home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Saratoga Springs Resort and Spa (SSR)   · Next Product »
SSRGV.jpg
<<
SSR2BR.jpg
<
SSR1BRPlan.png
·
SSRStudio.png
>

Studio Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 76437 Thu October 22, 2015
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
97% of reviewers 8.4
SSRStudio.png
supersize


Description: Saratoga Springs Resort and Spa Studio Villa
Accomodation Size: Studio


Author
Post A Reply 
carolina_yankee

Administrator

Registered: February 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25276
Review Date: Wed January 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: New, quality furnishings, relaxing theme
Cons: outdoor corridors might be turn-off to some

We stayed in the 3rd floor of a building facing Downtown Disney in Congress Park. The CP lesiure pool is nicely themed, reasonable size, and relaxing with its own hot tub - and great views of DD while soaking. Laundry near by is adequate for location. Room furnishings are high quality, and fit the theme well. I appreciate the placement of the lock-off door to the 1 BR unit by the main entrance (unlike Boardwalk Villas) to keep the noise down.


Busses were frequent enough and the walk to the Carriage House for Artist's Pallet and Turf Club wasn't bad.


The negatives: it's a hard resort to enjoy in rainstorms and the the CS and TS dining aren't conveniently located if you're further out. Being in a studio, we rely on that. Turf Club also didn't offer a sit-down breakfast. However, we did like the food in both places.


It would be nice if the internet access could be located by the sofa (maybe as a second option) so that one could sit on the sofa and do email while watching TV.


All in all, I find SSR to be a very relaxing resort that is surprisingly more convenient to the attractions than one might think given its location.

------------------------------
https://photos.smugmug.com/Walt-Disney-World-Vacations/2017-Disney-Cruise-Fantasy-Easte/2017-Sea-Days/i-sMSC4PL/0/2038e744/S/DCL%202017-0708-S.jpg
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit carolina_yankee's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
popstar7867
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 3
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Great location to DTD, good value, nice landscaping
Cons: Large resort, some rooms far from lobby

I loved staying the studio at SSR. It was so convenient to be able to stroll over to Downtown Disney! The only negatives of this resort is how large it is! When we were in Disney it rained a lot and it was tough to have to walk so far to the lobby and eateries.

------------------------------
*Amy* http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/popstar7867/STA70960.jpg ~Past Trips~ 1996- Family Trip- All Star Sports 1997- Family Trip- Dixie Landings (Now Port Orleans) 2002- High School Band Trip- Off Property (BUT got to march in the MK Parade!) 2006- First trip with my BF - Coronado Springs Resort 2007- 2nd trip with my BF - Coronado Springs Resort Oct 2007 - 1st time home to SSR May 2008 - BWV December 2008 - BCV, AKV, and GF http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/popstar7867/SSR1RL.jpg http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/popstar7867/disney-attractions.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
etmphn
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: October 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3
Review Date: Mon January 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Beautiful landscaping. Staff very friendly and helpful
Cons: The room smelled like smoke. When I got home all of my clothes still smelled. We were not able to use our points this trip but our son is a castmember and was able to get the room at a great discount. When oh When will Disney start using fitted sheets? I

We will stay here again. As our home resort is Saratoga. However I will not stay in a room that smells bad no matter how full they are.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
robnkris
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: September 2007
Review Date: Mon January 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Proximity to DTD, Nice Atmosphere, Bus Service
Cons: Dining Options

We stayed at SSR in a studio for marathon weekend. It was our first trip home since we bought SSR in July.


We requested a view of DTD and were given a room in Congress Park. We were on the first floor with a great view of DTD. It was really nice to sit out on the porch at night while I called family back home and watch the lights of DTD.


