home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » BoardWalk Villas (BWV) « Previous Product  · Next Product »
BWVGV.jpg
·
BWV2BR1.jpg
>
BWV2BR.jpg
>>
BWV1BR1.jpg
BWV1BR.jpg

Two Bedroom Villa, Boardwalk/Preferred View
Reviews Views Date of last review
11 40508 Sun June 15, 2014
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
100% of reviewers 9.0
BWV2BR1.jpg
supersize


Description: BoardWalk Villas Two Bedroom Vacation Home, Boardwalk/Preferred View
Accomodation Size: Two Bedroom
View (Boardwalk/Preferred or Standard): Boardwalk/Preferred


Author
Post A Reply 
jiggerj

Grand Villa

Registered: October 2005
Location: CT/BWV/Moving to St. Augustine!
Posts: 3063
Review Date: Tue January 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Enjoying the balcony view!
Cons: I cant think of anything negative

I was fortunate enough to have a high floor 2 bedroom BWV back in April '06. Worked out wonderful as my dd and her best buddy had the studio section and DH, myself and DS had the master. Lots of room- so much room in fact that I ended up hosting a group of GREAT MouseOwners on the HUGE balcony. I think there were about 15 of us out there!


Villa was immaculate, Spoodles on the BW was delicious, Luna Park pool was alot of fun and just being able to stroll the Boardwalk at 6 am is a slice of heaven. Smile

------------------------------
http://webhome.idirect.com/~twessner/feature/images/rh-inset.gifhttp://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x29/kathyseb/Owner_s_Locker_Van1.jpghttp://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a390/jiggerj/bdlunch1.jpg Member, Robin Hood Unofficial Fan Club (Co-President - bavaria) Laura Is happiest wearing her jammies while enjoying a great BWV balcony view!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
HookedOnWDW

Studio

Registered: August 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 100
Review Date: Sun January 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great location!
Cons: Long hallways

Cast: 3 adults, 2 children When: Last week in August 2007


1st DVC trip. Loved the location. I love the easy access to Epcot. (As that is my favorite park.) We had plenty of room. We were able to do laundry before going home. The pool was great. Although it the pool area could use more covered tables and chairs.


Everyone is right about the long hallway walks. And, I did notice that the grout in the bathroom could use some work.


Bottem line, I will stay here again.

------------------------------
http://www.mouseowners.com/images/SSR1RL.jpg http://www.mouseowners.com/images/BWV3RL.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
HKP

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2008
Review Date: Sat February 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: LOCATION!
Cons: Cannot think of any.

In January, during a terrible cold snap, we stayed in a Coaster Pool View - 2 Bedroom Unit.


We were staying with new friends that we were still getting to know a little so having the lock off studio section was nice for when we needed a little separation. But the larger kitchen and sitting area was useful for communal meals and planning time.


It was just right for us, a family of 3 plus a family of 4. There was plenty of room for everyone.


We in particular enjoy the walk to Epcot in the evening for dinner or to hit a few favorite rides. We usually walk to MGM too but this time took the boat. We really enjoy the convenient location.


Dinner at Spoodles was OK. I cannot say that I have found a restaurant I love right on the Boardwalk but I do enjoy the sandwiches in the Boardwalk Bakery.


Special Momments: Daughter was chosen by a roving magician on the Boardwalk. This is something she will always remember. Also one morning she was the first child down the coaster slide and recieved a clown wig and nose for doing the honors - another great memory for the family.

------------------------------
HKP :woohoo:
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lisa

Two Bedroom

Registered: December 2005
Location: Honeoye Falls, NY
Posts: 745
Review Date: Wed February 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Location to parks&restaurants, boardwalk entertainers, CH
Cons: Housekeeping & Maintenance, parking, looonnng hallways, no pool food

