home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Saratoga Springs Resort and Spa (SSR) « Previous Product  · Next Product »
SSRGV.jpg
·
SSR2BR.jpg
>
SSR1BRPlan.png
>>
SSRStudio.png

Two Bedroom Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
33 154590 Tue August 14, 2018
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
91% of reviewers 8.2
SSR2BR.jpg
supersize


Description: Saratoga Springs Resort and Spa Two Bedroom Vacation Home
Accomodation Size: Two Bedroom


Author
Post A Reply 
mkhurley

Two Bedroom

Registered: April 2007
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 685
Review Date: Thu January 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Newer furnishings and appliances
Cons: Location, location, location

While we liked the 2BR at SSR we will likely not stay there again unless forced to (being our home resort). To get anywhere within the resort or on Disney property requires a personal vehicle, or time absorbant wait for buses.

------------------------------
http://www.mickeypath.com/id/11-30-2015_4+Nights+on+The+Disney+Dream_0-0-0_0.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DarthGoofy

Two Bedroom

Registered: October 2005
Location: Texas...Soon To Be Scotland
Posts: 808
Review Date: Thu January 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Almost Everything
Cons: CMs at Artist Palette

This was our first stay of more than one day at SSR. We stayed in the new Grandstand section in the very back building. We had a car so getting around the resort was not a problem. However, I can see how people would get frustrated without a car. The room was great and in great shape.


The only negative we experienced was the CMs at Artist Palette. Everyone we dealt with was on the rude side except for one. Not a huge deal, but it was something that could have been better.


Overall we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

------------------------------
Mike "Resolution One: I will live for God. Resolution Two: If no one else does, I still will."-Jonathan Edwards http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10300;412/st/20080602/e/Our+First+Scotland+Trip%21/dt/-1/k/9f9d/event.png http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;36;100/st/20081109/e/Our+First+Trip+Home+%40+AKV/dt/-1/k/a45a/event.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
RodNShirle

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2008
Location: Mizzou-rah
Posts: 13
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Close to Downtown Disney and good restaurant on site
Cons: Did not care for the room set-up - too cramped!

We stayed in June 2007. We had 6 adults and 2 toddlers. Plenty of room in the bedrooms, but the living area was very cramped. Not set up well for in-room dining at all! Nice pools. Turf Club had good food, and went above and beyond to insure that the member of our party with special dietary needs was able to enjoy a great meal. Artist's Palette had a varied selection of counter service options. It was nice being so close to Downtown Disney - walked there and took the boat back. Also, got really wet feet going to the elevator
AFTER a rainstorm because the water did not drain from the upper level corridors. This would not be my first choice when staying at WDW.

------------------------------
RodNShirle
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Dreams-come-true

Studio

Registered: February 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 145
Review Date: Thu February 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Close to Downtown Disney and very Adult Friendly at Night
Cons: It is Huge....

We loved it! we had a two bedroom with a extra studio for me younger brother and his friend. My parents sthared the two bedroom with us. We also had our toddler with us. We were on the bottom floor which made it easy to in a out. Right next to the pool. Can see downtown from our room. The little shop was good and they have a daily pin trading there. That was fun. The golf course was close for up keep reasons but no big deal. the main pool was awesome.


The only thing was that it was so huge. I mean there are like 6-7 bus stops just in the resort alone. I mean i would rather have it that hway then to be on top of each other but it does take some time to get around. Just take you time. You're on vacation so take your time. Would love to stay there again. It is our home resort as well.

------------------------------
Dreams do come true! * [COLOR="SeaGreen"]MOD 68[/COLOR]*
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
OpenH2ODiver

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 2
Review Date: Mon February 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Congress Park is a great location relating to DTD
Cons: Some rooms are a bit far from AP but not bad for a nice evening walk

On 01-27-08, We stayed at SSR for 6 days and really loved it!! It was our 1st trip as DVC members as well as 1st time saying on property at a Disney resort. We had 7 people in total in our party and everyone loved it and commented to us on how nice the building, location, room was!!! We all loved having a full kitchen and laundry.


We only had a couple of issues with our accommodations and the maintenance as well as maid staff took care of the issues within an hour of reporting it. We were very happy with their response.


We were staying in the Congress Park area on the 4th floor over looking PI, room 1835. It was so quiet after a day in the parks. We also had a bus stop just across from our building so it made it easy to get around. We didn't have a car so we relied on Disney transportation for everything, including ME for our trip to and from the airport.