The studio was clean and seemed well kept. I would definitely reccomend a studio for a couple alone. It was fine the first two days when it was just DH and I. My mom was there the last two days and slept on the sleeper sofa. She thought it was comfortable. When the sofa was folded out it made the room very cramped. There is a table that sits in front of the sofa that has no where to go when the sofa is folded out. Since we weren't going to be in the room much the two days my mom was there, she left the sofa folded out. This made it impossible to get to the sliding door or to the other side of the small table in the room. I would reccommend folding the sofa up each day if you plan to be in the room much.


One thing that was wrong with our room was the lack of a DVD player. I called the front desk and the CM I spoke to said we were not supposed to have a DVD player. I knew this was not true and went to speak to someone at the front desk in person. They agreed that we should have one and they had somebody come install one in our room within the hour.


The walk to the main pool area from Congress Park wasn't too bad. We could have taken the AK bus, I believe, and it would have stopped at the main area on it's way out. Since the weather was nice, we just walked. On a summer day, I would probably opt to take the bus.


We were very disappointed in the dining options at this resort. We have previously stayed at moderate resorts and have become accustomed to the food court. SSR's counter service menu was very limited. It was mostly flatbreads, pre-made sandwiches, and salads. We ended up just buying a lunchable and chips and salsa from the grocery area. Since it is so close to DTD, we will probably go there on future trips if we want a good counter service meal.


The only other issue we had with the room was the internet access not working. When I plugged it in, I got no response. I went to call the front desk to speak to them, and the phone was dead. So I had to walk over there. They sent a maintenance worker within the hour. He discovered that I had plugged the ethernet cable into the wrong outlet. He said it happens all the time. So if you discover the internet and phone are both not working, check to make sure the cord is plugged in correctly.


Overall, we loved SSR. It was nice and quiet. The scenery was beautiful. We had bus service that was on par with any other Disney resort we've stayed at. I would not stay there with more than 2 adults in the room. I would prefer a studio at OKW with 3 or more adults. It would have more room, and two queen beds.

------------------------------
Krista :minniemou
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rickw
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2008
Review Date: Tue January 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful groundscaping and wonderful staff
Cons: layout of Artist pallet cause excessive congestion, wait for the resort buses could be excessive

November was our first stay as vacation club owners. We found the resort to be beautiful and well layed out. The proximaty to DTD was great and we had a beautful ferry ride over in the evening. The staffing was typical Disney, top notch.
On our third morning there as Bald Eagle landed on the cupalo on the main building. What a great sight in the fresh moring sun. Makes you feel great to be an American and have these opportunities. We also had a great time watching the otters in the ponds.
Overall the studio was very nice but i would not recomend it for more then 2 adults as the space is very tight with the couch pulled out.
The hot tub was relaxing and very clean.
The resort busses could be a little inconsistannt at times with three coming for one resort and then waiting for 40 minutes for the one you need. Make sure you take that into consideration if you have reservations or are on a tight time schedule.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Pocahantas

Studio

Registered: April 2006
Location: Louisiana & BCV
Posts: 160
Review Date: Wed February 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

My daughter and I stayed here for 1 night last summer and had a room that looked out toward Downtown Disney. The view was awesome at night. We were pretty far from the main pool and restuarants but only had a short 5 minute walk to The Marketplace at Downtown Disney. For those who like the nightlife at Downtown Disney, this would be an ideal location!! We hope to stay here again.

------------------------------
Past Trips: 12/02 - CR; 2/04 - CR; 5/05 - Pop/BCV/AKL; 10/05 - POFQ/BCV; 2/06 - VWL; 5/06 - BWV; 12/06 - POR/BCV/WL; 6/07 - SSR/BCV; 10/07 - BCV; 12/07 - POFQ/BCV; 5/08 - DCL/VBR; 2/09 - BWV; 6/09 - BCV; 9/09 - AKL/DCL/BC; 5/10 BLT/Poly; 3/11 BCV/BLT; 6/11 - DCL-Alaska; 6/12 - DCL Next Up: 2/13 - Magic Western Caribbean On the Horizon: 5/13 BCV; 10/13 BCV
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
glypnirsgirl

Grand Villa

Registered: September 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 1092
Review Date: Fri February 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful landscaping and scenic vistas
Cons: Occasional noise from the corridors.

