home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Saratoga Springs Resort and Spa (SSR) « Previous Product  · Next Product »
SSRGV.jpg
·
SSR2BR.jpg
>
SSR1BRPlan.png
>>
SSRStudio.png

Two Bedroom Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
33 188234 Tue August 14, 2018
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
91% of reviewers 8.2
SSR2BR.jpg
supersize


Description: Saratoga Springs Resort and Spa Two Bedroom Vacation Home
Accomodation Size: Two Bedroom


Author
Post A Reply 
shamrock6

Studio

Registered: March 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 146
Review Date: Thu September 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great pool, great location, extra activities
Cons: none really

We stayed in a 2BR August 13-20 in the Springs area. This was the first time as DVC members. Our room was right next to the bus stop and near the pool, restaurants and community room. It was a great location.


The kids used the community room for extra activities and crafts as we were there during the rain from Fay. They loved the ping pong games.


We didn't try the spa but walked through and it was very nice. DH and I are heading back in January for a three night stay and hope to try it then.


Artist Pallete was very good. A great variety of food at reasonable prices. Good variety for both breakfast and lunch.


We had dinner one night at the Turf Club and it was just okay for us. I wasn't that impressed with it. We most likely would not go back there to eat. My DS did take advantage of the pool table in the sitting area of the club almost every day. That was a nice area to sit and relax and have a cocktail in.


It was a nice location to DD. We took the ferry over a couple times. The walk isn't bad either.


The buses were all running smoothly. We never had any real long waits for any and the bus stop was right near our room. The pool was great. There is a great little kids area for running and splashing in for the little ones.


The room was very nice with no real complaints. The eating area was small for eight but we never ate dinner in the room, only quick breakfasts foods and snacks. I think it would hard to sit and eat dinner. Overall I thought the room was plenty big for us. The room was very clean with no housekeeping issues. The balcony view overlooked the water. The CM's were all very nice at the resort.


Overall, we were very happy with the resort. It is not our home resort, but I would have no problem with staying there again. Our children, DD12, DS11, DD9, DS7 also liked it very much.


It is a very big resort, but we seemed to be in a great location.

------------------------------
http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/7;10732;460/st/20090624/e/family+vacation/k/c8c6/s-event.png [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dseabury

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: September 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sun September 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Overall villa is spacious. It really feels like home.
Cons: Dining area in the villas are too small.

The first time we stayed at SSR, we stayed in a one bedroom. DH & I had the master bedroom and our 2 DD's slept on the pull out sofa. It was fine for them, but they could see the entrance door from the sofa and got scared, so this year we decided to book a 2BR and it was much better. I love the overall villa size and spaciousness, but the dining area is too small to have a family dinner, although, we very rarely eat dinner in-room. We usually only eat breakfast in-room. Also, the sinks are too high for children and there aren't any stools for them. The whole resort is massive, so we requested Congress Park at check-in and were accomodated, cheerfully! I've never had a problem yet with the front desk. I don't have an issue about driving around like some people. We find it easier. Personally, I've never been a fan of the bus system, so I'd rather rent a car. The Turf Club was great and we ate there twice, but we didn't care for The Artist Palette. We found their menu to be just OK. Alot of panninis and pizzas, and not enough actual dinners. We actually drove to PO Riverside for dinner one night. We found their food court to have more choices for our children and even for us. DH & I had a nice roast beef dinner. The main pool is really fun, but at times it looks dirty. I think it's hard for them to keep up the chlorination with so many people in it. Our family preferred the pool at Congess Park. It was crystal clear and not as busy. Overall a very nice resort with just a few quirks here and there.

------------------------------
Seabreeze:mickeybar
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
spindoctors
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 49
Review Date: Fri October 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great size for our family of five
Cons: Everything is too spread out, pull-out bed is hard to make

Our family of five stayed in room 3435 for our first-ever stay in a DVC resort. We were given a great room location in the Springs. The view wasn't really hot, but that was not important to us. The room was in a convenient and quiet location. Our stay was from Sept. 22 Ė 27.


We loved the size of the villa! I have two teenage sons and a daughter who is a tween. They are very crabby about sharing beds so the layout was great for us. The boys shared the second bedroom and our daughter slept on the pull-out. The pull-out was a little strange for us since I had never seen a pull-out bed where the mattress is velcroed on the bottom. This made it a little hard to make up. Also, our daughter said the bed was a little on the hard side.


The beds were very comfortable and roomy. The bathrooms were much larger than we expected. The double sinks in the second bedroom have a huge vanity area. The master bath was nice but a little awkward with so many doors. We were glad that the living room had access to the bath without going through the bedroom. The shelves in the shower were quite handy. The only thing we found lacking about the master bath was the need for more towel bars.


