home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Old Key West (OKW)   · Next Product »
OKWGV.jpg
<<
OKW2BR.jpg
<
OKW1BR.jpg
·
OKWStudio.jpg
>

Studio Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
30 35002 Mon July 16, 2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
87% of reviewers 7.6
OKWStudio.jpg


Description: Old Key West Studio Villa
Accomodation Size: Studio


Author
Post A Reply 
Kynna
One Bedroom

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 271
Review Date: Thu January 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Room was comfortable, View was lovely. I loved watching the birds from our deck. 6225
Cons: My parents had a room that was very musty smelling and they found mold!. 6220

Overall the resort was cozy. I really liked the convenience of our location. Nothing luxurious but comfortable.


My parents had a room that was very musty smelling and they found mold!. (Rm 6220) They could have used more people at check in when a bus arrives and mousekeeping was rude when we had to call for extra sheets because my DD had an night time accident. I was dissapointed at the service in Olivias too.


On the positive...Room was comfortable, View was lovely. I loved watching the birds from our deck. (Rm 6225) The Rec Room staff really went above and beyond when my little girl hurt her eye. Most of the people at the snack bar were very nice and fun to talk to. I watched the lifeguard leap into action on a very cold day. I know he was doing his job but hey, it was pretty darn cold and he didn't even hesitate.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
newjerseynick

Two Bedroom

Registered: May 2007
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 626
Review Date: Thu January 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Room 4616 very quite and clean with nice patio off the water.
Cons: Having to leave!

After having stayed in a studio in building 22 last January, which we didn't like because it is off the main road and noisy, plus it was a ponderous walk to everything, this was much better.
I enjoyed not hearing anything except the occasional boat on the waterway, while the DW claims she didn't even hear that. It was a 5 minute walk to the bus stop, and 10 to the Hospitality House. It was a nice view on the water. I would have rated it even higher if it was just a bit more on the water, and perhaps a floor or 2 up. I would request this building again.

------------------------------
http://v50.net/cd/09-27-2008_Walt+Disney+World.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit newjerseynick's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
robnkris
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 2
Review Date: Mon January 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Quiet, nice atmosphere
Cons: Laundry area for building 14, Counter Service

We stayed in studio for 5 nights in July 2007. We were in room 1416. The room had a nice proximity to the main area, but unfortunately we prefer to be near a quiet pool so it didn't work out that great for us. The view from our porch was awful. It basically looked into trees that had fallen down. Needless to say, we didn't spend anytime on our porch.


The room was spacious and clean. Now that I have stayed in a studio at SSR and OKW, I can definitely say that OKW has a lot more space.


The counter service at OKW had slim pickings. On the day we checked in, our room wasn't ready so we decided to grab something to eat. The CM's working at the counter service were not very hospitable. I ordered a breakfast item because someone had just picked up some breakfast and she said they were no longer serving breakfast. I ordered a lunch item, and she said they weren't serving lunch. I finally just asked her to tell me what they were serving. They had some premade sandwiches and that was it. It made me miss the food courts at the moderates where we had stayed previously.


The refillable mugs are done a little differently at OKW as well. You have to wait in the line at the counter service and tell them what type of drink you would like. they put the drink into a pitcher and then pour it into your mug. I didn't think it was as convenient as other resorts where you don't have to wait in line. I probably wouldn't get a mug at OKW again, unless I was planning to spend a lot of time at the main pool.


The laundry area for building 14 is located by the main pool. I didn't like this because we would have had to walk across the street, past the bus stop, through the walkway between check-in and Olivia's outdoor seating, down another path and to the main pool. This seemed like quite a trek when you are carrying laundry. I didn't want to lug everything over there past all the people in the area. I would have preferred to be near a quiet pool with a laundry area.


Next time I go to OKW I will probably make a request to be near a quiet pool and have a water or golf course view.


Overall, I definitely do reccomend OKW. Especially if you are going to have more than two adults in your room, the second bed would come in handy. I wouldn't rely on eating at the counter service there because they seem to have odd serving hours.

------------------------------
Krista :minniemou
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
mickeymorse

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2007
Location: Too far from WDW
Posts: 13
Review Date: Mon January 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: The room size
Cons: The view and the smokers below.