This was our first stay at Saratoga Springs. I had never seen the resort before purchasing the points here. I was positively surprised at how lovely the resort is. Disney did an outstanding job of placing the buildings on the property and making excellent site lines. I found the architecture to be in keeping with the theme of the resort.


We stayed in a studio in Congress Park. I loved our room. We had a beautiful view of Downtown Disney and we were within a short walking distance. Because of how close we were, we chose to eat most of our impromptu meals there rather than at the resort. I considered that a major positive due to the variety that was accessible to us.


Our room was beautiful. The appointments and accessories are in keeping with the theme. Colors really affect my mood - I found the cool pastels serene without being depressing. I especially appreciated the black-out drapes - it made it easy to sleep in.


Check in was extremely smooth. We had packages delivered during our stay and we were always given a message that our package arrived. Retrieval proved easy. Check out and Magic Express arrangements were all smooth.


We used the spa services - excellent, first class premium spa treatments. The products used during the facial were amazing. The massage therapist, Nadege, was one of the best therapists I have ever had. My husband also loved his massage.


The meal that we had at the Turf Club was delicious. We chose to sit on the deck - enjoyed the view of the water. It was extremely peaceful.

------------------------------
:kickingco You might as well dance ... you never know when the music will stop:kickingco
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DVCerLee

Two Bedroom

Registered: February 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 653
Review Date: Fri February 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Size, beauty, peace and quiet
Cons: no free internet

We stayed here for 5 nights in Nov. 2007. We were in the Paddock area in two first-floor studios. It was our first time at a Disney resort. It was simply beautiful. The room seemed large and everything was extremely clean. We were close to the bus and pool. We regret not spending more time at the resort just relaxing. There was plenty of Disney charm, and the cast members were friendly and helpful.

------------------------------
Lee is girl:Princess: :minniemou My spelling really isn't that bad. My typing, however, is terrible! Romans 3:10, 3:23, 6:23, 10:9,10, 13:sunny: http://www.magicalkingdoms.com/timers/tickers/n27tcaqa8w8uh3h2.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MickeyFamily

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: February 2008
Review Date: Mon February 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: New, Hotel Grounds Are Attractive
Cons:

We stayed here for 5 nights in 1/08. When we arrived our front dest CM was very nice, but the manager (?) at the front dest was being so vocally rude to the other emplyees I was taken aback. I see so few rude people working at WDW, that they stand out, and she certainly did.
Anyway, our location was great, The Springs. We were close to everything which was great. The pool and Community Hall staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room was fine. It was a clean room with typical hotel decorating to me. Our housekeeping made our towels cute, and our kids like that. We had a lovely view of the pond/fountains.
The busing was slow at times, but there are a lot of stops on the grounds. We enjoyed taking the boat to Downtown Disney.
We would be happy to stay here again, and had no complaints about the resort or room, but there wasn't anything that really stood out to make it one of our new favorites.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jbhoward_99
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 15
Review Date: Wed February 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Availability, beautiful decor
Cons: Distance to lobby and Marketplace transportation

We stayed here when my husband was running in the Disney Marathon. We liked the resort as far as the decor and service etc... but we would have had to walk for 10 minutes to get to the lobby/food area. Also, that was the only place to get the water shuttle to Downtown Dis. We opted to walk to Downtown instead and it was an awkward walk (not all paved). It was fairly new at the time, so maybe they've corrected some of these issues. There was a bus stop really close to our building, but we didn't want to wait for 20 minutes for a bus so we just walked. It's a very nice resort, but some of the others are more convenient in their setup as far as being close to the "action".
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
carolina_yankee

Administrator

Registered: February 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25276
Review Date: Sat May 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Close to Downtown Disney, good bus service, relaxed atmosphere
Cons: Main pool is small, some areas are pretty distant from amenities

We stayed in 2105 in Congress Park from May 4 - 9, 2008. This is my first stay since Carousel and Grand Stand have opened. While we had a great experience, I would knock SSR down to 9 (if I can figure out how) form 10 due to the lack of amenities for Carousel (sharing a very small pool with Paddock?) and distance from some building to main parts of resort.