The kitchen was a nice size and well equipped. I did phone housekeeping and request a tea kettle. We were a little surprised that the refrigerator did not have an ice maker.


We had our own car so we did not use Disney transportation other than to ride the boat from DTD to SSR one afternoon. It was a pleasant ride; however, we waited a while on the dock before we were underway. Since this was our first stay at SSR, I had a hard time finding things from our building. Iím sure I would get used to it if we stayed there regularly, but it was hard to find the restaurant in the rain when we didnít know where we were going.


Having not stayed at a DVC property before, I was a little worried about the lack of daily housekeeping. Surprisingly, I enjoyed being able to leave the room every morning without worrying about getting stuff out of their way.


We ate at the Turf Club one night for dinner and found the food to be fine Ė not bad but nothing special either. We did feel that the prices were more reasonable than other Disney restaurants.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
5crazymice
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 3
Review Date: Wed January 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Spacious room. Beautiful view.
Cons: Store & Artist's Palette close at 11 p.m.

Our family had been here for our 2nd this past week (11/4-11/8/09) and had a GREAT stay! The 2 Bedroom Villas are beautiful and so are the views. We request to stay in the Springs section of the resort so we have easy access to the main pool, restaurants and transportation. The cast members couldn't be more accomodating. Animal Kingdom is our homebase but we haven't stayed there yet....Saratoga is so great!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
nessamo

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: December 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 66
Review Date: Mon February 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: The entire resort!!LOVED IT!!
Cons: cramped living area,too many doors in master bath,shower area,

What a marvelous trip!! First time to SSR and I was hesitant due to reading so many bad reviews!! We just loved every minute here!! We were able to access our room at 1030 in the morning at check in, I was shocked!! Loved The Paddock and our rm location, perfect walking distance to everything. Buses were great, no problems for us!! Turf Club was amazing!!!

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]:dust Vanessa OKW 1994 OKW1995 OKW1996 OKW1997 CBR 1999 BWV 2004 CBR2007 CBR Oct 08, CBR Dec 08 DEC 30th,2008 became proud owners of the magic!! 275 pts at AKV!! [COLOR="Magenta"] SSR Feb 2009 SSR May 2009 SSR June 2009 Vero Aug 2009 MNSSHP Oct 2009 AKV Dec 2009 Swan/Dolph Feb 2010 RCI Grand Cayman swap June 2010 and many more magical trips to come!!!:bouncingp[/COLOR]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
fluffernutterrose

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: November 2006
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 3
Review Date: Tue March 10, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Proximity to Down Town, loud and quite pools, LBV views, surry rides!
Cons: As noted before the carpets need replacing!

I spent many family vacations as a child at the Vacation Villas and have some of my fondest childhood memories of those experiences. When I learned that SSR would be located on the very same spot I was compelled to see what the new resort would be...would my memories be betrayed or validated?


Much to my suprise the views to Downtown are great...from Congress Park, the quiet lakes and fountains are ones that inspire a quiet sigh, High Rock pool...just cool! I do miss the golf cart rentals that had existed many years ago. I would suggest bringing back the concept (similar to Fort Wilderness), since the property is vast a cart would be great!


The travel time via bus is long but worth the experience. At times we have opted to take the rental for transport but then the wee cherubs complain. Fact is...the time waiting for the bus and the bus time alone is family time where we can talk and review the day. We, in those rather dead times are able to reconnect and have some hearty laughs while planning ahead.


The best part of SSR is the BBQ pit by the pools. Hit the local publix, or bring your own meats. The pit gives a Mom and Dad the chance to catch up. Throw the kids in the pool, have a glass of wine or a Heineken and have a home cooked meal on LBV! What could be better?

------------------------------
Kate
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Princess Amy

Grand Villa

Registered: March 2008
Location: FLORIDA BABY!
Posts: 4835
Review Date: Wed March 11, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Boat ride to DTD, free life jackets to use at pool for kids, quite, large grounds to go for walks.
Cons: Not walking distance to any park. Other than that we have none!

We stayed at SSR Jan. 2-8 in the Springs. We were yards from the bus stop which was great! And, really close to the main pool, which I reccommend! Which also made us close to the boat ramp. I don't think we would of liked it so well had we been farther away. But, we really enjoyed our stay, loved the space. We had 4 kids and 4 adults, 2 strollers, and a crib in our 2 bedroom lockoff.


We only had 2 small problems. One the toilet ran in the master bath, really loud. I called and they came to fix it in 20 minutes. They ended up putting a new tank in which took a better part of the day. The other our 2 year old flooded the master bath with the bath tub nozzle it was loose and she pushed it right to where water went straight on the floor. We called and they brought us a bunch of new towels, because we used every last one to sop up the mess. And, they did not charge us for the towels. So I gave customer service an A+ on that trip.