Stayed at OKW studio 3536. Enjoyed the size of the room but counter space was lacking. I think we need to be in a 1 bdrm unless its a pt crunch issue. The room was clean enough but the view was of trees.Didn't use the balcony much except when we did, the smokers on the first floor didn't help. Loved the convenience of a bus stop across the street. Never had to wait long for transportation. The only peeve with the CMs at the resort was the lady behind the counter of the Turtle Shack. Seems we must have been disturbing her by asking for snacks. Had to go back twice to get the order right. Will stay here again thogh.

------------------------------
I LOVE MY VWL!!! [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MCazer
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 4
Review Date: Tue January 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice size room
Cons: sometimes room is a lockoff and you hear some noise

We recently took a long weekend trip for 3 nights in a studio. We did not want to use so many points for a weekend trip, so we got a studio instead of one bedroom (our norm).


What we really love is the fact that there are 2 QUEEN size beds. With a husband that is 6'2", we preferre a King, but can go no smaller than a Queen. Some hotel rooms only offer Doubles or Full size when there are 2 beds in a room.


Our 2 children share the other bed, and also need the Queen size as well (girl and boy) because I don't want to hear, "Mom, Emily is kicking me!" LOL


I find having 2 beds instead of a bed and a pullout sofa is to our benefit, because, even though my children are small, the pull out sofa is not as comfortable as a bed, and it is always out, and we don't have to pull it out and make it everynight.


Of course, being able to park right outside your complex is a plus, especially when carrying luggage or after food shopping.


All in all, OKW is the best for our family right now, of course, as the kids grow, we can change our minds.

------------------------------
Margaret DVC 1997 - OKW - 10 Years! WOO HOO!! Time Flies When You're Having Fun! http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10701;99/st/20071101/e/Disney+Trip/k/ef00/event.png http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10747;405/st/20080816/e/Disney+%60+Universal+Trip/k/7d8f/event.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
michaels1mom

Studio

Registered: April 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 164
Review Date: Sat February 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: pool slide, community hall for children, larger rooms
Cons: lack of cs choices, thin walls in between rooms?

Room 1836 studio was connected apparently to a 2br lockoff? It wasn't that our neighbors were terribly loud, I was just suprised that I could hear them as if we were all together. At one point in the trip, I just wanted to knock on the door and have us all meet bc I am sure they thought the same of us and our noise.


Out of all the resorts we have stayed at (SSR, BCV, AKL, WL, BW and OKW), I found OKW to have the thinnest walls. I am just so thankful that our neighbors WERE NOT rowdy.


It was hard to find parking at the hospitality house if I wanted to drive over there quickly to pick up something instead of walking.


Would probably stay there again. If it weren't for the thin wall issue, I would definitely stay there again because we enjoyed the quaint feeling.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
magicmama

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 28
Review Date: Mon February 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Two queen beds
Cons: may hear your neighbors if they are loud

OKW has the largest of the studios. I really like the space and for us, having the two queen beds fits our needs better than a queen and a sleeper sofa. The balcony provides a great view if you are on an upper floor. On the ground level, you stillk have a view but the landscaping also allows you to have some privacy.
I've never encountered a musty smell or untidy room.


OKW really makes you feel you 'got away' if you want that feeling.


It is the oldest resort but it still has wonderful amenities. I have found that each resort has something the others do not have. It may be more quaint than ultra modern but the studios at OKW have a lot of charm.

------------------------------
:smile18: http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f132/artbrush/bcv2.jpg http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f132/artbrush/ssr.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dawnal
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: October 2006
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mon February 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: room size, community hall
Cons: counter service choices, noisy buses on main road

This was our first experience with DVC and we will definitely go again! The warm, friendly staff are why we love to stay on property.


The size of the studio, the two queen beds and balcony were all great with two young children. There was even some "floor space" for the kids to spread out their pin collection one evening.


The community activities and pool area were fun and wish we could have utilized them more - next time! Again, great staff.


The only down side is the counter service set up. It was quite cold in January when we were there so had to take our food back to the room which was ok for a one off thing, but would not have wanted to do it often.


We were also just off the main road which made for a difficult nap time prior to the Pirate & Princess Party evening as the buses a quite noisy.


