home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Old Key West (OKW) « Previous Product  · Next Product »
OKWGV.jpg
<
OKW2BR.jpg
·
OKW1BR.jpg
>
OKWStudio.jpg
>>

One Bedroom Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
24 144786 Sun June 10, 2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
88% of reviewers 7.7
OKW1BR.jpg
supersize


Description: Old Key West One Bedroom Vacation Home
Accomodation Size: One Bedroom


Author
Post A Reply 
buffalorun

One Bedroom

Registered: April 2008
Location: Mile high in mountains of Northern Nevada, near Lake Tahoe.
Posts: 358
Review Date: Mon April 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Spacious, nice location
Cons: Tired. Dirty.

We were at OKW in December and the fold out couch was old and filled with nasty debris, including very old and sticky food. Gross! We like the spaciousness of the place, but it really needs a facelift, along with better quality control in cleaning. When we returned in April we went back to Saratoga Springs.

------------------------------
http://i1182.photobucket.com/albums/x443/buffalorun2/image-1.jpghttp://i1182.photobucket.com/albums/x443/buffalorun2/SSR2RL-1.jpghttp://i1182.photobucket.com/albums/x443/buffalorun2/image.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
asr3535

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 10
Review Date: Fri August 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Great slide, large rooms
Cons: Poor food choices

We stayed 6 nights in #6226 in July. I was hesitant to stay at OKW due to mixed reviews. I requested a renovated room, high floor, quiet location. We were in a room that had all- wood floors(very nice) and separate bathroom entrance through the laundry room. We were on the 2nd of 3 floors, no elevator. The location was great, across from the hospitality house, but not quiet, as the busses all turned the corner here.
The furniture was fine, we didn't find stains and signs of wear that other reviewers noted.
My kids(and me) loved the pool slide.
Our biggest complaint and disappointment was the lack of food choices; just very limited, as mentioned in other reviews. I tried to get carry-out pizza/pasta from Olivia's, but it does not offer carry-out. My kids were in the pool and didn't want to leave for a sit-down lunch. As I went to the geneal store to look for something for them to eat, painfully paying $1.99 for yogurt, the hostess from Olivia's came over to tell me that the Turtle Shack snack bar sold pizza. Before I took a golf cart there, I stopped at the concierge to ask about it to make sure. The concierge didn't know, and didn't know who to ask. When I asked for directions to a Sweet Tomatoes restaurant, she also replied she didn't know. I asked if she didn't have internet to look. Fortunately, the concierge next to her jumped in and helped out. It took 2 separate phone calls and finally a CM walking through who worked in the snack bars to confirm pizza was available at Turtle Shack but not at the main pool. We thought very odd to be sold at one but not both. This was our 1st vist in many we didn't rent a car, and took a taxi to Walmart to buy food (and much cheaper yogurt).
My husband had to work, and the internet connection didn't work. It took a technician more than 2 hours and lots of rewiring to get it up and running.
We learned that the resort will start renovation later this year.
Ths boat service to Downtown Disney no longer stops at SSP, which is nice. We had a great captain on the return and as we were the only ones riding, he gave our kids a pirate scarf and sword.
As I'm typing this, my husband just asked "we're not staying there again?" I may, but would prefer others. As the review asks if you would recommend the product, I said yes, but with hesitancy.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
hhhmickey

Grand Villa

Registered: June 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1459
Review Date: Tue December 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Spacious room, laid back feel of resort, community area
Cons: Interior needs refurb and upgrades

Our family of 5 stayed in a 1 BR unit in building 28. Room size was great! We also had close proximity to community area, but our view was lacking (basically shrubbery). We enjoyed walking to Goods to Go, and my wife and I enjoyed the Gurgling Suitcase...kids liked the Conch Flats store. We did not eat at Olivia's.


The marina and recreation area had a nice laid back feel. We only stayed two nights, but I could see spending lots of time here on a longer trip. We also rented a surrey bike and rode through the resort. The grounds and landscaping are nice!


We enjoyed our stay at OKW, and would return. The reason I rate this property a 7 is because the interior is in need of refurbishing...paint job, furnishings are very worn, bathroom was clean, but appeared to be stained in numerous places. TV's and appliances could stand to be upgraded as well.

