home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Old Key West (OKW) « Previous Product  · Next Product »
OKWGV.jpg
<
OKW2BR.jpg
·
OKW1BR.jpg
>
OKWStudio.jpg
>>

One Bedroom Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
24 143469 Sun June 10, 2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
88% of reviewers 7.7
OKW1BR.jpg
supersize


Description: Old Key West One Bedroom Vacation Home
Accomodation Size: One Bedroom


Author
Post A Reply 
mullertwin

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: February 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 11
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very spacious. Beautiful grounds. Clean
Cons: Resort very spread out. Only one entrance to toilet.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom on the 2nd floor in Building 20. We had a water view. It was really beautiful. The unit was very clean and everything worked well. I could not believe how enormous the unit was! The down sides are the spread out resort - one would do well with a car here. And the room we had only had one entrance to the toilet via the main bedroom. That was a bit inconvenient for middle of the night bathroom trips for the kids who slept on the pull out sofa.

------------------------------
Joy
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dlpmikki
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: June 2007
Location: England
Posts: 14
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful surroundings, laid back, large rooms
Cons: spread out, poor fast food option

We stayed in building 14. This is one of the older buildings but very close to Hospitality House. The rooms are extremely large and comfortable. When you are near Hospitality House you can do without a car but we prefer to have one. The CMs here are possibly the friendliest on property.

------------------------------
Mikki Young DVC Member since 1992 Solo trip October 2012
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit dlpmikki's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
LORIDALE
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: October 2007
Review Date: Mon January 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Large rooms, nice view,like being home
Cons: poor maintenance, bathroom not really clean

We just got back fro a one week stay at OKW. We had a 1 br villa on the golf course. There was trash outside the balcony, and the heat in our unit did not work. We called maintenance several times to no avail. Towel service was spotty. The property was beautiful and the rooms very spacious. We would not stay there again.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
lats118

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 48
Review Date: Tue January 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quiet resort; huge rooms; comfortable, homey feel
Cons: Rooms, furnishings not crisp and new (but given its age, thats ok)

Most comfortable of the DVC resorts that we've stayed in. When we need/want a 1 BR we always reserve at OKW because of the layout and the room size (and the size of the jacuzzi!). The pools never seem overly crowded and the food choices are just fine for us. Overall a homey, relaxing resort; perfect for us.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MCazer
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: October 2007
Review Date: Tue January 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Huge Room Size
Cons: Old buildings don't have elevators

I have owned at Old Key West since 1997. We bought a resale directly from the owner. Back then you got Park Passes every time you used your points (until 2000).


For my family OKW is the best option. We have used our points at Beach Club, Boardwalk, Vero, the Polynesian, and a 7 day cruise on the MAGIC.


We are a family of 4. We always rent a car, and find it wonderful to park right in front of your unit. We usually hit the food store and eat breakfast in the room.


We usually get a one bedroom, which is perfect for our family. We usually request a newer building, because we like the entrance through the laundry room to the bathroom, so the kids don't have to come through the master bedroom for a pitstop! LOL


Also, the new buildings have elevators. Which is essential if you are carrying a lot of suitecases up the stairs to the 3rd floor, or just after a long day at the parks!

------------------------------
Margaret DVC 1997 - OKW - 10 Years! WOO HOO!! Time Flies When You're Having Fun! http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10701;99/st/20071101/e/Disney+Trip/k/ef00/event.png http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10747;405/st/20080816/e/Disney+%60+Universal+Trip/k/7d8f/event.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Disnydad

Two Bedroom

Registered: May 2006
Location: Saratoga County, New York and Solivita, Florida
Posts: 748
Review Date: Thu January 31, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Large units, parking nearby
Cons: None

I'm in 4711 in a one bedroom unit now. First floor, but the view is just of a green hill. I'm sure the second floor has a much nicer view. Only problem I've seen in here is a rather large stain on the sofa. Other than that, no problems and the room is in nice shape.

------------------------------
Don OKW & Solivita Too many WDW visits to count now that I live nearby part time, 1 DL trip & 5 Disney Cruises. Smile!onald: :woohoodan
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MousewardBound

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: September 2007
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 23
Review Date: Tue February 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Large rooms, nice pool, great view
Cons: very hard bed

We just got back from our first stay in a one-bedroom. The second-floor room (I believe it was 1321) was huge, right across the street from the Hospitality House and the main pool. Our room overlooked the golf course and the pond. My four-year old son loved watching the ducks from our balcony.


The only negative I could say is that the bed was unbelievably firm. The first night my husband and I had a hard time sleeping. I called housekeeping and requested some of those foam pads. They brought over a double-layer very quickly. That really helped a lot. I also know there are people who prefer a very firm mattress, so this might be a plus for some.