BWV – Room 4004/4006 - Feb 2007


We knew that staying at BWV would have a downside with the self-parking... and it was. We were able to find spots each time but it was a search and farther away from the resort then we would have liked (spoiled by BCV). On check-in I was hoping for a pool view room. Thought that wouldn’t be too difficult at BWV since it looked like about 80% of the preferred view rooms are pool view. When I was given the number, I knew right where it was, even though I had never walked down the hallways of BWV! Waaaayy at the end! We overlooked the croquet lawn, canal and Swan/Dolphin. ..and yes you can play croquet on the lawn, you just have to explain to the CM's what croquet is and the set looks like!!! LOL


The hallway was very long and we used the different stairwell often. The resort was large and really seemed like your experience would be totally different in the different sections. Our view was fine, but looking at a hotel is different then looking at a lake. Other then the distance to the pool the only other real negative for this location is the closeness to the service area of jellyrolls. The garbage truck rolls in around 5am. It didn’t bother me, but it woke DH every day. I think our view of choice would have been of the quiet pool maybe on the lower floors.


Now for the room cleanliness report: The room was clean. However it didn’t seem as well maintained. The drapes were worn and torn and the balcony door didn’t close very tight. Cabinet doors not closing well, etc. Nothing major just the detail in the fit and finish in quite a few places. Also I thought it a little stange that on T&T day the mousekeeper just left a stack of towels on the edge of the tub. On all of our other stays they placed the towels on the proper towel bars where they belong.


I think the location is the best of any DVC. Easy walking distance to two parks! No buses needed. So many activities within an easy reach. The community hall was a hit with DD11. Many games of air hockey were played. Having the mini-golf right next door was great! DD11 played 4 times! The boardwalk performers were fun too. The pool and pool bar were great. I agree with others and wish there were a couple food options at the bar. The only restaurant on the boardwalk that we ate at was Big River on the Boardwalk. I had heard so-so reviews, but we actually liked it (DH likes his beer).


Although we didn’t hit the room lottery, we enjoyed our time at BWV. With so many things to do right at the resort it made it a fun time. I could see the BWV keeping our family busy for many nights

------------------------------
Cheers, Lisa (aka lisareniff) A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men. - Willie Wonka AKL & VB - Pres. Week 2012 - last time as VB owners AKL ...then the Gulf - Pres. Week 2010 BCV - Back home for President's Week 2009, 2011, 2014 & 2016 VB - April 2008 in a BC baby! BCV - MO Grand Gathering solo VWL & BWV - Presidents Week 2007 Poly & VB - Presidents Week 2006 VB & Poly - Short "no kids trip" May 2005 AKL & BCV - Presidents Week 2005 BCV - Thanksgiving Week 2003 (first time home!) Off site 1975 & 1980 (back when WDW was the MK)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
BWV Dreamin

Add-on Aficionado

Registered: March 2007
Location: Southern PA
Posts: 8743
Review Date: Sun May 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wonderful view, great condition, immaculate.
Cons: A little noisy at night from the boardwalk.

We visited BWV's from April 19-25, 2008. Room was in excellent condition, clean, had all items in the kitchen. We were in 2009-2007, just over the DVC model. Great views. We were right next to Big River Grill, so some nights were a little noisy from patrons leaving the bar. Would highly recommend!

------------------------------
Hope :tinker: http://i672.photobucket.com/albums/vv82/twokats_kat/groupsm2.jpghttp://i603.photobucket.com/albums/tt111/SFD998/gfbanner-1.png http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1507359625.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Mousepipes

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: February 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 3
Review Date: Tue August 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great Location!!!
Cons: Dirty Dishes

This is a great location, walking distance to 2 parks and the Boardwalk on Friday night with the crowd it seemed almost like a Boardwalk on the Jersey Shore or OC Md. The kids loved the pool I wished they kept the bar at the pool opened a little later. Our villa did have some minor maintenance issues the trim needed a paint job. The real cons were the dishes were dirty and the plates in the cabinet were wet. The bathroom in the studio part of the 2 BR was not really clean and the fridge had something spilled on the door we had to call to get it and the BR cleaned up.

------------------------------
Home Resort SSR :mickeymou 1974 Contemporary, 1995 Port Orleans, 2003 Caribbean Beach, 2005 Off Site, 2006 Saratoga Springs, 2008 Boardwalk Villas
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ElliePizzolato

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: February 2009
Location: Fanwood, NJ
Posts: 25
Review Date: Fri February 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Location as well as everything Disney!
Cons: None

This is another favorite (next to Beach Club) - location plays a key role as well as the accommodations - I/We Love it! If I could afford it, I would stay at least once a month if not more!

