home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Animal Kingdom Villas (AKV) « Previous Product  · Next Product »
AKV1BR1.jpg
<<
AKV1BR.jpg
<
AKVstudio3.jpg
·
AKVstudio2.jpg
>
AKVstudio1.jpg
>>
AKVstudio.jpg

Studio Villa, Savanna View
Reviews Views Date of last review
28 278932 Tue August 28, 2018
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
96% of reviewers 8.6
AKVstudio2.jpg
supersize


Description: Animal Kingdom Villas Studio Villa, Savanna View
Accomodation Size: Studio
View (Value, Standard, Savanna, Concierge): Savanna


Author
Post A Reply 
Eeyore Tattoo

Studio

Registered: April 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 140
Review Date: Thu October 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent views, Love the decor
Cons: Studio side of 2 bdrm. bathroom is very tiny..

We had a 2 bedroom lock off, 5507 & 5509
Loved the 3 balconys & cute decor. The bathroom in the studio (the part with the tub & toilet is so small you can hardly shut the door when you get in. The jetted tub in the master is nice, but a huge step over the side to get in to shower.

------------------------------
http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i110/whippetsrus/Facebook/Profile%20Pictures/887409_10151471682964510_600985587_o.jpg http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i110/whippetsrus/SSR1RL.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
hhhmickey

Grand Villa

Registered: June 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1459
Review Date: Tue December 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Theming, View and Decor
Cons: Somewhat isolated; long walk to room from resort entry

My kids loved the SV room at Animal Kingdom Villas! We saw lots of animals from our balcony...zebras, giraffes, many kinds of birds and lots more.


While the dark decor is not anything I would want in my home, it was great in this resort. The theming was excellent. There were lots of activities for kids, and lots of neat areas to just wander and explore.


I would recommend this resort for a trip where the focus is on the resort, and the activities offered there, as opposed to a trip where parks are the primary objective. The resort is somewhat isolated from other areas of WDW, but there is lots to do and see.

------------------------------
Chris [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] http://i653.photobucket.com/albums/uu255/hinesfamily/200px-Disney_Vacation_Club_logo1.png MOD 77:)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Nicoal13

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: July 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 18
Review Date: Tue February 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Animals!
Cons: Only bus transportation

Stayed in studio 7214. Had a great view of the Sunset Savannah. Saw giraffes and zebras a lot.


This was a girls only trip. 4 adults in one room. We were a bit cramped but didn't spend a lot of time in the room, so it wasn't a big deal. We were able to unpack all our luggage and store the luggage and couch cushions under the bed and next to the wardrobe. The shelves on the sink vanity provided enough storage for all the toiletries we brought along as well.


The sofa bed was comfortable enough after we received 2 egg foam crates and some extra blankets for it. It did not have a bar in the middle, but the mattress was a bit thin and hard.


Overall, great resort! We waited for buses a bit, but that was just our bad luck of arriving at the bus stop right after our bus pulled away.


Room was a short walk to bus stop and also to lobby. A little loud in the mornings when everyone would walk down the hall but otherwise great.


Would stay here again.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
lisammack99

Studio

Registered: December 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 127
Review Date: Thu December 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Calm, quiet, and relaxing atmosphere; excellent parking
Cons: No easy access to quick serve, storage space

Loved Kidani for the slow, relaxing pace; lovely lobby; fun pool; animals great to see.


DH doesn't think it's worth the additional points for SV. I enjoyed the balcony often.


Parking is excellent and right underneath our room.


Would like a quick serve option at Kidani and not have to go to AKL for Mara.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
cgcowner

Two Bedroom

Registered: July 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 946
Review Date: Wed December 22, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: dedicated bus service, animals/views, very friendly
Cons: only one TS restaurant, small lobby & store

I came to the resort expecting not to like it. Everyone raves about Jambo House instead of Kidani, and I'm not a fan of dark wood and colors. However, I absolutely loved the Kidani resort and would be very happy to go back there.


We stayed in 7755. It just qualifies as a savannah view (although the view is almost entirely service road). Every morning though, we had the heard of Nayla right below us, and some Tommys. Once afternoon we even had an ostrich go through and make a bunch of noise. Sure, the room could probably use a new coat of paint (there were a few dark marks in places), but the bathroom was nice sized and when the sofa was folded up there was plenty of space. Only downside of the room is lack of closet space (one small thin closet, and one wardrobe that was half taken up by the vacuum.


