home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Old Key West (OKW) « Previous Product  · Next Product »
OKWGV.jpg
·
OKW2BR.jpg
>
OKW1BR.jpg
>>
OKWStudio.jpg

Two Bedroom Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
32 39446 Sat January 26, 2013
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
97% of reviewers 8.5
OKW2BR.jpg
supersize


Description: Old Key West Two Bedroom Vacation Home
Accomodation Size: Two Bedroom


Author
Post A Reply 
RodNShirle

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2008
Location: Mizzou-rah
Posts: 12
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: There is so much room!
Cons: The resort is so spread out it is quite the hike to Hospitality House.

We have stayed twice in the two bedroom units at OKW and just love it because it is so spacious! Last time we had the 2 grandkids with us (ages 2 & 3) so some room for them to play was greatly appreciated. I wish Disney had stuck with this floor plan on their other resorts. Our last trip in Jan. 2008, we arrived late and needed to get something to eat from Goods to Go, and bell services was nice enough to wait around while we were trying to get food, corral toddlers, and get our luggage. Great staff! No car this trip, but I didn't make the effort to figure out how to get back and forth from the HH to our unit without one. I'm sure there is a way!

------------------------------
RodNShirle
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rhilferty
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 3
Review Date: Tue January 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

We stayed for the first time at OKW in October of 2007. The rooms are bigger than the other resorts but I feel that OKW is in need of updating. Do not get me wrong, my family had a great time but I believe it is more for the individuals who just want to relax. The restaurant was good but the menu was limited (my wife is a vegitarian). The staff were friendly and very patient when it came to our children. My daughter loved the play area with the crafts and games. I believe that we closed the place on several nights. Overall, it was a very good vacation and location
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ciannamea
Studio

Registered: September 2006
Location: upstate NY & Davenport, FL
Posts: 145
Review Date: Sat January 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Spacious villas
Cons: Showing it's age

We stayed here in early October 2007 for 7 nights. room #4614. The rooms are very large. We were on the ground floor near the waterway. We watched the boats go by and sometimes fish were jumping. The bus stop was close by and the walk to the pool wasn't that bad. This villa was in need of minor repairs...torn chairs, stained carpets, tiles falling off in the bathroom. The kids liked the slide at the pool best. My mother and my 7 & 10 year old really liked playing bingo. They each won something. the restaurants have a limited menu. Overall this is a nice resort

------------------------------
Dawn 1 vacation is never enough
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
BobNed

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2007
Location: Seattle & SSR
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sun January 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Simply put - the size of the villa
Cons: Climbing stairs when you're tired...

We were there the first week of December, 2007. We were in building 51 on the 3rd floor. Some have complained about noise from the buses but we never heard any. There were no problems whatsoever with our villa. We don't think OKW needs updating at all. It is our favorite DVC resort. Olivia's can't be beat and the cast members at OKW are the best.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
kimdvm
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 2
Review Date: Mon January 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Plenty of space for the family
Cons: Distance to office and mail pool

We had 5 (and sometimes 6) in this apartment for 10 days. For this length of time, the space was unbeatable. The main bedroom had a huge bathroom and whirlpool tub. The laundry room had full size washer and dryer. It was far enough away from the 2nd bedroom to do laundry while the kids were sleeping. Second bedroom had 2 queen size beds, and there was a pull-out couch in the living room.


It would be better if internet access were wireless, but at least I heard they are going to stop charging for it. Do take a long cable with you so you can at least sit more comfortably with your laptop when you have to get online.


We could see Epcot fireworks from our balcony, which had plenty of room for all of us to sit at.


We never used the restaurant; our kitchen was large enough that we ate breakfast in everyday, and also used it to eat leftovers or pizza a couple of times. It was also suitable for basic cooking; we just didn't take time for that.


As others have said, it is easiest to get to the main office or pool with a car. Otherwise buses are fairly frequent and their last stop before they leave OKW is at the main building.