------------------------------
Ellie Pizzolato
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
leeholmes1

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 11
Review Date: Tue May 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Location, lots to do
Cons: husband thought it was noisy

Who: 3 adults 3 kids 6, 5, 3
We stayed in a two bedroom pool view Mar 9-14 2009. We loved it. We requested close to the elevator and so we were only a few short steps to the pool. We checked in on-line before we got there so the process was quick and easy with no wait.


We took advantage of community hall one night and the kids had a blast, so did we. We walked to Disney Studios and Epcot and played at the Boardwalk. Boardwalk is one of my favorite resorts because of everything going on. It was my husband's first trip there and said he preferred Old Key West because it's less like a hotel and less crowded. He likes to park right in front of your room instead of a parking lot. We would stay here again but expect a lot going on around you.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Jasminedog

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: August 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4
Review Date: Wed July 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Location to Epcot and Hollywood Studios, Spacious Unit
Cons: Soft Goods Need Replacing

Boardwalk Villas – July 7-16, 2009


We are timeshare owners with Disney Vacation Club (DVC) and this 9-night stay at Disney’s Boardwalk Villas (BWV) in July 2009 was our first visit to the resort. We were a family of 6 using our DVC points towards our stay in a two-bedroom villa. We are also timeshare owners with Marriott Ko Olina in Hawaii and so we were able to compare DVC with the Marriott Grande Vista in Orlando (which we once traded into for a stay). The assigned room was actually two adjoining units 2047 and 2049, located on the same level as the main lobby (a plus) and not a long walk from the elevators (a major plus). We used our DVC points towards a Boardwalk view.


CHECK IN


Staying on-site at Walt Disney World was the reason we joined DVC. By doing so, we took advantage of the complimentary roundtrip airport shuttle (Magical Express) and the early and late access to the four theme parks. We could have also opted for the Disney Dining Plan, but felt the price was too high for the way we would typically eat. We also took advantage of the recently released advance online check in service, so that getting our room keys was a breeze. Staff were all very courteous and welcoming.


We decided to use GardenGrocer.com for the purchase of breakfast foods we would prepare every morning in our unit, plus a case of bottled water and cases of sodas. They were excellent, the prices were fine, albeit a little high, and the groceries were delivered before our check-in and left with the Boardwalk Villas bell desk (who promptly delivered all of the items to our unit once we checked in).


WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE ROOM


Despite the fact that we were assigned a unit that was not what I had preferred and requested, we decided to stay put since we were eager to settle in. We do not need wheelchairs and this was our first stay in an ADA room. A wheelchair accessible room has a few advantages and disadvantages. Our primary disadvantage was that the shower floors were flush to the bathroom floors, causing a minor flooding when my DD took a shower the first night and did not realize the water was not all being directed down the drain. The secondary disadvantage was that the kitchen counter tops were not very deep (so as to be accessible from a wheelchair I suppose), so food preparation surfaces were very small. The refrigerator was also smaller so as to be wheelchair reachable. The advantages, however, outweighed the disadvantages. The primary advantages: wider doorways, a larger kitchen area, a very large balcony and a larger shower. Plus the master bedroom had a spacious walk in closet that a wheelchair could easily fit into, another plus. The showers also have rails to avoid any accidental slips.


WHAT WE LIKED


The theming of the BWV is wonderful and the lobby and public areas are nicely maintained. The theme is supposed to be a lighthearted 1920s beachside hotel theme and the light green and peach color scheme of the lobby follows into the corridors and units. If you are looking for a more contemporary styling, then you would be better off elsewhere.


The main portion of our unit contained a separate master bedroom/bath and a separate living room/kitchen/dining area. The master bedroom had a very comfortable king bed and the living room contained a queen sofa bed. The furnishings were adequate, not elegant or modern. Beds were extremely comfortable and our 2 bedroom unit would easily sleep 8. The master bath had a nice whirlpool tub. The unit also had a compact washer and dryer, which we used several times during our stay (although the dryer took forever to get our clothes dry). We cooked every morning and having the convenience of a kitchen was a money saver.