The bell men were extremely helpful our first night there they got me a taxi, gave me directions to give to the driver for the super walmart and the aprox. cost it should be. It was right on!


We never waited more that 20 minutes for a bus, except one time....Make sure to have easy folding strollers, you have to fold them up for the bus.


We have stayed at the Grand Floridian, and The Swan, and all of the Disneyland resorts. Our home resort is BCV where we have not stayed yet, that is our next trip. And, we would stay at SSR again in a heartbeat.


Next time would like to try out the spa!!

------------------------------
[COLOR="YellowGreen"][COLOR="SeaGreen"][COLOR="MediumTurquoise"]Amy[/COLOR][/COLOR]:minniemou[/COLOR] [COLOR="Magenta"]1993 Euro DIsney, 1996 Disneyland Hotel, 2001 Disney Grand CA, 2002 Grand Floridian, 2002 The Swan Resort, 2007 Disney Paradise Pier, 2009 SSR, 2009 Disney Grand CA, 2010 Animal Kingdom, 2010 Beach Club Villas, 2011 Disney Grand CA, 2012 Disneyland Hotel, 2012 BCV and OKW, 2013 Art of Animation and Beach Club Villas, 2014 Disney Grand CA, 2015 Beach Club Villas, Fort Wilderness, 2016 Fort Wilderness, BCV[/COLOR] [COLOR="RoyalBlue"][COLOR="Purple"]Trip Reports and Other Posts[/COLOR][/COLOR]: Panama Cruise http://www.mouseowners.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30303 WDW Picture Trip Report http://www.mouseowners.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47299 Mickey Tye Dye Shirts http://www.mouseowners.com/forums/showthread.php?t=32848 Matching Family Shirts http://www.mouseowners.com/forums/showpost.php?p=571346&postcount=14
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Rock'n Robin
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 34
Review Date: Tue April 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: atmosphere....view....ambience....privacy
Cons: a teeny bit worn

We were in villa 1810 at Congress Park from April 6-13. I gave it a looking over when we checked in and we only had two issues: Some of the drawers didn't open in the bureaus (with 3 kids looking to put things away) and the carpet is getting worn--you can really see what the design looked like originally against the walls and in low-traffic areas. Otherwise, it was great and very clean.
We had a water view. It wasn't facing the pool, but the other way--if we'd had binoculars we could have watched the people in Fulton's eat. If we leaned off the balcony we could see the new balloon area. At night we saw the lights of what used to be pleasure island, planet hollywood, and the world of disney area.
This was a nice location right next to the stairs to the waterside--my daughters used this pool to lay out as we only found chairs at High Springs on a day it was really too cold for them to enjoy. The other days the chairs were gone when we got there. My husband and I used the hot tub one evening and it was pretty empty down at the CP pool.
We did rent a car and drove to Epcot, DHS, TL, AK and dinners at two resorts (AKL and GF). We took a bus to MK. On that morning MK opened at 7, and the busses were supposed to start at 6, so we got down there at 6, but it didn't come until 6:35. People waiting for the bus for AK early hours at 7 were still waiting when we left, so I know they didn't get to AK by 7. On our drive days we left an hour before park open and were in great shape for rope drop. I think a car is important here if rope drop is a priority like it is for me.
We had our daughters in the 2nd room, our son in the living room, and we were in the master (of course). So no fighting over which TV channel or whatever. We bought "Bolt" for DS and he watched it 4 nights in a row on the DVD player. We had garden grocer deliver a few things and we used most of them--apples, popcorn, chips, a case of water.
We are thinking of adding on a few more points so we can go again next spring break--if not, it will be summer and we'll see how relaxing the pool is then! But we really enjoy SSR and want to keep staying there--I'm considering AKL at Kidani (need the 2 bathrooms) just because we can get a 1BR there that sleeps 5 and use fewer points. Otherwise, I don't have any problems staying at SSR again!

------------------------------
http://i42.tinypic.com/3142j6c.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rettich

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: March 2007
Location: Chesterfield, Michigan
Posts: 9
Review Date: Mon April 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Quiet, away from it all
Cons: Too spread out

Our original home in Wilderness Lodge and I guess we are use to having everything close to us. SSR is very spread out. A lot of walking involved in getting to the pool and getting to the Carriage House where the food is and the main pool. We were at the Grand Stand, while it was very quiet, we seemed to be on the edge of the resort. The room was well taken care of and clean. Service was so so. Had a number of issues with the front desk, but it was taken care of by management eventually. I know Disney has cut back on staff and it showed here. At first, we did not feel the Magic, but by the end we were happy. Foof selections are ok, only two restaurants to choose from and the gift shop is small. I guess we are spoiled with Wilderness Lodge. We will not stay at SSR again.