Our unit must have been recently remodeled, because all furniture, tile, floors etc were in excellent condition. We had no problems whatsoever with noise while we stayed there. It would be hard to go to a smaller place after this!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jen

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: March 2007
Location: OH-IO
Posts: 15
Review Date: Mon January 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Tons of room!!!!
Cons: Size of resort

We stayed in a 2BR villa in July of 2007. We have six people in our family and there was PLENTY of room! We stayed in building 32 in Turtle Pond and had a great view of the pond. Every morning there were ducks outside our villa. Here is a short clip showing the inside of our villa. (Please understand that my kids are extremely excited to be here in this clip...oh, and my husband thinks he's a comedian.LOL)http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb306/jencarp72/th_fbc562b4.jpg
Here are my kids on the verandah (which is very spacious in itself):http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb306/jencarp72/1011804_103.jpg
We also spent a lot of time at the main pool which has a huge area of sand for the kids, which they loved.
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb306/jencarp72/1012146_435.jpg
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb306/jencarp72/1011899_195.jpg
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb306/jencarp72/1011906_202.jpg
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb306/jencarp72/1012185_474.jpg
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb306/jencarp72/1012182_471.jpg
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb306/jencarp72/1012143_432.jpg
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb306/jencarp72/1012260_536.jpg


Old Key West was wonderful!!!! We can't wait to go back!

------------------------------
:margaritaJen :goofy:
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
hillbilly1170

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 31
Review Date: Thu January 31, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Relaxing and Beautiful, Rooms are much bigger
Cons: Olivias was a little salty!

WOW! I'm glad I bought into this resort. My wife and daughter 2nd favorite resort behind beach club. My 2nd is Wilderness Lodge but not by much. The 2 bedroom we stayed in was huge compared to the other 2 bedrooms we stayed in. Veiw was beautiful and we loved going to downtown disney by boat. Very under rated resort. Very relaxing and quiet. Don't think for a minute that there is a significant difference between any of the DVC resorts, they all are very nice. I've stayed at all of them at least once(on disney property).

------------------------------
http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/akv2.jpg http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/bcv.jpg http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/okw3.jpg July 72 offsite July 80 offsite March 96 All star music March 04 Shades of Green March 06 Villas at Wilderness Lodge March 06 Beach Club Villas March 07 Boardwalk Villas March 07 Old Key West March 08 Beach Club Villas March 08 Wilderness Lodge March 08 Shades of Green October 09 Beach Club Villas October 10 Old Key West October 10 Animal Kingdom October 11 Shades of Green October 13 Animal Kingdom October 13 Beach Club Villas
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
cheapmom

Grand Villa

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 2496
Review Date: Mon February 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tropical setting, spacious villas, BEST CMs!
Cons: Needs more light fare food options

Palm trees everywhere and steel drum Christmas music are the first things I noticed as I entered OKW for my first visit there, in Decemeber 2007. Checking in on what was supposed to be a busy Sunday, we found no lines and the friendliest CMs we have ever encountered. A nice CM made balloon sculptures for the kids while I checked in. I love the decor of the lobby. I would describe it as upscale casual, eclectic, & tasteful.


Room was ready at check-in (11:00am) and we were thrilled to have a place to relax so early. I knew OKW had huge rooms from the boards but I was amazed by the room size, non the less. I had brought my parents along and boy were they impressed. It made me feel so proud to be able to bring them to WDW and put them up in style! Not one complaint about the room. Everything was fresh, clean, & well maintained. Tons of closet space and the huge laundry room was a big plus.


At the resort we found that the main pool was really fun and the sandy play area was a lot of fun for our little ones. The slide was fun for all the kids, but still tame enough for our littlest who is a bit timid. Goods to Go is very convenient to the main pool. It is easy to grab a drink or a light lunch to enjoy by the pool. The food there is pretty standard. I would have like to some more fresh/healthy options on that menu.


Transportation was great during our trip. Never more than a 15-20 minute wait. Usually seemed to be 10 mins. or less. We loved using the ferry to DTD. That is relaxing and lets you see lots of pretty waterfowl along the way as well as nice views of the golf course and SSR.


I think the best part of the resort is the overall feel -it is very much like an old neighborhood of friendly, laid back people! Our room location had us walking through parking lots which I didn't love. I prefer the landscaped walking paths like you have at SSR. I think maybe the section I was in just didn't really have that option- but OKW is a large and well landscaped resort, so I am sure you can take a nice nature walk there.


I can't say enough good things about Old Key West! In the words of AH-NOLD: I'LL BE BACK!!!