The bellman (Antonio) told us that it is exactly 1/4 mile from the elevator to the end of the hallway (on either side of the building). Good way to get your exercise! Overall, the kids loved all the animals, I liked the theming a lot more than I expected, the Community Hall was wonderful with small children, and the dedicated bus service (all buses stop at Kidani first, expcept for Downtown Disney, and the MK bus seemed to be there every 10 minutes - the drive times were not bad, again with the exception of DD) were all wonderful. My only fault is the one restaraunt that is only open to evening TS meals. However, this was easily fixed by the 5-8 minute walk to Jambo.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
zebsterama

One Bedroom

Registered: March 2011
Location: Canada - Mickey of the North!
Posts: 301
Review Date: Wed March 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: The room was nice - great to see the animals
Cons: Nothing really bad that stood out, maybe a little dark, but I liked the moodiness of it

I would say that the room did meet expectations. To be honest I thought that the Savannah view was a little overrated. I would certainly stay in such a room again, at Jambo house, but a pool or even standard view will do my family just fine next time .... unless I'm told otherwise (which happens from time to time) ... HAHA!

------------------------------
http://distickers.com/ticker/tickers/33v160w73wy20uue.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
floridaperson
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: July 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 10
Review Date: Mon April 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Animals, restaurants, underground parking
Cons: Transportation

Room 7777 was on the 3rd floor far, far, away from lobby BUT again, we do not have children so it didn't matter. It was very quiet but no giraffes or zebras. We did see red river hogs which we hadn't seen before, gazelles and ankole cattle (1). Dinner at Sanaa was wonderful as was our service. Try The Pepper Pot wine. It cuts down the spiciness of the meal.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
cindy74
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sun May 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: animals, friendly, the food , the realxing feeling in the resort
Cons: none

We love the jambo house so much the lobby amazing , the rooms even a studio is much bigger that most resorts in europe we had a studio nr 5526. We love the view at the animals and no you dont get use to it and the ones who do ..... people pay money to go on a safari to see those animals . The pool is great love the one at kidani for kids . It was the first time we rented points but we loved it . The resort is very relaxing we sit every evening at the fire in oure rocking chairs . One word for this vacation MAGIC .
And about the busses we drove all week by car to the parcs .
The long walks to the lobby we had a room close by the pool and the lobby .
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Kevmueller

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2011
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 53
Review Date: Tue December 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful resort, animals outside, parking
Cons: Bed made sounds every time you moved (I had to come up with something right?)

Just got back from a trip from Nov 27 to Dec 4. The Jambo house is beautiful and looks great for Christmas. We were in room 5320 with a savanna view. Every time we looked out the door there were animals right there and many time were different. Compared to other deluxe resorts the parking is close and easy to get to. One morning there was some animal going crazy around 4:00 that woke us up, but I guess that is expected when you are staying with a zoo out your window. The worst thing (which is not that bad) was the bed creaked every time we moved in it. We had myself, wife, son 17 and daughter 3, we had an inflatable bed with us that we used as well. After the second night I slept in the bed, wife slept with daughter on the pull out bed and son slept on the inflatable. There was plenty of room. Daughter also did the drum parade one night in the lobby and loved it. Cast members were wonderful.

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
invt24
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: February 2011
Posts: 1
Review Date: Fri January 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Beautiful resort -- animals out your window
Cons: We could hear EVERY sound our neighbors made

We just returned from our annual Christmas trip.
We stayed in 5429 Jambo house.
Although the resort is gorgeous we did have some complaints.
The trash was not emptied when we checked in.
We also had to call to get a vacuum.
I hate that you have to go outside to get to the Mara.
The rooms are not well insulated. We could hear EVERY sound our neighbors made no matter the time.
The pool was great and my son loved the pool parties.


I am not sure I would stay here again. When trying to sleep I don't want to hear kids screaming or banging on my door.


Management was not really responsive when we complained.


We had no problems with the buses. They ran regularly and we never had to wait more that 10 min.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dvf_diva

Grand Villa

Registered: July 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 1502
Review Date: Tue March 31, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: animals all around, space
Cons: threadbare carpets

Did a 12-night stay in March 2015, split between a room at the Disney Swan and a Savanna view studio at AKL-Jambo (Rm 5208 facing Sunset Savanna). Full review will be in my TR, but I have to say that the DVC unit won hands down. In addition to being a larger room, the ability to open the sliding door and get fresh air is highly underestimated! To top it off, the Savanna view made it even nice to have our door opened (btw, good child-proofing mechanism on that door). The balcony was a bit more living space added to our room, as was the entry foyer/bathroom/kitchenette layout. The little area by the safe, where the door to the connecting lock-off 1BR is, made a perfect alcove for our rather large rented City GT stroller. Stroller wasn't too much in the way and allowed us to get into/out of our room rather easily without touching it.
We had a nice sized dorm fridge (the rectangular kind, not the square); large coffee maker, toaster and microwave (a godsend!); and double sinks at the vanity outside the bathroom.
I also very much loved the ventilated bathroom and clothesline above the tub (which our hotel did not have). You need to dry those swimsuits somewhere!
I also found housekeeping here to be much more responsive than at both the Swan, BWV and BLT. Given how large AKL is, I was impressed. BLT and BWV housekeeping take FOREVER to respond. Only VGF was (almost) as quick in response.