I'm so glad we bought into SSR as it's a perfect resort to get way from all the Disney stuff while still being close enough to enjoy it all!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
eaglerock
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 8
Review Date: Sat February 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: 2 bdrm - nice accomadations
Cons: Complex too large, Buildings too far from main pool and store, long wait for buses

Our 2 bdrm unit was great. Our building was near the entrance. Almost a 10 minute walk to get to the main building with store, food, and the main pool. Counter service area too small to service people during rush times.


Long wait for the buses. Buses full by last stop and those poor folks could not get on the bus.


I would only stay here as a last resort
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
lulu42
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 2
Review Date: Fri February 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: new resort, very clean, nice golf course and spa
Cons: too big, need vehicle

The resort was just ok to us. Although it's newer and very clean I don't think I would stay there again. It's great if you are a golfer as the course is beutiful. We felt we were in the middle of nowhere. I think there are 5 bus stops within the resort itself. If you do stay there I would reccomend a vechicle to get around. We stayed in the Congress Park section. We were able to walk to Downtown Disney which was nice as the buses were not running that good while we were there (I beleive they just installed a new bus system at the time, sure it's better by now). It was about an 8 minute walk to the main pool from our building which we did often as the kids liked that pool the best. The main living area didn't seem that large to us. It was a good size, just a bit smaller than other resorts. The second bedroom had 2 queen size beds and was very roomy, larger than the master bedroom. The bathrooms were the same size as the other resorts. The room decor was nice. It was very quiet around the resort unless you were at the pool. It was almost boring... and as I said earlier we felt like we were in the middle of nowhere....
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
tomandrobin

DVC Board Guide

Registered: August 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 30830
Review Date: Wed March 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Openess, Landscaping, Decor or rooms, New, Amenties
Cons: Layout of Artist Pattet/Gift shop

I have been a SSR owner for about two years. We always stay in a dedicated two bedroom, which is perfect for our family of 5.


The layout of the room works fairly well for us. Having two seperate bath rooms is great. We only have two negative comments about the rooms, both minor. First, one too many doors on the master bath room. Second, the dining table is a bit small for a room that is suppose to hold 8. However, we don't cook on vacation, so its not a problem for us.


The resort it self is beautiful! The landscaping and water features are really nice. The resort has the most complete amanities offerred of any of the current DVC resorts. Great arcade and community hall.


On our past stays, transportation has been terrific. Not many complaints from us. The buses tend to run more consistent then any of the other resorts we have stayed. Getting to DTD is a quick walk, boat or bus ride.

------------------------------
:mrmouse: Love, Faith and Pixie dust! :mrmouse:
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit tomandrobin's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
gblast123

Banned

Registered: April 2006
Location: USA - The best place to Live
Posts: 2037
Review Date: Fri April 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great bus service, new resort
Cons: Not walking distance to Epcot or HS

For access to Magic Kingdom, this is second only to VWL.


The bus service is great. Much better than BWV or BCV.


Something that people tend to forget is that if you don't have a car, going to Magic Kingdom from BWV or BCV is either a LOOOONG hike from the back of Epcot to the Monorail or waiting for the bus.


Bus service at BCV and BWV is....well less than desirable, to say the least.


Saratoga has the most rational layout with the Pool, which is awesome, Clubhouse, Sit down restaurant, and boat yard all in one location. The counter service is adequate...no better or worse than any other resort....and unlike BCV or BWV...it is available without paying a buffet fee.


Not the fanciest place but it does what a vacation room is supposed to do in a very effective and efficient manner.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Rumblebuffin

Two Bedroom

Registered: January 2008
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 629
Review Date: Thu April 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Congress Park w/in walking distance of DTD
Cons: MK bus pretty full by final stop at main building/Unsupervised kids at leisure pool

This is our fourth SSR stay. We live in the country so really enjoy the seclusion and open space layout of the resort. In Congress Park both the main pool and DTD are within easy walking distance. That's why we will always request a Congress Park location.


Our two BR was perfect. We always request a dedicated two BR. We also had a studio right across the hall to add additional space for my wife's brother and his family. There were 8 of us altogether, so we did a great deal of cooking in the villa - a change for DW and I. It worked out beautifully!!! We had a car (and so avoided the ungodly bus ride to BW, Dolphin, etc. from DTD) and patronized a Publix less than 5 minutes away.


