home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Saratoga Springs Resort and Spa (SSR) « Previous Product 
SSRGV.jpg
>
SSR2BR.jpg
>>
SSR1BRPlan.png
SSRStudio.png

Grand Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 35380 Thu March 31, 2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
100% of reviewers 9.4
SSRGV.jpg
supersize


Description: Saratoga Springs Resort and Spa Grand Villa
Accomodation Size: Grand Villa


Author
Post A Reply 
RweTHEREyet

Add-on Aficionado

Registered: February 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC; OKW; BCV; SSR; BLT; VGC; VGF
Posts: 6019
Review Date: Thu January 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: beautifully appointed, 4 full baths
Cons: master suite bathroom-one large room and closet very small

We stayed in a SSR GV Jan 10-14, 2008.


We felt like we were living the life of luxury, and we loved the GV, but it does have some drawbacks, mostly for those staying in the master suite. The closet is tiny, tiny, tiny. I did have room for what I needed to hang up, but when you opened and closed the louvered door, it knocked all the hangers around, not enough clearance. There is a big closet in the living room area, but if you had guests on the sleeper sofa (which we didn't), they would need that. There was no luggage rack or bench in our room either, so no place to put your heavy suitcases to unpack them except on the bed or on the upholstered chair.


Also, there is one big master bath, everything in one room-shower, tub, vanity and "water closet"and it is separated from the bedroom with shutters, just like in the one or two-bedrooms, but the "water closet" is not in a separate area, so unless you have those shutters closed, no privacy at all. And definitely no privacy from noises if you know what I mean. Also, just one sink in the master, so it is not as easy for two people to get ready. Other than one towel rack over the "water closet" and one over the tub, and a small towel holder ring by the shower, no hooks to hang anything, like your nightshirt or whatever. Whereas the bedrooms upstairs have huge closets and other opportunities to hang stuff up.


In the dining room, they have two leaves in the table, it is huge, and 12 chairs, which includes two at the bar. The table is so big that if you have someone sitting at the head of table (either end) no one can get by to get to the other side of the table. And I don't recall seeing that space so tight in the model when we toured it.


We loved having the two side tables in the living room and the buffet in the dining room, it allowed everyone a place to put cameras and stuff they needed for the day other than just in your bedroom (where spouses throw clothes on top of things and you don't see them and then forget them. )


Please don't get me wrong, none of this was a real issue, except when the hangers went flying and could wack you in the face, but just observations I made. I would probably rethink staying in a GV at Saratoga versus a GV at OKW or having a two-bedroom and a studio if we were to do this again. Our guests were duly impressed and thought our accommodations quite "posh", so I guess I may be a bit like Miss Rozzie, and have become quite spoiled.

------------------------------
RweTHEREyet? http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g295/jkm8113/1aa70712-70af-499e-a70d-f250a139c2f4_zps4ad7a58d.jpg http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1504854003.jpg http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1539414000.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AZeno

Grand Villa

Registered: December 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3372
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Plenty of room and privacy.
Cons: Difficult to find for the first time

We made our first stay in a Grand Villa in October 26th through November 3rd to coincide with our first visit to MNSSHP. Our home resort is SSR, so we choose to stay there. Our group consisted of six individuals, DW, our oldest son, his wife, youngest son and his fiancé. This was the first stay at a DVC resort for both adult sons, and the first stay at Disney for both girls.


It doesn’t do it justice to say that we were all blown away with the Grand Villa. In hindsight, I think we may have had too much room for the six of us.


Check in went as smooth as could be expected. We arrived around 1pm, and the lobby was in a state of organized chaos, but the CM’s did their absolute best to make everyone feel at home. In fact, we had one CM come running over to greet us from across the room, she had checked in DW and I back in Feb for our anniversary, and she actually remembered us when she spotted us. For this visit, we were all doing the DDP, and each couple had a different method of payment, but this didn’t seem to be a problem. We collected our room keys, and moved over to the Guest Services desk so that the kids could buy their park hoppers. We were told that the room would not be ready for a while so we went over to the Turf club for a “Welcome home” drink to settle everyone in and then took off to DDT for lunch and to pass the time until the room was ready. One couple took the boat to DTD, another walked over and DW and I drove. The room was finally ready around 5pm, so we all crammed into one vehicle, thank goodness for mini vans and drove to the room.


Here is my one criticism about checking in at SSR, the rooms are never ready when you check in, but I understand that, the part that I find overwhelming is that when you call the 800 number and your room is ready, the CM gives you the room number and you are on your own to find the room. Given the size and layout of SSR, it can be quite an ordeal to find the room. I’m not sure if they need better signs, better maps, or a GPS system, but we wandered for a while.


We had requested a room in Congress Park with a view of DTD, and a view of the quiet pool and that’s exactly what we got. Once we got to the room (room 1641) we were in heaven. DW and I were in the master bedroom on the first floor while each couple claimed a bedroom upstairs. The views from each of the windows were great, during the day and evening. We found everything to be in working order except the DVD player, apparently someone had previously undone all the cables on the back of the television and DVD player. I had wanted to play a Disney video of the MK to add some ambience, but it took about 30-minutes to sort the cables out, fortunately everyone else was busy unpacking.


We had stopped for groceries after getting settled in and utilized the kitchen every morning for coffee and breakfast. We ate breakfast every morning in the dining area. But since we were on the DDP, we didn’t make any other meals, but I can see how this would be possible.


We loved the GV at SSR and wouldn’t hesitate to book one again.

