a week in the villa, we still weren't sure which light switches turned on which lights we just kept flipping them all on until we got what we wanted! The light over the washer/dryer was on the same switch as the entrance light, and you couldn't turn on the light to the shower/sink room without walking all the way in it.


There were way too many doors as well - two to go into the shower room, one of which is quite large (the one leading to the room with the tub). As far as I know, though, all of the one bedroom villas in all resorts (except 2008 construction) are designed this way.


Our view was of the Villas pool, which was ok for the most part. The pool truly isn't a "quiet" pool, though, and the football stadium lights are on all night, so we couldn't keep our curtains open at night.


Note that there are three pools on property, and two of them are small pools! Not knowing this got us lost once. Smile


We stayed in the VWL the week before staying here, so we had a great opportunity to compare. While at the VWL, we never heard anything from rooms surrounding us nor anywhere else, for that matter.


However, in our one bedroom villa at BCV, we constantly heard a high-pitched whining (I think it was the building A/C), as well as the sounds of other rooms flushing and starting showers. (We were on the second floor).


The pool is the main attraction of this resort, but we never had a chance to use it! Hurrican Ike rained out a couple of the afternoons we had set aside, unfortunately. My advice to you is if you stay here - make sure you use the main pool!


They also offered s'mores and movies each night on the beach, but due to our desire to see the Adventurer's Club as much as possible, we didn't participate in this either.


One final note: If staying in a studio villa at the BCV, I can imagine doing laundry would be difficult. There didn't seem to be any dedicated laundry rooms within the Villas, and the smaller laundry rooms on property do not have detergent vending machines. Detergent is only sold in the Marketplace (at quite a markup!) or at the main laundry room which can be quite a walk from the villas.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jaysue

Grand Villa

Registered: October 2005
Location: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1443
Review Date: Mon January 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Best Main Pool, Proximity to Epcot, Theming
Cons: No Community Hall, Hallways Cold, Toilets Loud, Climate Control Wonky

BCV is to be taken with a rock of salt. If you are not super keen on Epcot or Storm Along Bay, I do not recommend it. The hallways are typically frosty, the in room climate control is wonky at best and the darn toilets flush at something like 90 decibels +. There is no community hall or members area and beaches n cream always has long lineups. All of the above are negatives that are more than balanced by the positives to us of boardwalk proximity, short walk to Epcot and Stormalong Bay.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
chowsito

Two Bedroom

Registered: January 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 766
Review Date: Fri February 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Beautiful resort; close proximity to Epcot/Hollywood Studios; campfire/movies on beach at night.
Cons: Lack of counter service; rude staff in market place.

Pros: We had a great time at Beach Club Villas. The resort is beautiful. We were in Villa 347 and had a bit of a walk, but even that was not too bad as its all pretty close. Walking home from Epcot was awesome. The campfire, smores and movies on the beach was such a cool treat for the entire family. The staff at the campfire was amazingly nice. The pool was under renovation, and it was a little too cool out to use it, but it still was impressive.
Cons: The boats were running pretty slowly from resort to Hollywood Studios.
Beaches and Cream was way too crowded to get in to.
Washer and toilet flushing were loud enough to wake the dead.
I think the biggest complaint we had was The Marketplace and their "breakfast" choices. There was a bin of ham soaking in water that they would pull out and slap on a croissant(sp) with a way precooked egg/cheese slab. That was pretty much it for any sort of a hot breakfast, aside from something you could pop in a toaster. The staff at the eatery was horribly rude and arrogant, which was very suprising.
All in all, the pros were much more than the cons. We would suggest this resort...just save your counter service for something better than breakfast there...not worth it.

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]--Chowsito Someday, I will get into Club 33....:woohoo:
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ritaread

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: June 2009
Location: Glasgow Ky
Posts: 24
Review Date: Fri June 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Beaches and Cream
Cons: None

I actually never stayed in the rooms at BCV we were in SSR but the pool there isnt the best so we took advantage of this beautiful pool I love the real sand It was great I noticed others saying that Beaches and cream was packed and had a long line If you ask me it is worth the wait Now I will admit im picky and most difinitely not a fancy eater so this was right up my alley Great hamburgers-prob best anywhere in the park I tried the Plaza at MK and it wasnt nearly as good The ice cream was great if there is alot of you order the Kitchen Sink So neat!!! The prices weren't too bad either like $30 for 2 of us to eat And you get alot of food for your money You should at least try it once!!!

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] Our Home Resort!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06 PM.

MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by Forum Software