We had great fun!!

------------------------------
http://i613.photobucket.com/albums/tt217/saratoga-rob/SSR.jpg Port Orleans - 1985 Dixie Landings - 1990 Wilderness Lodge - 1992 Animal Kingdom Lodge - 1994 OKW - 2004 SSR - 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 Coronado Springs - 2005 VWL - 2009 OKW - 2009 VWL - 2011 SSR - 2012 :burn:
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
PBB

Banned

Registered: April 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 368
Review Date: Mon June 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: New resort, Rooms were nice
Cons: Theme was boring, Bus Service Still a Challenge

We stayed in a dedicated 2 bedroom in the Paddock area and we were closest to the Congress Park bus stop. Our trip was May 25th thru the 30th of 2008.


Check in was a breeze. No "Welcome Home" until I was walking away and the manager had to yell it at the last second when we were near the door.


The overall theming was a letdown. I did not feel in NY. While other resorts give you the impressions that your at the destination they are theming this one doesn't. They would have been better with a Bahama's or another florida type resort. I guess I am being silly.....but you go to Florida why would you want to feel in NY.


The size of SS is quite large. However, we did not feel crowded with buildings on top of each other. We were on the 3rd floor and had a water view of a small pond.


A few negative things when we walked into the room. I found two empty water bottles on the balcony so mousekeeping did not look out there. There was no CAT 5 cable for the laptop. Of course there was a postcard threatening to charge us $ 10 if we kept it but none was supplied. The carpet was torn in the master bedroom nearest the tub area. Little things.....but mousekeeping could have done better.


If you stay in the 2 bedroom master bedroom the doors will drive you crazy. I understand the layout and the purposes, however, 5 doors in the bathroom and entrance area can drive you crazy. This seems silly but everytime you walk in the bathroom and shower area there are 2 fans that are on a movement switch. They keep coming on everytime you walk in like you smell or something....LOL


The kitchen was very compact and laid out well. We did not like the sitdown situation. We had 5 with us and found it difficult for us to sit down and eat together. There is no way 8 can sit down together ( I know just like other resorts)


Overall the room was nice and enjoyable.


The location of Paddock was just fine. We were at the end near the Congress Park bus stop and quiet pool was not too far.


I was hoping the bus situation would have been better since it has been a sore spot in the post. It really wasn't that good. We waited for a bus to AK and another for Epcot over 35 minutes. I find that just to long of a wait. I did find out that the buses aren't dedicated to just one resort to run back and forth between the resort and one park.


We stayed here when it was the Fairway Villas and liked the quietness just fine. I had the same impression with SS. Would we stay there again? Yes Would it be my number 1 choice? I doubt it. There are too many great DVC properties to choose from for this to be my first choice. I think this property was placed here to replace the Disney Institute and it feels forced in its' design.

------------------------------
Patrick [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Kynna
One Bedroom

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 268
Review Date: Thu July 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Bright, Cheery, Lovely View.
Cons: Living Room area was small & Bus to MK always took too long.

We were fortunate enough to stays at the Springs which was so convenient to all of the amenities. The staff there were wonderful and really made our stay pleasent. We all really enjoyed the resort amenities (pool, bingo, arts & crafts, parade, ect.) and can't wait to have a trip with less days in the parks so we can enjoy them more.



We had 6 people staying in our room and only felt crowded when we were all in the Kitchen/Living room area. The floorplan made it easy to find privacy when needed. We like to bring family with us and will be using the 2 br here again.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Baltosam

Grand Villa

Registered: August 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1390
Review Date: Sat July 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quiet, Huge, No bus sharing, Clean and New
Cons: Can't go enough :)

For our family the two bed room is a wonderful fit. SSR is our home resort and we really like staying there. Ilike how the SSR does not share a bus with another resort. Contarary to some of the other posters here we have never really had a long wait for a bus. On average I would say our bus waits are no more then 10 minutes. However you will sometimes see a longer wait at some point if you stay at any resort in WDW and use the busses for a week.


We have never had a mouse keeping issue at SSR. If you intend on eating meals in the two bedroom you will find the table to be too small. We only snack in the room so it has not been an issue for us. I would think the only 2 BR DVC resort with an adequate dining table is OKW but even there you would not be able to come close to seating for 8 at one time.