All in all, a great experience and has made us want to return.


The buses were as per usual if not a little slow, but found we used our car more often.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AZeno

Grand Villa

Registered: December 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3018
Review Date: Tue February 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Lower points, mature landscaping
Cons: See review

Old Key West Studio
Checked in on Sunday, February 24, 2008
Studio accommodations


Arrived at approximately 3:30pm on Sunday. The lobby area was busy, but not overwhelming with just a slight wait to check-in. The cast member that checked us in was named Goldie and she was a delightful and very Disney person. This was our very first stay at Old Key West, so we had no real idea what to expect. Also, since we have never stayed at OKW before we didnít make any requests on our reservation. As a result, when we checked in, we explained to Goldie what was important to us and she made every effort to find a room that met our expectations. And most importantly, the room was ready, which was very nice.


We were assigned room 4626. This was a studio on the second floor. The room had a window in the front facing the parking lot, but because of all of the mature landscaping, you could not see the parking lot. There was a small walk out balcony with a nice view of mature bamboo trees and a view of the river. Everything in the room was in working order and the room was clean.


We found the room to be good but found that the following items would make for a better stay.
The second floor location was a bit of a bother dragging the luggage up two flights of stairs. The beds sit fairly high off the floor making it a little uncomfortable to sit. The room could use a love seat, or some other kind of comfy chair to sit. There are two side chairs by a small table but these were not too comfy.


As of this visit, Disney had not implemented the free internet access, and is still applying a $9.95 per day charge for wired access.


Overall we like OKW, and would not hesitate to stay in a studio again.

------------------------------
Angel (aka AZeno) ------------------------------------------------- http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb269/AZeno_photos/Icons%20and%20stuff/3461164183_544861afff_b-1.jpg http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb269/AZeno_photos/Icons%20and%20stuff/976863629_288fR-900x900.jpg http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb269/AZeno_photos/Icons%20and%20stuff/CopyofMickeySmile.jpg Photos courtesy Trey Ratcliff stuckincustoms.com
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
floridaperson
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: July 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 15
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Clean, cheerful, spacious, comfortable beds
Cons: Thin walls

Staff were courteous from the concierge to housekeeping. We had to ask for decaf coffee as there was only one package of regular and we don't drink that. I would think they would give you enough coffee for the number of mornings you stay...unless this was an oversight. We didn't mind the stryofoam cups and paper plates. However, we took our own wine glasses as we live in FL! We could hear everything going on in the room next to us and the buses going by. However, it wasn't constant and didn't bother us at night. We were on the canal, nestled in the woods and were happy with the setting being away from Hospitality House and pools. Transportation was good and fairly quick unless you were going to another resort for dinner. We will definitely stay there again even though SSR is our home.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jackieslp
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: June 2006
Location: Mechanicsburg PA
Posts: 38
Review Date: Mon September 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: We had a great location - right near the main house. Our view was of one of the holes on the golf course so that was cool. Staff was generally nice. Food at Olivia's (breakfast) was great.
Cons: Thought the outdoor -walk up window could use more options.

We would definitely stay there again. Plenty of spots at the pool and my kids loved the slide.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jras81

Two Bedroom

Registered: May 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 613
Review Date: Wed September 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: cheap, location
Cons: smelled, small, old, dated, service

We just got back from our week long stay at OKW. we had a studio in building 46. we were realy dissapointed with the room. This was our first experience with DVC points so we really had our hopes up. the room smelled like mold and wasn't very clean. the view we had was just the road, but it still wasn't bad. the room was small and looked very dated. I would say it was like staying in the economy lodge. on a positive note, the bus stop was a 2 minute walk. the service was slow as well. when we checked out our bell hop never even showed up so we had to take our luggage on the shuttle bus. The stay wasn't a terrible experience, just not what we had thought. We of course had a great time in the parks and were too tired by the end of the day to really worry about the room. The beds were comfortable. I would not stay here again. I think that we will try VWL or the contemporary next.

