home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » BoardWalk Villas (BWV) « Previous Product  · Next Product »
BWV2BR.jpg
<<
BWV1BR1.jpg
<
BWV1BR.jpg
·
BWVStudio1.jpg
>
BWVStudio.jpg
>>

Studio Villa, Boardwalk/Preferred View
Reviews Views Date of last review
24 125003 Wed March 20, 2013
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
96% of reviewers 9.0
BWVStudio1.jpg
supersize


Description: BoardWalk Villas Studio Villa, Boardwalk/Preferred View
Accomodation Size: Studio
View (Boardwalk/Preferred or Standard): Boardwalk/Preferred


Author
Post A Reply 
carolina_yankee

Administrator

Registered: February 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 27097
Review Date: Wed January 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Location, Upscale Offerings
Cons: Lacking in casual and quick dining options, a bit threadbare and worn,

We had a studio with a view of the Luna Park Pool. I wasn't expecting it to be as noisy as it was - not bad in the evenings, but quite loud during the day (music). The carpet and trim showed obvious wear and door knobs needed tightening. The guest laundry looked little better than a utility room - Disney usually does better with keeping things fresh.


Conceriege (guest services) staff were excellent, but check-in staff were disengaged. Concierge actually called us over and processed us. In-building gift shop had few options - requiring a run through the rain to pick up snacks from the Screen Door General Store.


Upscale dining options and pushcart food was great, but no place to pick up a counter-service hot meal or breakfast.


Finally, the lock-off studio could have been better designed (as done in other DVC units). The connecting door opened into the studio sitting area - meaning that noise from the 1 BR entered our living space more readily. The newer design with connecting doors by the outside entrance keep things quiet. The connecting door also caused the table/chairs to be placed in an odd location, leaving a very bare and open corner. Dedicated studios probably don't have that problem.


I would stay here again, but I feel that other DVC resorts are better kept or offer better flexibility. Location and recreation amenities are great, though.

------------------------------
https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-b3VrPMK/0/6ddb7392/O/i-b3VrPMK.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit carolina_yankee's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
popstar7867
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 3
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: close walk to Epcot and MGM, fun nightlife, close proximity to many restaurants and other hotels
Cons: Can be loud

We loved staying at the Boardwalk! Nothing beats the close walk to two major theme parks, MGM and EPCOT! Another major plus for us was the many diferent restaurants which left us a lot to choose from for lunches and dinners. We also loved teh nightlife! It was fun to come back after a long day at the theme parks and have a lot to do! The only minus was it could get a little bit noisy, but we didn't mind at all!

------------------------------
*Amy* http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/popstar7867/STA70960.jpg ~Past Trips~ 1996- Family Trip- All Star Sports 1997- Family Trip- Dixie Landings (Now Port Orleans) 2002- High School Band Trip- Off Property (BUT got to march in the MK Parade!) 2006- First trip with my BF - Coronado Springs Resort 2007- 2nd trip with my BF - Coronado Springs Resort Oct 2007 - 1st time home to SSR May 2008 - BWV December 2008 - BCV, AKV, and GF http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/popstar7867/SSR1RL.jpg http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/popstar7867/disney-attractions.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Stimpy

Grand Villa

Registered: December 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2681
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Close to everything, great view
Cons: some noise at night

Stayed in a BW view in December and had a fantastic time. This was the first time we had experience with the never-ending hallways you read about. We did find back ways and stairs to places we needed to go (pool, boat launch from S&D, Boardwalk itself) We were over the DVC welcome center with a beautiful view of the YC/BC & Epcot.


This was an adults only trip so the BWV were perfect...close to ESPN, Jellyrolls etc. (Although we also love this resort for travelling with kids too Smile )

------------------------------
Kimberly :bouncingc "If we couldn't laugh, we would all go Insane!" :crazy: http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1207606678.jpg http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1207606796.jpg http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/bcv.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jiggerj

Grand Villa

Registered: October 2005
Location: CT/BWV/Moving to St. Augustine!
Posts: 3063
Review Date: Tue January 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great location of Villa on the green
Cons: balcony not very private

My first stay as a BWV owner was a last minute trip. I was anxious and wanted to stay at my new home resort as soon as possible! Smile They had a preferred view available. I was pleasantly surprised to find our Villa on the same floor as the lobby and only about 2 doors down. So my first visit I did not get a taste of the long hallways! Wink The view over looked the Village green- HUGE open balcony- With some peeks at the Boardwalk and Crescent lake.