We really loved having a full kitchen. We actually baked cookies - just like in the DVC video. It was terrific. Would definitely stay here again.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
BillandChris
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Review Date: Tue February 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Service was excellent. The room was in perfect condition
Cons: We stayed on the third floor, overlooking the trees and the busy road behind it

We arrived late (midnight) but got a knowledgeable and cheerful reception during check-in. The room was great, though there was some noise from the view of the busy road behind the trees. Since we have stayed at OKW dozens of time, we continue to be pleased with each experience.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DonnaO
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 7
Review Date: Wed February 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: SPACE< SPACE< SPACE
Cons: Far from Amenities

While this resort is a bit far from the parks, it is still a great value for points. And the rooms are larger than the other resorts which is helpful for little ones. I also love to walk by the water. It really doesnt remind me of Key West at all but i still like the decor. And Olivia is FABULOUS! Eat there even if you dont stay there.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dgaston
Studio

Registered: March 2006
Location: South Woodstock, CT
Posts: 157
Review Date: Sat March 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Large rooms, quiet resort, second bus stop
Cons: Few things missing from inventory, view of marsh

We stayed at 5625 in the South Point area from 2/17 to 2/22/08. Villa was in good condition, missing random things like cutting board, spatula, and corkscrew -- all arrived promptly when requested from housekeeping. On our T& T day the housekeeper even emptied the dishwasher for me (I had turned it on before our departure to the parks). We used a mix of buses and our rental car and had good bus service, never waiting more than 12 minutes for a bus.

------------------------------
Debbie http://www.magicalkingdoms.com/timers/tickers/crxt06wb9nswyhph.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
PolyColleen

One Bedroom

Registered: October 2005
Location: Bloomington, Indiana
Posts: 419
Review Date: Fri April 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Beautiful resort with beautiful grounds and lovely pools
Cons: Some rooms are in desperate need of rehab

I just finished a letter to send to the Member Satisfaction person. We had a great stay at WDW but our room was a dump -- really disappointing. I wanted to share it with you all. Here's my letter:


I am writing to express my dissatisfaction with a room I stayed in recently at Old Key West. I felt that some things should be brought to your attention. While we had a wonderful time, the room was in many ways quite run down and not up to DVC standards.
I checked into #5511, a one-bedroom unit, on March 9th. The check-in went smoothly and I was thrilled that the room was in a quiet building I had requested. The building was nice outside and the view of the canal was beautiful. Unfortunately the room itself was disappointing. In the living area the couch and loveseat did not match. I do not mean they were different fabrics as part of a decorating scheme; they were simply mismatched. The loveseat was clearly newer and had a plaid fabric. For some reason the couch was MUCH older and the fabrics were therefore different. This looked terrible! The couch was missing the pillows that are usually there and the fabric was very shabby and it was made more obvious by comparison to the newer loveseat. I have also been hearing for ages that DVC was upgrading to the newer, more comfortable sleeper sofas. This one was definitely still the old kind.
Although the unit appeared fairly clean, the tile floor in the bathroom had quite a few spots of spilled, sticky substance. It was thick enough to make your shoe sticky if you stepped in it. It was obvious the unit had not been mopped in a while. The shower unit was cleaned thoroughly but looking up, the ceiling over the shower was covered in dead bugs. Tiny gnats are obviously a problem in Florida but I would like to see the dead ones scraped off the ceilings. There were also some dead ones on the walls. I also noticed that the decorative items on shelves in the bathroom were CAKED in dust. They had not been cleaned in quite some time. I would prefer no decorations to such dirty ones.
The area where the shower door met the tile floor had cracked over time. It had obviously been filled in but the crack was back. The area was moldy and caked with old dust. I also noticed that the small window in the bathroom was surrounded by rust spots. My husband pointed out that this window, which does not open, is metal and the rust was coming through the paint.
In the hallway from the bathroom to the bedroom, near the closet, there was a framed print. MANY dead bugs were inside it! They must have crawled in there and died. There were a few dead gnats (the same type from the shower) and even a dead moth, somewhat larger. They were crumbling into dust and while still identifiable as bug corpses, they must have been there quite a while. It was so nasty I considered taking down the print but did not want to stir up dust.
The blinds on the bedroom door (to the patio) were loose. They were not attached to the brackets on the door, and the brackets were very rusty and bent. If you opened the door the blinds flopped around and so the bottom of the blinds was ragged. We tried not to use that door at all.
I will say that the carpet and paint were fine. I also noticed the appliances seemed new. My husband and I thought the room was a very odd combination of newer items and shabby, older ones. On our last day, some neighbors checked in who were smokers. The smoking area was right in the ONLY path into the building. Anyone coming or going had to pass right through the cloud of smoke. We try hard to avoid smoke at all times and found this location completely unacceptable The whole point of designated smoking areas, in my opinion, is to protect guests from smoke. Please make efforts to put smoking areas to the side where everyone is not forced to walk right through to enter or exit the building.