Room quality was still very good - fresh, clean, everything in working order. The foliage has grown up nicely. Our location was literally the best possible for the pool - just outside our patio door, yet still distant enough to be quiet, and still hidden by vegetation.


The CM checking us in did a great job. We were initially assigned to the furthest Grandstand building with our co-travelers (Room Ready). However, we both requested and were switched to Congress Park (call later for room number) - same building and same floor. I can't say when room was ready because we called while waiting for Illuminations. Check-in process was efficient, and a greeter kept us entertained while we waited in line.


We like Artist Pallet, and enjoyed breakfast, lunch, and dinner there. My one complaint is that the dinner special doesn't seem to change (roast chicken) and it is the only difference from the standard menu. Flatbreads were great.


New experience for me is that the the AP cashiers were more efficient (or had more stations open) than before. I never had a long wait to pay for meal. One CM gave me the DDE discount anyway when I discovered I left my card in the room and she remembered me from the previous day.


In sum, SSR continues to offer an experience that lives up to my first stay there two years ago when I fell in love with the place, but I would want to choose locations carefully.

------------------------------
https://photos.smugmug.com/Walt-Disney-World-Vacations/2017-Disney-Cruise-Fantasy-Easte/2017-Sea-Days/i-sMSC4PL/0/2038e744/S/DCL%202017-0708-S.jpg
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit carolina_yankee's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
TrvlPrincess

Grand Villa

Registered: December 2007
Location: NY (Heart at Disney)
Posts: 1215
Review Date: Tue September 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Beautiful, Theming and overall resort experience better than pictured or viewed in Computer, quiet
Cons: Corridors were a little different.

We stayed one night at the SSR Studio. We were very impressed with the resort. I felt the studio was pretty big. We had Downtown Disney lake view, first floor. The resort was beautiful, i did not expect to like it as much as I did. I think I like it so much that I would like to do an Add on. It is very nice spread out, very quiet, I would definetly recommend it.

------------------------------
[FONT="Trebuchet MS"][COLOR="Plum"][FONT="Fixedsys"]TrvlPrincess~:[/FONT][/COLOR]:Princess:[/FONT] My Previous Trips: WDW 1999 WDW 2000 WDW 2001 WDW 2002 DCL 2002 WDW 2004 Disneyland 2004 WDW 2006 WDW 2007 WDW and DCL 2008 Disneyland 2009 WDW 2010 Disneyland 2010 WDW 2011 Disneyland 2011 WDW 2012 Disneyland 2012 WDW 2013 Disneyland 2013
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Ronald Duck

Studio

Registered: May 2008
Location: Oneonta, NY
Posts: 200
Review Date: Sun September 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Serene, relaxing beauty with great color pallette; good food options; cleanliness; excellent Grandstand location
Cons: no "wow" factor in the theming, but still very nice

We stayed five nights (July 10-15) in Studio #8432 in The Grandstand section of SSR. The room was in excellent shape and it was exactly what we hoped for location-wise. We overlooked the Grandstand quiet pool, we were within a few steps of the Grandstand bus stop, and it was a pleasant, fairly short walk over to the lobby, food, and feature pool.


Being from upstate New York, the theming of SSR is certainly not "transporting" for us. However, though subtle in theme, the resort does succeed in evoking a relaxing feeling, due in part to the wonderful color pallette.


We enjoyed the food options, especially compared to the limited options at the other "condo-style" resort, OKW. Artist's Point is just fine as a slightly-upscale food court, and the Turf Club was really superb...and uncrowded...at lunch. The onion rings with the dipping sauces were a to-die-for appetizer...even better than the Beaches and Cream rings!