The adjoining unit was a lock-off studio. It contained a queen bed and a queen sofa bed. The studio also had a kitchenette with a mini-fridge, microwave and sink. The bath in the studio was also wheel chair accessible. Unfortunately, there was very little space in the studio to hang clothes (no closet and the armoire was already filled with an ironing board and vacuum cleaner).


BWV are ideally situated within walking distance to the Epcot and the Disney Hollywood Studios theme parks. There were boat launches to both theme parks as well, but using them ate up time because they can be slow. No problems using the free on-site Disney bus transportation either. The buses were running in 10-20 minute intervals to the Magic Kingdom, Typhoon Lagoon and Blizzard Beach from the BWV.


We used the fitness center nearly every night. It was equipped with the typical cardio machines and weight stations and was completely adequate for our need. The fitness center was clean and conveniently located from our unit. The “scary clown” pool was situated outside the fitness center and was nicely maintained. Wished we had more time to enjoy the pool.


Liked the kinetic activities and eating options that were part of the Boardwalk, especially in the early evenings. The BWV were also very convenient the restaurants of the Disney Beach Club, Disney Yacht Club, Westin Swan, and Sheraton Dolphin hotels.


There is a small market in the Screen Door gift shop on the Boardwalk for simple food and drink purchases. There is also a Hess Express located in the gas station directly across the street from the Boardwalk auto entrance. The Hess Express is good if you want to purchase cases of water, beer and alcohol, sodas, and a slightly larger variety of chips and junk food items that the Screen Door does not carry. The downside is that it requires a 15 minute walk to get there and then schlep your purchases back to your unit.


WHAT WE DIDN’T LIKE


In my reservation with DVC Member Services, I had requested a unit on a high floor that was recently refurbished. Upon our check-in, we were assigned a low floor (2nd floor) wheelchair accessible unit that looked like it had its original furnishings and was never refurbished. So much for any pixie dust blowing our way on this visit.


The typical two bedroom DVC villa is significantly smaller than our Marriott Ko Olina villa or the Marriott Grande Vista villa in Orlando. The DVC villa was far less luxurious in the décor and furnishings as well. The main DVC advantage is the convenience to the theme parks without relying upon a car.


The units we were assigned were tired and drab looking and could definitely benefit from a soft goods refurbishment and repainting. Hallway carpets were no longer vibrant and were showing wear and tear. Again, I am contrasting the condition of the DVC units to the units managed by Marriott.


Our balcony was huge, but enclosed such that if one sat on a balcony chair one would see only a blank balcony wall instead of the lagoon and Boardwalk. Because we were on the 2nd floor, inconsiderate late night revelers made a lot of noise around 2 AM a couple nights during our stay.


We did not like the fact that housekeeping could charge extra for additional towels, shampoo, soap, etc. if we requested these before our “scheduled” tidy services in the middle of the week. Marriott would not have charged us.


While the on-site Disney buses to the theme parks were great, the buses to Downtown Disney would sometimes take up to 45 to 60 minutes one way, due to stops at other hotels and a roundabout route to get there, so plan accordingly or rent a car.


CONCLUSIONS


We would definitely stay at the BWV again in the future. There are rumors that the Villas will begin a soft goods refurbishment from August 2009 to January 2010. If true, then most of my negatives would be addressed. The convenience to two of the best theme parks is a major plus, along with all of the activities and eating options afforded by the Boardwalk and hotels around the lagoon. You are literally in the middle of the Disney World action and the hassle of renting a car, commuting and parking are avoided when staying on-site.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dburkhart108

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: October 2010
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 70
Review Date: Sat October 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Location and view
Cons: can be a long walk to lobby

We have BWV point and have stayed there may times with friend and family. First time using DVC in May 2001 and last time Thanksgiving NOV 2009 with four familys rented 2 - two bed room units. It great layout with the big kitchen and the living room to spend time reviewing the days events and planning the day. Now that the kids are older we leave them sleep in and we still make rope drop. Even now that my son is older is still loves the pool at BWV. We will have are first grand villa stay this year NOV 2011 at BWV.