------------------------------
Chris [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] http://i653.photobucket.com/albums/uu255/hinesfamily/200px-Disney_Vacation_Club_logo1.png MOD 77:)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
goofydisneydad

Grand Villa

Registered: June 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1365
Review Date: Tue June 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very Spacious
Cons: Needs updating

We stayed in Building 13 which is right across from the hospitality house. This is a major benefit, near the food, pool and 1st bus stop. Since these are the first DVC properties it is understandable that they are not as new as some of the others, but overall not bad.


A couple of buildings have elevators, ours did not. I do not mind the stairs, but carrying a sleeping child up 2 flights is not the easiest or most fun after a long day of walking at the parks.


Overall our family liked Old Key West. We have two children ages 7 and 5. My 5 year old daughter still asked me when we are going back to Old Key West. Soon is my answer.

------------------------------
JB [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Gemsparkle
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: April 2010
Location: Washington State
Review Date: Tue August 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Spacious rooms, beautiful landscaping, not crowded, good location
Cons: Only bathroom in bedroom, leaky shower, Olivia's Restaurant expensive and not very good.

We stayed in OKW this past July (2010) for 9 nights, in a 1BD (bldg 28) with 2 adults and 2 teenage boys, and found it to be a great respit from the summer crowds in the rest of Disneyworld. The grounds were well maintained and clean. The rooms spacious and clean, we even had room for a single blowup mattress (the boys didn't want to share the queen foldout bed) in the living area. We were on the first floor and the view from the patio was of the hedge with the golf course on the other side. The patio was a peaceful place to drink your morning cup of coffee before heading out. Staff was very friendly, and we were close enough to the hospitality house that the kids could run over whenever they wanted (without having to catch a shuttle) to play pool, swim, get a snack, or checkout a dvd to watch in the room. You can catch a ferry from the Hospitality House to Downtown Disney to find some great food. Better than anything at OKW. Looks like the 2nd and 3rd floor of Building 62 would be a great place to stay. They have a view of a pond, are close to the Hospitality House and can watch the fireworks at night from their deck. The park shuttles were convenient, and rarely full. In comparison we went to dinner one night at the Boma House in the AKV and the place was very crowded and hectic. Glad to get back to the OKW to relax! PM me if you have questions.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Debbie in Seattle

Two Bedroom

Registered: January 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 605
Review Date: Sat November 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Old, moldy, nonworking items in unit

We were in unit 5523, one bedroom. Yes, it was clean, no it was NOT renovated. The bathroom tiles were broken and alot of mold. The telephone in our bedroom did not work, there were lightbulbs out in two lamps and the sofa was messed up. If we sat on the end, we'd sink to one side, could only sit in the middle of the sofa. We were in the Southpoint Road area next to the pool. It was very quiet there, except, we could hear everyone's conversation in the hot tub and the kids in the pool. No biggie really, but we decided since our kids are grown, why do we want to be next to the pool area anymore? This will be a great place once it is renovated. I will NOT stay in this unit nor recommend it until done.

------------------------------
Debbie in Seattle Posted with my IPad 2
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dizdadandcindy2
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: February 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sun February 20, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quietness, size, layout
Cons: none

Our first visit here was in early 1992 and we immediately became DVC members. You can't beat the overall layout of the complex. Ease of parking, relative quiet in the rooms - yes even with excited kids. We have yet get the urge to stay at a different resort at WDW. OKw is definetly our home away from home.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
lindseyc
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2011
Review Date: Mon March 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Room was spacious, close to hospitality house
Cons: Noisy, dirty, service was very poor