SSR may not blow you away like some of the magnificently-themed resorts available, but it is an extremely comfortable, homey, and informally elegant place to stay. Thumbs way up!

------------------------------
[SIGPIC]http://www.mouseowners.com/images/SSR1[/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
hlyntunstl

One Bedroom

Registered: July 2008
Location: Hatfield, PA
Posts: 442
Review Date: Fri September 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: "Condo"-like feel of the resort; View of DTD
Cons: Hallway maintenance

I was there August 18 - 25 - 7 nights total. We didn't get to enjoy the view as much due to TS Fay but I've always loved this resort. We stayed in Congress Park on the 4th floor (I don't recall the room number) and had a partially obstructed view of DTD but it was still a great view once the rains stopped. The room was clean and we had everything we were supposed to. One odd feature was that the top drawers in the TV armoire were glued shut which limited our drawer space but it worked out.


Regarding my con, almost every day when we left and returned to our room, there was at least one bag of trash sitting in the hall. Once or twice wouldn't have been a surprise but every day became a game of "guess if the trash bag will still be there". I hope this was just a result of the additional attention due to Fay but it was a distraction.


I would definitely recommend SSR to anyone and will be back for a 1-BR stay in October 2008. It may not be for everyone but I'm glad to say it's my home resort.

------------------------------
http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm10/hlyntunstl/SSR.jpg http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm10/hlyntunstl/BLT.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jjzmgailey

Studio

Registered: July 2008
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 77
Review Date: Wed September 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Absolutely beautiful resort - very well taken care of!
Cons: Couldn't find an internal bus even though we were told there was one!

We stayed in a studio Sept. 10-16, 2008. We were 3 adults & had a completely amazing time!


We stayed on the 4th floor of the yellow Grandstand building. Having the elevators after a very long day of walking was just wonderful. We honestly didn't mind not being close to the main pool or Artist Palette because we were within a 3 minute walk to a fabulous quiet pool with it's own hot tub & we ate most of our meals at the wonderful table or quick service restaurants at the theme parks. The 2 breakfast meals we ate there, however; were great.


We're not much for hanging around our room so even though the room wasn't huge, especially with the pull-out sofa open, it was just great for us. The beds were very comfy & my mom slept on the pull-out sofa & said it was just perfect! The coffee pot, fridge, & micro were just perfect for a fast snack before heading out to the parks! Smile


A couple of times during our stay, we decided to hop on the bus, which was under a 3 minute walk from our room, & take it to the main pool area. Several of the CM's told us that there was an internal bus that we could hop on to get back to our room but we never did see one our entire stay. We just ended up hitching a ride with a bellhop on one of those great little golf carts!


Since we are not DVC owners yet, we took advantage of the bounce-back offer for next year & booked it for another resort since we can't book SS yet. We will be a party of 8 & as soon as we are able, we will change the reservation to a 2 BDR Villa @ SS.


Absolutely cannot wait to return to that wonderfully beautiful resort!

------------------------------
NDM #30 :msmouse: & Dad :mrmouse: DS 14 :wizard: & DD 9 :Princess: Jackie's Magical Moments | Follow me on Twitter | Friend me on Facebook http://www.myvacationcountdown.com/tickers/2ppqux40w4yoneay.png http://i304.photobucket.com/albums/nn191/jjzmgailey/SSRBanner.jpg Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa March 2011 (DisneySMMoms) [COLOR="RoyalBlue"]Disney's Polynesian Resort Feb 2010 (DisneySMMoms)[/COLOR] Disney's Saratoga Springs Treehouse Villas Sept 2009 [COLOR="Red"]Disneyland Resort Area Feb 2009[/COLOR] Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa Sept 2008 Disney's Old Key West Resort April 2008 [COLOR="red"]Disneyland Resort Area Nov 2007[/COLOR] [COLOR="Red"]Disneyland Hotel December 2006[/COLOR] [COLOR="Red"]Disneyland Hotel April 2004[/COLOR]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit jjzmgailey's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 PM.

MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.