------------------------------
Kevin Rettich kcrettich@aol.com Chesterfield, Michigan Member since 2001 [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
hurricaneb

Grand Villa

Registered: September 2008
Location: too far away from Disney
Posts: 1922
Review Date: Thu June 11, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: beautiful room and good location
Cons: the bus service

We stayed in the Paddock on the third floor in a two bedroom in May of 2009. The Paddock bus stop is in the middle of the numerous bus stops so it wasn't too bad. We had a vehicle which we used for some of our journeys. The bathroom for the room with the queen beds had major water stains on the ceiling.

------------------------------
Betsy :minniemou 1977, 1978; 1982; 1983 CR; 1984 CR; Offsite: 1989, 1990, 1991, 1994; 97 WL; 98 CS; 9/00 CR; 5/01 CR; 3/02 FWC; 8/02 ASS; 11/02 ASS; 2003 - DCL; 9/03 VWL; 12/03 BC; 1/05 OKW; 9/05 CR; 11/06 GF; 2/07 OKW; 12/07 SSR; 7/08 CR; 11/08 BWV; 11/08 WLV; 5/09 SSR; 7/09 SSR; 1/2010 BLT; 5/10 BLT; 11/10 BLT; 3/11 BLT; 5/2011-BLT; 12/11 VWL; 5/2012 BLT; 7/2012 BLT; 12/2012 DCL - Dream; 2/13 BLT;8/2013 BLT; 2/14 DCL-Fantasy; 5/14 DCL-Dream; 11/14 - Poly; Christmas Cruise 2014 Fantasy; 5/15 BLT; 12/15 Fantasy/BLT; 2/16 BLT
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
lssnow
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: August 2009
Location: Woodstock, GA
Review Date: Tue August 18, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: roomy and clean
Cons:

I grew up in Florida and recently moved to Georgia. Since we still had family and friends in Florida we decided to purchase a Disney timeshare...to date we've stayed at Saratoga Springs a total of apprx. 10 times over the past 4 years and each time has been wonderful. On a couple of occassions we had our grandchildren (girl, 4 yrs. old and 2 year old boy)...they had a blast. Even though they're small there was enough of "everything" that they really enjoyed their stay. The staff at Saratoga constantly gave them stickers and small items, we were impressed at how great the staff was towards them. In each instance the staff member would approach us on their own. Within a 2 month period we were able to stay at Saratoga Springs twice with the grandchildren, the second time as we arrived and parked our grandson leaped out of the car and ran into the elevator (first room that we stayed in was on the 3rd floor)...this time we were on a different floor and had to keep pulling him back, but he was beaming and laughing as we drove up. We're looking forward to many stays at Saratoga.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
WDWSchul

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: December 2009
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue December 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Close to DT Disney, beautiful grounds, friendly staff, newer rooms.
Cons: Resort buildings can be far from main complex or access to DT Disney

We reserved a studio and two bedroom unit at SSR 10.08 and loved the resort. Great space, very clean and nicely appointed. The grounds and golf course is beautiful. The only downside was that we happened to stay in one of the outlying buildings and the walk was lengthy. We did not have a car this time. In the future, we will request a closer buidling. We were one of the first bus stops on the way home though Smile A nice feature after a long day at the parks!

------------------------------
Saratoga Springs Home Resort Members since 2006
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SSRoregongal

Two Bedroom

Registered: February 2011
Location: Oregon Coast
Posts: 528
Review Date: Sat February 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: views and comfort
Cons: storage space

Have stayed in several of these in different parts of SSR, groundfloor nice for patio access to gardens, view from top floors excellet in Congress Park and short walk to Downtown Disney (Rainforest Cafe side). we had grandparents in master bedroom, family of 4 in 2nd bedroom and me on couch...was actually very comfortable memory foam. We enjoyed the little conversation table for eating, plaing games, sorting pins etc... CM were always very helpful!

------------------------------
~erica DVC Member SSR since 2000 VWL-BR BWV - VGC :beatinghe Disney!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
JOHNSONWC

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sun December 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Great locations to Downtown Disney
Cons: Accomodations needs some immediate attention

The room was dirty, in poor condition and overall disappointing.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Dzanes

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: March 2012
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 7
Review Date: Mon December 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: close to downtown disney and the spa service was very nice
Cons: the rooms were small and awkward, the room service was terrible

We will not stay here again unless forced too. The room was dirty, small and awkwardly laid out. We had to wait three hours to get toilet paper. We had problems with the room being clean and the beds were very uncomfortable. We asked for help and they were not very accommodating nor did they care that we were not happy. This stay was nothing like our stays at other resorts.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 More Items


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:01 PM.

© MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images © The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by Forum Software