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] Next Visit: Halloween 2014 at The Grand Floridian Villas!!! [COLOR=red]Recent Visits: Sep 13 Bay Lake Tower, Oct 12 Bay Lake Tower, Nov 11 Saratoga Springs, Sep 11 Aulani, Dec 10 Bay Lake Tower, AUG 09 Bay Lake Tower, Mar 09 WL, Sep 08 OKW, Nov 07 DL Paris, Oct 06 WDW Pop Century[/COLOR] BLT DVC Member Since April 2009
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
sk8belle

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: July 2008
Location: NoVA
Posts: 27
Review Date: Fri September 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Lots of space, close to one of the quiet pools
Cons: A bit of a walk from the bus stop

I stayed in Rm. 4226 this past week. As you can tell from the number, it was on the second floor of building 42. The room was clean and in very good shape. It was a lock-off, so the balcony did have a view on one side of the one bedroom next to me. However, it also had a fabulous view of the lake and water fountain directly behind the building.


The building is part of the Old Turtle Road section of the resort. The proximity to one of the quiet pools can't be beat. It's right next door! It's also far enough away that you are well insulated from the noise, especially when people are in there late at night, relaxing after a long, hot day at the parks. Soft drinks, ice, and the laundry are also located in that area - very convenient if you don't feel like catching a bus or walking to the HH.


The bus stop is a bit of a walk. Not too far, but not as convenient as some people might like. This is probably my only complaint. I could easily see how it might not be the best location for families whose kids are tired and don't want to have to walk very far to the room. Oh, and the curtain rings on the shower rod were mismatched, so some didn't slide very easily. But that's just being nit-picky. Overall, I really enjoyed staying in this room.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Kizzes424

One Bedroom

Registered: January 2008
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 407
Review Date: Sat September 20, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great atmosphere; large rooms; very friendly staff; water transportation to DD
Cons: Distance to HH; limited counter service; quick service hours; bus transportation a little confusing and slow at times

We just returned from a 6 night vacation at OKW. We had a room in Turtle Pond blg 35 room 13 on the first floor. The patio was nice, but the view was a little obsucured by the landscape. Still it was very serene and private. Our room was right across from the bus stop which made our trips to the parks wonderful. The walk to the HH seemed like a hike the first day, but our last night we decided to walk back to our room and throughly enjoyed the maybe 10 minute trip. I think it seemed longer in the day due to the heat. The resort itself is beautiful and offers a lot of recreational choices for couples and families. We loved being able to walk over to Turtle Pond Snack Shack in the afternoon to fill up our cups. We also loved the option of riding the boat over to Downtown Disney. We took one in the evening and again in the afternoon, and I have to say the trip was so relaxing. The staff was very friendly, and even when we had some issues, they were willing to compensate us, and take care of any problems we had. The only drawbacks we found were the limited quick service options as well as the hours food was available. Goods to Go is only open until 10 unlike other resorts where the dining is open until 11. We found this to be an issue when we came back late from a park and wanted something to eat. We also had issues with the bus service-sometimes waiting 30 minutes just for a DD bus, and we had an incident with the Internal Resort shuttle where we ended up in DD instead of our room. However, that falls back on the transportation division and I wouldn't hold it again the resort itself. Overall, we really enjoyed the room and the resort and would definately recommend it to others looking for a true home away from home.

------------------------------
~ Cristy :earboywav [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] 2009 Family Trip (L to R: DH, me, DB, DSIL, DD, DM, DC) "Even miracles take a little time"-Fairy Godmother http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1405407653.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
TW1

Founding Member

Registered: September 2005
Location: Philly and/or HHI
Posts: 5423
Review Date: Sat September 20, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: An attractive resort
Cons: Garden View Inn Room not out 'cup of tea'

We've been twice, booking Garden View Inn rooms both times. First trip was better with a 2nd floor room with somewhat of a view of the pool. Second trip we were in the fourth floor, facing the highway, under the eaves in the corner. IT was not a good room. We tried to switch but they were full. The room was weell worn and the sloping ceilings were veery annoying.


The resort is wonderful, and I recommend visiting. The activities are lots of fun and the restaurants and Green Cabin Room are a plus. I also appreciate Disney's commitment to preserving the sea turtles habitat, which is quite evident when there.


Go for it, just avoid the fourth floor corner rooms in the inn.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 More Items


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:37 AM.

© MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images © The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.