Very convenient location! Smile

------------------------------
http://webhome.idirect.com/~twessner/feature/images/rh-inset.gifhttp://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x29/kathyseb/Owner_s_Locker_Van1.jpghttp://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a390/jiggerj/bdlunch1.jpg Member, Robin Hood Unofficial Fan Club (Co-President - bavaria) Laura Is happiest wearing her jammies while enjoying a great BWV balcony view!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
withdisneyspirit

DVC Board Guide

Registered: September 2005
Location: The Magic City in Alabama
Posts: 2473
Review Date: Mon January 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Location of course!
Cons: Noise...

We visited Jan 10-16 in a Boardwalk studio villa. We stayed in room 2063 around the bend from the lobby. Our balcony overlooked the green and we had a birds-eye view of all comings and goings up the back stairs to the lobby! Rick and I loved the resort for the ease of walking to dinner at EPCOT especially. We also thought our room was in excellent condition. The only thing I found distasteful in our studio was the disgusting bedspread - ewwww!


We were given a $100 inconvenience credit on our account because the first two rooms they sent us to that day were not cleaned yet (covers down, etc)! We felt that was a good compensation although we asked for nothing...


The laundry room was pretty severe as Dirk described - we were glad to be through with our load of laundry!


Finally, as much as we enjoyed the location, we were surprised by the amount of noise. To be honest, I didn't mind the pre-10pm noise, but the people coming home from drinking in the wee hours hollering right outside our balcony was kinda rough. I would definitely ask for a much higher floor in an attempt to avoid this. Rick said we would go for standard view next time in order to avoid noise Wink

------------------------------
Lisa http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d182/withspirit/_MG_1757.jpghttp://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d182/withspirit/DFTVR2-1.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Pocahantas

Studio

Registered: April 2006
Location: Louisiana & BCV
Posts: 160
Review Date: Wed February 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

My sister and I stayed in a Preferred View Studio a couple of years ago during the Flower & Garden Festival. We had a great room on the 5th floor over Wyland Gallery and could see the Epcot Fireworks and parts of the Boardwalk from our balcony. We loved this resort and I hope to stay here again soon with my husband and daughter. Great location!

------------------------------
Past Trips: 12/02 - CR; 2/04 - CR; 5/05 - Pop/BCV/AKL; 10/05 - POFQ/BCV; 2/06 - VWL; 5/06 - BWV; 12/06 - POR/BCV/WL; 6/07 - SSR/BCV; 10/07 - BCV; 12/07 - POFQ/BCV; 5/08 - DCL/VBR; 2/09 - BWV; 6/09 - BCV; 9/09 - AKL/DCL/BC; 5/10 BLT/Poly; 3/11 BCV/BLT; 6/11 - DCL-Alaska; 6/12 - DCL Next Up: 2/13 - Magic Western Caribbean On the Horizon: 5/13 BCV; 10/13 BCV
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
GoJoe

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: March 2007
Location: Cranston RI
Posts: 52
Review Date: Mon March 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons:

Our first trip home was December. We left want to get more points. While walking back from MGM/Hollywood we saw the Fantasmic fireworks then saw Illuminations from our balcony. First class dining at the Boardwalk plus 2 other first class resorts and 2 of the best theme park all within walking distance make me glad to be going home again in June.

------------------------------
:kickingco Go Joe :kickingco
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
TW1

Founding Member

Registered: September 2005
Location: Philly and/or HHI
Posts: 6791
Review Date: Sat September 20, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very attractive room in a beautiful resort
Cons: hard to say.