------------------------------
Angel (aka AZeno) ------------------------------------------------- http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb269/AZeno_photos/Icons%20and%20stuff/3461164183_544861afff_b-1.jpg http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb269/AZeno_photos/Icons%20and%20stuff/976863629_288fR-900x900.jpg http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb269/AZeno_photos/Icons%20and%20stuff/CopyofMickeySmile.jpg Photos courtesy Trey Ratcliff stuckincustoms.com
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
hillbilly1170

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 6
Review Date: Thu January 31, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Brand new resort, very nice
Cons: HUGE Resort, seems like forever to get where U want

Very nice Grand Villa, the only one I've "stayed at" I've been in others to check out but never stayed in another Grand Villa. I would say though that I would rather stay in a two bedroom at OKW than the Grand Villa at SSR. I think the value is much better and is comparible and in Size. I would like to try a different room at SSR and maybe request a better location as well. I only stayed there once.

------------------------------
http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/akv2.jpg http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/bcv.jpg http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/okw3.jpg July 72 offsite July 80 offsite March 96 All star music March 04 Shades of Green March 06 Villas at Wilderness Lodge March 06 Beach Club Villas March 07 Boardwalk Villas March 07 Old Key West March 08 Beach Club Villas March 08 Wilderness Lodge March 08 Shades of Green October 09 Beach Club Villas October 10 Old Key West October 10 Animal Kingdom October 11 Shades of Green October 13 Animal Kingdom October 13 Beach Club Villas
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
zafiro

One Bedroom

Registered: June 2007
Location: Land of the Free, Home of the Brave
Posts: 373
Review Date: Tue February 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: We fit 12 people in this 3 br villa with room to spare!
Cons: None...everything was great!

We would absolutely recommend this 3br Villa to any large family or group traveling together. We had so much flexibility with the sleeping areas, large living room with pull out sofa, and the super big kitchen / dining room area. The table was so large that we had "game night" several times when the smaller kids were in for the night. We had a Downtown Disney view so we had nightly fireworks, too! If you can get this unit during a value season - it's the best deal around!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
5crazymice
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 3
Review Date: Mon September 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Spacious, beautiful views, convenience
Cons:

We are new DVC members this year. In July we stayed at Saratoga Springs in The Springs section. What a great resort! Our 2 bedroom suite was beautiful. Being a family of 5, we always feel like we've been crammed into a room. This was not the case on this trip. The bedrooms were spacious, the living room was very inviting and the view from our balcony was great. The bus stop was at the end of our building and the resorts main pool, restaurants and bars were right next store. The staff could not have been nicer or more accomodating. Our kids were thrilled when they learned movie rental fees are waived for DVC members and ended each day watching movies. The only complaint, my husband was very excited to hear the staff say "Welcome Home" upon our arrival and that did not happen until our last day there.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
fdnynine11ems

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: December 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 10
Review Date: Thu September 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very spacious
Cons: ME service

I stayed the last two days in August (Fay). Upon check-in, the service was GREAT. When she informed me of the fact that they would be driving me to my room, I was suprised due to my previous stay. When I informed her of all my mishaps, she apologized and said it would be corrected. She even told me the correct bus stop!


The room was luxourious to say the least. My daughter loved it, as did all of us. We called up that the internet wire was missing and they had it to us within 30 minutes.


The bus service was greatly improved getting me to the parks without a long wait.


My only setback was the ME service. We were scheduled for 7:45 flight. Due to this we had a 5:30 reservation for the ME. There was a crowd of people waiting for the 5:00 bus. 5:00 came and went with no bus. At 5:35 a bus pulls up. My husband hands the driver the reservation and is told that it is the 5:00 delayed. After all the 5:00 people got on he told us that he was in fact the 5:30 bus, but that the 5:00 was full so he had to pick up them first. He then proceeds to tell me that there are 4 seat available, but they are scattered seats. I have a 9 month old and a 5 year old. I can not place them away from myself and my husband. I was quite upset and went to the front desk where I was told that since there were seats, that they would "try" to get me on the next bus. I said that there was no way I was missing my flight due to them. I had to wait for the 6:00 bus. Since you all know it takes about and hour and a half to get to the airport, I would have missed my flight with security and everything else. Unfortunately, but lucky in a way for me, my flight was delayed two hours. As this was unacceptable, I sent back a survey full of negative remarks due to both stays. My other stay was also at SSR, but a one bedroom.

------------------------------
Kat http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/2;10728;28/st/20090923/n/My+baby+boy/k/c3d3/age.png http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10712;51/st/20091220/e/Disney+4+Daughter%27s+b-day/k/c174/event.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SSRoregongal

Two Bedroom

Registered: February 2011
Location: Oregon Coast
Posts: 527
Review Date: Sat February 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: a bit big for 7 people, at The Springs near pool
Cons: tiny Master Closet, not enough storage space

Loved the place we had for a week..last bus stop right there! All GVs are 2nd floor so gma had to take elevator every time but glad to be so close to pool and main buildings. Brought food and ordered from GardenGrocer -even special requested beer and wine from them! Every room was very private, everyone slept very well, extra pillow request promptly filled.

------------------------------
~erica Disney Podcast Network DVC Member SSR since 2000 ~March UY WDW '14 DLR '14 VGC '12 SSR '08 DLH '07 SSR '06 DLH '05 SSR & BWV '05 SSR '04 DLH '03 DGC '02 etc... :beatinghe Disney!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Disneygeek

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 12
Review Date: Thu March 31, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Large dining area
Cons: Small balcony

We stayed here two years ago and will have a Grand Villa in June. It is just the right size for our extended family (we now number 11.) Lots of room for the grandkids to run around. If you want to have more than 2 people on the balcony, it will be pretty cramped. The dining room, however, is huge. It has a sideboard and we lined up all the snacks on it. Each day we pick what we want and fill the backpack with goodies. The kids can sleep upstairs undisturbed while the adults can sit on the main level and enjoy some quiet time and relax.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 AM.

© MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images © The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.