I love Old Key West and have stayed there many times. Our last two visits, however, have been spent in rooms that were way overdue for a thorough cleaning and rehabilitation. If this had have been my first DVC stay, I would have been furious, because this room looked NOTHING like the pristine models you are shown at purchase time. It is unfortunate that when we plan a DVC vacation lately, I find myself hoping that we don’t get what my family calls “a dumpy room.” DVC accommodations are supposed to be upscale but my two last rooms at OKW were anything but. The idea of a “home away from home” is certainly not demonstrated by the type of room we found. At home my furniture matches and any dead bugs are cleaned up as soon as I discover them.
Please realize that for my family, DVC is a significant monetary commitment. The dues are very expensive and will only be perceived as worth it if the accommodations remain acceptable.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
richswit
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 13
Review Date: Fri May 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: The reasons we bought in
Cons: The rooms are in drastic need of rehabilitation

We are long time DVC members, dating back to the mid nineties.


It struck me in our stay at the beginning of May, in room 1428, that the rooms really need rehabilitation and redecorating. The color scheme is starting to look dated and some of the furniture, blinds, and applicances are too far along in their wear cycle. I don't know how long DVC stays with furniture before updating it, but it is too long.


For sure, the televisions are way out of date and have to be updated to LCD's


I stayed in three other places on my current trip, and am writing this from Summerfield Suites in Pleasant Hill, CA. OKW is the only place with old TV's and feels much more dated then any of the other places I have stayed. All in all it just feels very stale. Also, they need better quality control. Disney used to get it right, down to the smallest detail, but not anymore. For example they left a half empty bottle of shampoo and dishes in the dishwasher (although they looked clean).


The non charge for Internet usage is now in effect, but it is a somewhat clunky system for Internet connection. Every other place I have stayed is now wireless. Also, watch the charges! They billed me for three days which they readily reversed when I called it to their attention. The lady at the desk told me that the system for charging is manual and someone has to manually reverse the charges!


All in all I think Disney is being way too greedy and trying to milk the DVC for all they can get away with, and it is time they reinvested in this cash cow, started a new color scheme as part of the renovation, and refreshed the interiors including furniture and appliances more frequently.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Laxmom

Grand Villa

Registered: March 2008
Location: In the wilds of northern Ky...
Posts: 1314
Review Date: Wed July 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: location, room size, peacefulness
Cons: none

This was our first DVC stay after years of Marriot ownership and I have to say, we were impressed. The resort was neat as a pin and our room was, well, perfect. We did have one issue with the bathroom fan which was fixed promptly and we had no can opener in our unit.


We were in unit 4225 in Turtle Pond and loved this location. Very close to the pool and bus stop but still quiet. The room was in great shape with no stains or visable abuse. The Cm's were all very helpful and friendly. The buses worked great for us and we didn't bother with a car. We used the buses to get back and forth to the HH - hopped any bus since HH was last stop and then walked across the bridge to Peninsular Rd. stop since it was the first stop. We had a view of the pond; the fountain was lit at night. The bed in the master was very comfortable and there were no complaints from our teen about the sofa bed. The size of this unit was amazing!


We ate lunch at Olivia's one afternoon and found the service really great and the food pretty good. The main pool area was really terrific with a great slide for the kids. We also enjoyed the quiet pool in the Turtle Pond area as well.


The foliage around the resort is mature and affords an amazing level of privacy on the balconies. We felt like we were the only ones in the area when we were enjoying our breakfasts out there! We loved the music that was played on the buses - a little Buffett and Belefonte's Banana Boat Song. It just added to the theming of the resort. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Goofys*Gal

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: August 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 5
Review Date: Sun September 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quiet & peaceful, bus stop directly across the street, room size
Cons: none

4th stay in OKW. Stayed 4 nights (7/27-31/2008) in a 1-bedroom. 3 of us: DH, DD14 and myself. Our room was in building 35, first floor, Turtle Pond section. Fairway and pond were behind our unit, but a large tree blocked most of that view. Our room # was 3514.


Building 35 is set back off the main road enough to where we never heard any bus noise. The bus stop was right across the street from our building, which was very convenient.


The room was clean and in good condition. Everything in working order. We got our trash/towel service on 7/30 as scheduled.


We loved the peace and tranquility of the resort. We never heard noises from any neighbors. I would definitely be happy to stay in this unit again.

------------------------------
http://www.magicalkingdoms.com/timers/tickers/crxt75ghougj1p7g.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Luv2golf
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sun October 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Space, atmosphere, beautiful grounds
Cons: units a bit worn, not enough dining choices

We were in bldg 17 on th ground floor with a view of the golf course.
The unit was very large compared to the other resorts. The kitchen has full sized table. I liked the laundry room which has full size units compared to the smaller stack units in a closet at the new resorts.
The villa is a bit worn, but not too bad.
The resort has a nice slowed down feeling to it. I think that is is due to the fact that those staying there are mostly likely DVC members and have been to Disney many times therefore their pace is relaxed.
For the size of the resort I would like to see more dining options. We weren't big fans of the sit-down restaurant and the counter service has a very minimal selection.
But, for the most part, we really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again primarily because of the room size and the beauty of the resort.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 More Items


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:36 PM.

© MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images © The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by Forum Software