We usually stay at BCv but tried BWV for the first time and decided we will definitely go back. The resort is very beautiful. We enjoyed just wandering around, looking at the old photos and enjoying the ambiance. Having the Boardwalk right outside is a plus, as is the easy access to Epcot and HS. I'm not one to spend the extra points for a view, but we were very lucky with our 'standard' view and had a room close the elevators with a decent view of the main pool. We highly recommend BWV!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AZeno

Grand Villa

Registered: December 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3372
Review Date: Mon September 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: View
Cons: Distance from the elevator

As part of a Disney Visit over the Labor Day holiday we stayed five nights at BWV. Since this was our first time staying at BWV we went with the Boardwalk view, and WOW, we were not disapointed. We were assigned room 5005, fifth floor almost at the end of the boardwalk towards Jelly Rolls. I dont think I can say it enough, the view was incredible, one evening we had a spectacular view of Illuminations, and on another night we had a view of Wishes over at MK, all from the comfort of our balcony with glass of wine in hand. On the minus side, after a long day of running around, one night the MK was open until 3am and we stayed until they gently walked us out. Well walking back from the elevator was almost like a Bataan death march, we timed it and it would take us five minutes to get from the elevator to our door. We felt the view was well worth the walk, and would definately book this room again, but I can see where families with smaller children may want to think twice. Everything in the room was in working order, neat and clean. Mousekeeping seemed to always be available and always willing to quickly provide whatever we requested. We did have a minor issue that we called the front desk about. In our room, there wasnt a coffee table in front of the sofa sleeper, DW and I like to read, and we felt we needed someplace to place a beverage, book or magazine other than the floor. We asked Mousekeeping and they told us that at one time all of the rooms had a coffee table, but too often they were interferring with guests trying to use the sofa sleeper as a bed, so they were removed. Once we contacted the front desk, maintainence brought up a coffee table and everything was fine. Great room, great view. If you are thinking of staying at BWV for the first time, I would definately recommend this room.

------------------------------
Angel (aka AZeno) ------------------------------------------------- http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb269/AZeno_photos/Icons%20and%20stuff/3461164183_544861afff_b-1.jpg http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb269/AZeno_photos/Icons%20and%20stuff/976863629_288fR-900x900.jpg http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb269/AZeno_photos/Icons%20and%20stuff/CopyofMickeySmile.jpg Photos courtesy Trey Ratcliff stuckincustoms.com
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
fjordhorselynn
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: September 2008
Posts: 2
Review Date: Tue September 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: location, pool, food!
Cons: balcony with solid partition, curtains not good at making the room dark

Just back from a quick trip to Boardwalk Villas, 9/24-9/28, my first time there and I really enjoyed the resort. We stayed in room 4060, with a preferred view (of the main pool and Swan hotel), which was quite close to the elevator (6 doors down?). I was a little worried but there was very little noise from people coming/going to the elevator. Around 3:00 PM we could hear the loudspeaker and music from the kid's activities/festivities at the pool, but it wasn't really bothersome.


My parents and my sister's family shared a 2 bedroom unit -- 4019/4021. That room was far, far, far, far away from the elevator. I was skeptical about the "long walk to the elevator" posts I had read here previously -- but now can put that into perspective as the corridors seem to go on absolutely forever! It wasn't really a huge deal, just surprising and a little tiring after a long day at the parks.


The only negatives I can say about the room are that it had a little bit of a musty smell (not horrible) and the balcony had a solid partition instead of rails, so you couldn't really sit and look out at anything. This may have been because we were over the walkway out to the pool? But the floor above us had the rails, so I'm not sure. If you want privacy on your balcony, this is the floor to be on! The last downside was that the curtains didn't really make the room very dark during the day when I was trying to get my daughter to nap. But we could go out on the balcony in the morning and see hot air balloons up in the sky out beyond the Swan/Dolphin, which my daughter loved. She also loved the free balloons they gave out in the lobby!


I really liked the Boardwalk and would absolutely stay there again! Spoodles is now my favorite restaurant on property -- the foccacia and dip are incredible! The chocolates at the sweet shop were yummy as well, and we loved watching the magician and other entertainers on the boardwalk at night.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
floridaperson
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: July 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 10
Review Date: Wed November 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Walking distance to Epcot and MGM
Cons: Design of balcony on 2nd Floor

As mentioned, the corridor carpets are fading! However, the rest of the building and grounds were well kept. We stayed in room 2045 (lobby level) (above the Green Door) We were able to enjoy the entertainment without leaving our room. We had a wonderful view of the lake and Boardwalk as long as we were standing! Some rooms have see thru railings but ours was solid wood way above eye level. Seated, the only view we had was the roofs of the Yacht Club and the sky. The "privacy" divider to separate our balcony from the one to the right had a 6 inch space on one side and 2 inch on the other with gaps at the top and bottom so there was absolutely no privacy. The room to the left of us was the "connecting" room ... there was a solid wall top to bottom and front to back between the balconies so we could not see to their balcony. That just did not make sense! Staff were friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and well stocked...more so than other DVC places we have stayed. The noise level was better than OKW but not as quiet as AKV or WL. We will stay there again but will request something on the 3rd floor in the same area.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
patsfan