My Mom is a DVC member and we have stayed at OKW many times in the past 10 years, usually in a 3BR GV. This trip, my husband, our 2 small kids, and I stayed in our own 1BR. Starting with our Magical Express reservation before we even left our home was a nightmare. We had not received our luggage tags and phoned DVC to inquire about them. They blamed many things as to why we had not received them, and they all had to do with something we did. They only responded "there is nothing we can do". I phoned ME myself and this person was much kinder. She said she would send the tags out via UPS express and hope they arrive before we leave (which was 7 days away). Fortunately, the ME went smoothly, we received our tags, and the ride was nice to the resort. We of course arrived prior to check in time. Both my Mom and I had requested our rooms to be close together and close to the hospitality house. Her room was in the front and our room was WAYYYY in the back of the resort. After some shuffling we were moved to building 26 and she was in 15 (which are across and a couple down from each other). I will NEVER stay in building 26 again. It is right on the corner of the main roads and you hear buses ALL night (atleast until they stopped which seemed like all night). Then, bright and early, they start back up again. Including the maintenance vehicles. My children were awakened many times by the buses. Backing up...we were promised we would be notified just as soon as our room was ready. We had 2 kids who were in dire need of a nap and someplace to unwind. We were never notified our room was ready. At 4:05 I went to the desk to ask if the room was ready as now it was past check in time. She stated, yes the room has been ready for an hour. She said since I had checked in online before arrival it did not notify me when the room was ready. Adding it is a new system and they are still working out the kinks. That hour would have been wonderful to have been in a room rather than walking my son around in the stroller for a nap. We finally made it in the room and the renovations are very lovely. The cleanliness was not so good. There was someone else's long black hair hanging on the hair dryer in the bathroom as well as in the shower and on the door to the bathroom. And hair is something that completely grosses me out and is unacceptable. You couldn't miss these hairs! Fast forward to our departure. I was assured by the bell services if I had my luggage to the airline check in service at the resort by 1p they would be able to check my bags in for me. We spent some time by the pool after having to be out of our room by 11a and boarding the ME at 1:55. I went to the check in counter at 12:50 to check my bags and they were shut down. They shut down at 12:45 she said. WHAT! The 2 women working at the airline counter there were very nasty and unwilling to help. Even though all the literature, including the sign right by the counter, states they are open until 1p. The woman at the bell counter states, "it's 12:55, it's your call". Again...what! It's your call on whether or not you are going to help me and you are supposed to be open until 1p and it isn't even 1p! They reluctantly tried to reboot their system. The baggage fees were addressed and I stated we do not owe baggage fees as we travel under a corporate account with AirTran and our baggage fees are waived as part of this membership. She questioned me as my seats were not in the business class section. No, not business class I said, corporate account. Not the same thing. She refused to take my bags unless I paid a baggage fee or I proved to her I did not owe baggage fees. I had no idea I would need this information and of course did not have anything with me. When you read the instructions for the ME it states Disney will even provide your boarding pass making it very easy and simple for all travelers. Nothing about bring along proof of what your baggage fees may or not be. At the end of a very long and ugly discussion that went past 1p (she very well let me know) she would not take my bags. I was furious as the ME is such a perk and supposed to be such a wonderful asset to travelers. I did speak with the manager inside the OKW and he did provide a taxi voucher that would help us to get our baggage closer to the check in since we were traveling with 2 small children. The manager, Brian V, was very kind and very helpful and the taxi was a kind gift to help to deal with our frustration. Our family really enjoys Disney and of course takes a good amount of saving to take a Disney trip. To spend the money it takes to enjoy Disney with your family and have this level of frustration and dissatisfaction was very sad to us. I'm sure we will return to Disney and of course stay at OKW as this is one of our favorites, but this trip was definitely the worst we have taken to Disney.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
tpartcart

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: June 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 34
Review Date: Sun June 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Large square footage at OKW. Love the living room and full master suite
Cons: floors needed damp mopping. On day of arrival, I noticed my feet were getting dirtly walking barefoot.

Love the large size of the units. They are detached 4 unit buildings, so only two floors. Not bad for checkin since parking is in front of each unit. Bus stops at each unit as well so short walk to catch the bus. There are pools near every unit or you can travel to the main house for the super slide and boat dock. The boat travels to DD frequently.
As mentioned, Ilove the master suite in the one and two bedroom units. My only complain was the floor of my unit in 10/2011 need damp moping. The wood laminate flooring had been swept not mopped.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:00 PM.

MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by Forum Software