------------------------------
DMB-DVC member since 1999 http://www.mouseowners.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=159&pictureid=863
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dvf_diva

Grand Villa

Registered: July 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 1190
Review Date: Sun June 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Proximity to HS & Epcot, Friendliness of Staff
Cons: Small units, small kitchens, poor quality utensils; Long walk from elevators

I've only stayed at BLT, so that's what I compared this resort with.


BWV units are definitely smaller than BLT units. The kitchen is TINY and difficult to have more than 1 person in there. Fridge is small and barely fit our groceries for the week. We tried using the fridge in the Studio side for drinks, but it smelled like sour milk in there. Yuck. We didn't even want to re-open that fridge. Again, the knives are useless (same at BLT). Could not cut a carrot or slice a pizza. Really?!? Need new knives and please add scissors, pizza cutter and blender to all units. Thank you.


BWV is a lovely resort. It doesn't show its wear as much as BLT does, and the units are MUCH nicer inside than they appear in photos. I was afraid I'd find it too matronly, but it wasn't at all.


CMs are so friendly here! The ones over at BLT are so snooty. Here, they were happy, warm, willing to help. I found that the CMs were not very knowledgable, however, but they were usually open to trying to find out the answers. I thought that the Concierges should know their resort/park a little better, such as what time the two Chef's Table seatings are over at Flying Fish, or whether MouseGears might be open during AM EMH. Overall, I found that info is poorly communicated at WDW. Not only did the Concierges at BWV have no idea about Club Disney info, but neither did the Concierges at GF! More on that later (Day 4).


BWV is a HUGE resort, large from end to end. The lobby and Belle Vue lounge areas are so lovely. Great places to sit and rest/wait/read. Definite lack of QS options, for such a large place, without leaving resort, but indubitably, there are LOTS of TS options.


Our set-up was the mirror image of the floorplan shown for this type of unit. We were assigned 4134 and 4132, even though we had requested close to elevators (traveling with a toddler, stroller, and 2 seniors). Other than 4136, these rooms were the furthest possible from the elevators. I'm a very fast walker (think typical NYCer and multiply by 4x), and it still took me about 5 minutes to get to the lobby from our room.


Our pool/garden view was pretty from the 1BR side, but you could see only trees from the Studio side. I liked how the BR balcony had a covering. Great for those sudden bouts of rain. It was definitely quiet where we were; no fog horns or pool noise that you can hear at other locations. We did hear fireworks from both Epcot and HS each night. You could see HS fireworks partially reflected on the Swan windows; my mom said she could see Epcot fireworks to the right one evening when she was there during Illuminations.


Here are some photos:


panorama of view from 4132's balcony (studio part of 2BR villa)
The center of the photo is what you see when you look out from your room.
Once out on the balcony, you can see Swan if you look left and other villas if you look right.
http://i1364.photobucket.com/albums/r723/dvf_diva_dvc/4132_zps27546e3a.jpg


panorama of view from LR of 4134's balcony (LR of 2BR)
This room and balcony is to the left of the Studio, as you're on the balcony looking out.
http://i1364.photobucket.com/albums/r723/dvf_diva_dvc/BRof4134_zps97a9ab8c.jpg


panorama of view from BR of 4134's balcony (MBR of 2BR)
This room and balcony is to the left of the LR, as you're on the balcony looking out.
When you're out there, you can hear the people on the balcony next door to your left. It is an odd effect because you can not see them. Kind of like The Dating Game. LOL
That's the quiet pool and community hall straight ahead.
I prefer this type of covered balcony because if your swimsuits are out drying on the chairs, they don't get re-soaked if a sudden rain shower appears.
http://i1364.photobucket.com/albums/r723/dvf_diva_dvc/BRof4134_zps1a51bb48.jpg

------------------------------
http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1496905212.jpg June 2017 BCV
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 AM.

© MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images © The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.