Granted, a rack rate studio at AKL costs about 3x a rack rate room at the Swan, but at 19 pts a night, you can rent a room for a comparable per night price!


The only things it did worse than the Swan:
*comfort of bed and sofabed (Westin is known for their Heavenly Beds, after all)
*the Swan also had two sinks, but while one was outside the bathroom, the second was inside the bathroom, making it a lot quieter to wash up after you've put the little ones to bed.
*We had a renovated room at the Swan. While the hallways at AKL are in WAY WAY better condition than the Swan (whose carpets look like they were put down 45 years ago), the carpets INSIDE the rooms at AKL are so worn down that our floor was actually slippery. We all slipped and almost fell about a dozen times. Each.
*We had a really long walk to our room at AKL. But not as long as our Boardwalk stay where we literally had the next to last room from the lobby, in keeping with my "close to lobby" room request. LOL
But truthfully, if you take the time to peek out all those windows you walk by and catch glimpses of the animals outside, the walk goes by a lot more quickly. While we lost quite a bit of time trekking to/from room, we were not in a rush on this trip, so I didn't mind it.


Overall, I thought I would miss the convenience and variety that is within walking distance of the Swan (two theme parks, four pools, BWV, BCV, the Boardwalk itself), but AKL was such a lovely and different experience that it felt like a real vacation. We usually cook at WDW since we usually book a 1BR or 2BR unit; however, the Mara met all our breakfast needs (I didn't get bored after breakfasts there three days in a row) and we had enough dinner options between the Jiko lounge (bar area) and Victoria Falls (we didn't fee like a drawn out dinner with our 4-year old). The pool was perfectly sized. The lifeguards and free vests are always appreciated.
Plus, Kidani is such a short walk (we even caught the complimentary shuttle one day!) and my son loves the Community Hall, so conveniently located across the hall from the Arcade, which is next to the laundry. I almost didn't miss having the W&D in our unit (yes, we are used to staying in 1BR villas); laundry day was fun for all of us. The staff at this Community Hall was as nice as at any of the Comm Halls we usually frequent (and we LOVELOVELOVE our CH at BWV and BLT), so much so that my son has specifically requested to come back to this resort on a future trip. Two thumbs up for Torri and her team mates!


Next time, I think I will choose Kidani because it is the first stop on all the WDW transportation buses. And I will go for the 1BR or 2BR just to I can cook a little, enjoy my balcony a bit more (the animals were always most active around dinner time, when I myself was running around wrassling up food for my family). Oh, and that extra bathroom, of course. Smile

------------------------------
http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1558594800.jpg May 2019 BCV/VGF June 2019 BWV/GF/VGF Aug 2019 Celebrity Eclipse to Alaska Oct 2019 Disney Magic DVC Member Cruise -- waitlist Nov 2019 BLT Jan 2020 AKL June 2020 BLT/Disney Fantasy Southern Caribbean
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Tarzan
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: June 2015
Posts: 1
Review Date: Thu October 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing Views, The Decor, The amount of animals we saw
Cons: being above the trees blocked our view some, having to check out

We stayed at Kidani Village on the sunset savannah which looked much better than Jambo house when we rode over to eat one night. The way the resort wraps around the savannah just makes you feel like you are in a complete different world. I booked this for my Fiancé's Birthday because she loves the safari ride at animal so much. Im not sure that this is normal as it only happened the day of her birthday but it was like the animals knew that it was her birthday. We woke up that morning and I ordered us both room service for breakfast which was also very good but right after we sat down to eat I think every animal came right in front of our balcony. at one point we had 4 different types of animals at better than 20 of them all together. The next day we didn't see as much activity but I felt like we more than got our moneys worth just that morning. This is by far the coolest place I have ever been and we do a lot of traveling
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
lisafahisa
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: August 2009
Posts: 2
Review Date: Tue August 28, 2018 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Cool to see animals when they were out
Cons: Lack of eateries/loud hallways

Everyone has to try AKL once. I am done after last weekend. I am sure the resort would appeal to families. My husband and I went without the kids and stayed in room 7628 which was close to the lobby/close to the parking area/and close to the pool. Great area to stay in without long walks. My kids would have loved it. However, they need to give guests more choices for eating and shopping without the long ride to Jambo. We had a good time at the pool, it was a little crowded as Jambo's pool is under renovation. It was nice, but not my favorite resort. Room was on the small side compared to OKW and BWV but worked for us. I prefer to have more to do at a resort than was presented at KV.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21 PM.

© MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images © The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by Forum Software