------------------------------
http://oi51.tinypic.com/zwazxw.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DVCerLee

Two Bedroom

Registered: February 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 619
Review Date: Fri February 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: size!
Cons: Buildings seemed crowded together, no elevator

We stayed here Dec 2-6, 2007 This was our first visit to OKW.. We loved having so much space. I loved having the laundry room! DH didn't like how all the buildings seemed crowded as did the parking areas.
The rooms were lovely, showing only a hint of their age.


I had a bit of a problem with my tickets left over from the week before and the new room key cards. The cast members helped us and then for all the confusion, they gave us 4 extra days to use in the future!


The bus service was more than adequate. We appreciated it!


Next time we will schedule more time to rest and enjoy the resort.

------------------------------
Lee is girl:Princess: :minniemou My spelling really isn't that bad. My typing, however, is terrible! Romans 3:10, 3:23, 6:23, 10:9,10, 13:sunny: http://www.magicalkingdoms.com/timers/tickers/n27tcaqa8w8uh3h2.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Arlene
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: December 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 8
Review Date: Mon February 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Spacious, clean, quiet, wonderful deck
Cons: Hole in the gutter caused a gusher when it rained and this had killed some of the plants below.

OKW gives a feeling of comfort and hominess. The rooms are very large, with double beds in the second bedroom as opposed to a pull out sofa. Plenty of room for a family meal in the dining room and on the beautiful deck. Space for everyone to spread out. Beautiful quiet pools and fun main pool, nice restaurant, rent watercraft on-site.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
butchk
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: July 2007
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mon February 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great space, we loved the accomodations and the roomy feel of our 2 bedroom OKW place. I think I'd be happy living there full time.
Cons:

We were very close to a bus stop and had no problems at all. The 2 BR villa exceeded all our expectations. This was our first visit to WDW and I'm afraid we've spoiled ourselves for future visits.
We'd have no reservations recommending to anyone.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
disney03

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2007
Location: long island, ny
Posts: 15
Review Date: Mon February 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A lot of room. Very quiet!
Cons: Hard to get around resort due to the size.

OKW is very different from the other DVC resorts because it is so spacious, quiet and relaxing! WDW is very exciting and busy and by staying at OKW you are given the opportunity of having two vacations in one. We felt that when we were ready to go back to our "home" we felt that we were on a island somewhere. The main pool with the sand for the kids to play is great, we also took a boat ride and it was so beautiful.
Because of the large size of the living room and bedrooms it gave our little one's a chance to run around after being in a stroller most of the day.
We love OKW and would highly recommend it. We can't wait to go back in 9months!!!!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jlkupec

Two Bedroom

Registered: January 2008
Location: Warminster, PA
Posts: 600
Review Date: Wed February 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Spacious, clean, and quiet and the bus service is good.
Cons: Resort is big...which can be a handicap.

OKW is the oldest and biggest of the DVC resorts. I still love it because of the atmosphere. I come to Florida for the palm trees and the relaxation. I also love Typhoon Lagoon and this resort is very close to there. I prefer buildings 25, 26 and 27, but I have had a great time in building 14...the view from there was golf course, lake and the lights of Downtown Disney.

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]NOTC (Never on TeaCups) Founding member
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rlcarmichael
One Bedroom

Registered: January 2008
Location: Chesapeake VA
Posts: 439
Review Date: Thu July 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Quiet & clean. Plenty of room
Cons: old TVs, long distance to shop and lobby

Even though it is the oldest of the DVC locations, the theming is great, parking at buildings is convient and the bus route runs through the area so there is a bus stop fairly close by.


I'd stay there anytime.

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] DVC Member BLT, VGC & SSR. Make-A-Wish volunteer Wish.org
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit rlcarmichael's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
leeholmes1

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 14
Review Date: Wed September 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: So much space
Cons: Counter service lack of variety

We stayed at Old Key West last Oct. I loved it the only reason I would stay anywhere else is because I want to experience all the resorts. There were 6 of us in a two bedroom and we felt so spread out. The housekeeping staff even gave us as much laundry soap and dish soap as we needed. The staff was incredible. The grounds are spread out, we didn't have a problem walking but my parents took the bus transportation around the resort and loved it. The past resorts we stayed at we hated the bus service to the parks because it took too long and it was a long walk but we were right next to a bus stop and one always came right away. Also we never saw anyone else unless we went to the main pool. It felt like a retreat away from the crowded parks. I wasn't very pleased with the restaurants but DTD is close by so I guess they don't need great food. I would rather eat at a value resort.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:05 AM.

MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.