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 22
Review Date: Sun February 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Location
Cons: None really

We stayed here from 1/31-3/7 of this year and loved it. The room was a little "dated" but very clean and well kept. The best part is being able to walk to Epcot for dinner. All the restaurants on the Boardwalk are great also. We stayed in the AKL last time and this was so much nicer in how close everything was. The only time we had to ride the bus was to DD and DAK.

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Chriskre

Grand Villa

Registered: April 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 2343
Review Date: Sat April 18, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great location for eating out and Epcot
Cons: Can't think of any right now.

This is my favorite resort to date. I love that there is so much to do at Boardwalk and the views are great. I was there during a horrendous rainstorm with tornadoes and all and there was still stuff to do. Can't say that for the other resorts. At least we didn't get wet going to dinner. Love the free valet parking for DVC members. This place is just so charming and fun. It gets busy on the weekends when sometimes they have local fairs with crafts and stuff but that adds to the fun. I LOVE Spoodles restaurant. Nice to get Mediterranean food outside of Epcot. Next time I'll probably ask for a 1 bedroom but since I got it on a last minute I feel lucky to have gotten the nice room we got. Stay here you'll love it.

------------------------------
Christine Disney fanatic living close to the Magic. :kitty::kitty:
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Chriskre's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
HappyHaunts01
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2009
Location: Wish it was Florida
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue May 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Walking distance to Hollywood Studios and Epcot
Cons: None

Beautiful views to the Boardwalk, lake and Beach & Yatch Club villas. Lots of entertainment, shopping and places to eat. Short distance to the bus stop, Epcot and Hollywood Studios.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
coffeeroasters

Grand Villa

Registered: June 2009
Location: Loganville, GA
Posts: 1720
Review Date: Mon November 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Location to EPCOT and Hollywood Studios
Cons: Bus stops at Swan, Dolphin, Beach/Yacht Club

This was our first stay a BWV and it was awesome! I was worried that the refurbs might get in the way of the magic from previous reports, but it did not. It looked like they were starting to get things finished up with the painting. We would come back in the evenings and scaffolding would be gone from certain areas.


The studio room was very nice and roomy compared to staying at a value resort. The details were very nicely done. Great view of the pool from the room.


All of the lighting in the room was CFL's. DVC trying to be a bit greener, good to see that. I only have 4 incandescent bulbs left in our house and they are in our bathroom above the mirror by my wifes request.


I loved how the new sleeper sofa worked. I have not seen one where you leave the cushions on the couch and it pulled out from the top. The pillow storage was in what was the back of the couch. I have not looked at sleeper sofas in a long time so that was kind of cool. I was comfortable, I had to check it out after I pulled it out.


I would have changed a few things with the room.


The first thing was the 3 drawer dresser??? The room accommodates 4.


The second thing was the "towel/robe" hook on the back of the bathroom door. It had 2 hooks, again the room accommodates 4. (Going to remember to bring some of those 3M removable hooks with us next trip.)


The third and final change would have been a brighter CFL in the bath/toilet area. There is only one fixture in the room.


Taking the boats to EPCOT and Hollywood Studios was very convenient and relaxing.


When we took the bus to Magic Kingdom and Animal Kingdom the bus stopped at the Swan, Dolphin and Beach/Yacht Club both coming and going. It may be because of the season, but it was a bit of a pain in the butt.
We will be visiting BWV again, very nice place.

------------------------------
-Steve Is there good coffee at Disney World? Yes! In my villa when I am at WDW.:coffee2: French Press Coffee Service 2 out of 3 not bad. http://trinityroasters.com/images/ModsF92_sm.jpghttp://trinityroasters.com/images/BLTlogo.jpg :yahoo:2015 MouseOwners NCAA Bracket Champion :yahoo:
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit coffeeroasters's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 More Items


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:45 PM.

MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by Forum Software