------------------------------
-Sam Calling SSR Home since 2006 MOD 40 Founding member of the NERD (Never Ever Ridden Dumbo) Club.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
droolingelmo
Banned

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 44
Review Date: Mon August 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Views, pools, walk to Downtown
Cons: Bus Service

We stayed in unit 2135 in Congress Park. I will always request Congress Park if we stay at SSR again. This unit was 200 feet from the bus, 200 feet from the quiet pool and from the patio had great views of Downtown Disney. The walk to DTD was 10 minutes and the main pool was 5 minutes.


The unit was showing a little wear, but the unit overall was in great condition. Eating area only for 4 people, which is silly for an "8 person" unit. Unit was well soundproofed. There were cobwebs all along the ceiling but if you get this unit don't worry, I cleaned 'em all up.


It isn't very Disney. It was like any other nice condo building in Orlando. Nothing special like AKV Savannah views but still a wonderful stay.


One last super comment about SSR. Although this was a one time event I must commend the SSR lifeguards at the main pool and the bartender at the At the Rocks Pool Bar. A small boy, who could not swim, decided to go down the small slide in his clothes. His parents were at the bar, not even looking towards their 3 year old. It turned ugly quick and I saw the boy go under and not come back up at all. Before I could even yell out, the lifeguard was in the pool, had covered 15 feet of pool and had him up. The bartender, who was a Slovakian Med student was by his side faster than the parents. Needless to say all had a happy ending.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
minniekissedme

Add-on Aficionado

Registered: May 2008
Location: In my car with three kids.
Posts: 6709
Review Date: Wed September 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful grounds, relaxing atmosphere, spa, pools, restaurants, service
Cons: overpriced spa, size of the resort

We (family of five plus mom and dad) just returned from a four night stay in a 2BR villa at Saratoga Springs Resort. From the moment we arrived we were treated great. Check-in was a breeze...we were fortunate that our room was ready at 11AM. We were put in our requested Springs location because of a desire to be close to the main area for dining and transportation. My mother used a scooter to help her with the long days in and out of the parks and the Springs proved to be ideal.


Our villa was great...4427 overlooking the lake and fountain. More than enough space for the seven of us. Bathrooms were spacious, granite counters, plenty of water pressure and the mouseketeers really enjoyed the spa tub. I personally appreciated the shower being larger than most regular shower stalls.


The kitchen was as advertised and while we didn't cook we did fill up the refrigerator with all of the water we brought on the trip. It was also nice to eat from plates rather than plastic when we did bring food back from Artist Palette.


We did use the washer and dryer...big bonus for a quick clean up of clothes, towels, whatever!


Only minor negative and it really was not a concern...the carpet was well worn. I also agree with others that noted above...all the doors in the master bath are a bit much. And the dining table is not conducive to seven for eating in. There is room around the counters and what made it work for us was the fact that it was usually a quick bite for breakfast and not everyone was ready at the same time. I'm on vacation so I don't expect to be dining in my room either.


The Hot Springs Pool was a short walk away...it was very busy during the day but we managed to find at least a chair or two during our visits. The slide is great. The water could be a bit cooler for a more refreshing dip but I'm sure it's hard to keep cool when it's 90 every day.


We enjoyed breakfast and lunch at AP. Plenty of variety to choose from and the meals are large enough to share which we do. We had a delicious dinner at Turf Club as well. It was quite chilly in the restaurant so we dined outside which was very comfortable. The service in both was good.


I have noted pro and con for the spa. Pro is purely the fact that it's there. Con is $50 for a manicure!


I had seen many a scary thread about poor bus transportation but we did not experience anything but timely and efficient service. The drivers were great in getting the scooter aboard and allowing our party to board first. The buses were very rarely full and in fact I can only recall one or two times that people had to stand and we used the buses exclusively. The Springs is the last stop in SSR for park transportation and we never had a problem getting aboard any bus. It is however the last stop in SSR returning from the parks. That was not an issue for us but it does take several minutes to get thru SSR to the Springs.


We did not take the time to explore the entire resort but it is beautiful. I look forward to another trip to SSR to enjoy more of the resort. Feel free to PM me if I can help answer any questions!

------------------------------
:goofy:Are you MOD? aka MouseOwnersDad?? Click here to join! :woohoodanMKM Maulers 2012-13 Champion of the MODly Men of the World Fantasy Football League:woohoodan
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit minniekissedme's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:26 PM.

MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by Forum Software