home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Villas at Wilderness Lodge (VWL)   · Next Product »
VWL2BR.jpg
<
VWL1BR.jpg
·
VWLStudio.jpg
>

Studio Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
21 101919 Sun August 5, 2018
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
100% of reviewers 9.0
VWLStudio.jpg
supersize


Description: Villas at Wilderness Lodge Studio Villa
Accomodation Size: Studio


Author
Post A Reply 
carolina_yankee

Administrator

Registered: February 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 27641
Review Date: Wed January 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Location, Theming
Cons: Better views in the Lodge than the Villas

We had a corner dedicated studio on the 4th floor facing Bay Lake, with a view of the VWL pool. The DVC wing carries on the excellent theming and decoration of the main lodge, making this one resort where you want to spend some serious time just exploring the resort.


The room was dedicated, so we had no noise issues from the neighboring unit. The one oddity was an artificial pine scent which smelled more like furniture polish had been sprayed! Indeed, when we first arrived, we though they had just done a thorough cleaning but over the week realized there was a scent-producer somewhere to build on the wilderness theme.


We had an issue with the main light in the bathroom which turned out to need an electrician. Maintenance and engineering were prompt in responding to our initial call and repairing the problem.


Along with AKL, the main WL is so well themed and decorated, that you really are staying in a museum as well as a resort. In my opinion, this makes these two 'lesser' deluxe resorts among the best on property if those small details interest you.


Bus transportation the parks was reasonably efficient (often stopping at other monorail resorts, but not always all of them). Boats were fun and relaxing, but the afternoon route could be a pain when it included Ft. Wilderness. Route adjustments have since resolved that issue.


We were able to get same day (almost same hour) reservations for Artist Point during Free Dining, but Whispering Canyon requires advanced planning. The quick service had good breakfasts, but capacity issues, and a fairly small lunch/dinner menu (compared to Mara at AKL).

------------------------------
https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-b3VrPMK/0/6ddb7392/O/i-b3VrPMK.jpg https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-3RGSpJ9/0/28945ae9/S/i-3RGSpJ9-S.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit carolina_yankee's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Tammy
Grand Villa

Registered: July 2006
Location: Plano tx
Posts: 1894
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great decor at Christmas.
Cons: I would like more dining choices. Room service was under par.roaring forks

We stayed at the villas the week of November 25th. What a great time of year! Less crowds and a great way to kick off the holiday season. VWL are so cozy this time of the year and the tree over at the lodge is not to be missed. We had a studio on the second floor facing the woods. Would have like a higher floor but could not complain about the cleanliness of the room. I love getting to and fro the magic kingdom by boat. Even if we stop at fort wilderness first it is all the more time to relax on the boat to me. We had very little wait for the buses this trip. We either got really lucky or they seem to run more frequently. Probably the former. Whispering Canyon is good for one to two visit tops to me or else their antics get old. Artist point is a safe bet with or without reservations but can get pricey. I like the breakfast menu at the roaring forks but it can get tiring for lunch and dinner. I would really like to see another eatery on the premises. Outside of that this is my favorite place to stay on the property. I love feeling like I am removed from the parks at night. It is very peaceful.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rhilferty
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: July 2006
Review Date: Tue January 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Location
Cons:

My last visit to villas at Wilderness Lodge was in September of 2007. The place and staff was very nice and pleasant. Our room overlooked the Woods and everyone loved the peaceful nature of the balcony especially after a day at the parks or pool. We had a room on the fourth floor but requested a room on the second floor due to a nagging back issue suffered by my father in law. We ate a Artist Point and it has to have the best vegitarian meals in Disney. This is our favorite place to stay while down there
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
hillbilly1170

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 6
Review Date: Thu January 31, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Super relaxing!!! Beautiful resort
Cons: None, we had the perfect room

My 2nd favorite resort behind Beach Club. I didn't find a more relaxing time sitting in the most comfortable rocking chairs in the main room. We had a perfect room, 1st floor close to the lobby. The laudry was across the hall and the bus stop was right outside. We are going back in March to stay in a two bedroom. The studio was near perfect. Wilderness Lodge is beautiful. It's a must stay. I contiplated of giving this a 10 but since I'm trying to differentiate Beach Club and this I gave it a 9. Not much difference between the quality of Beach Club and Wilderness Lodge. They both have good resturaunts and although very different are beautiful.

------------------------------
http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/akv2.jpg http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/bcv.jpg http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/okw3.jpg July 72 offsite July 80 offsite March 96 All star music March 04 Shades of Green March 06 Villas at Wilderness Lodge March 06 Beach Club Villas March 07 Boardwalk Villas March 07 Old Key West March 08 Beach Club Villas March 08 Wilderness Lodge March 08 Shades of Green October 09 Beach Club Villas October 10 Old Key West October 10 Animal Kingdom October 11 Shades of Green October 13 Animal Kingdom October 13 Beach Club Villas
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Pocahantas

Studio

Registered: April 2006
Location: Louisiana & BCV
Posts: 160
Review Date: Wed February 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Prior to buying into DVC we rented points and stayed at VWL. We had a great experience and really love this resort. The themeing cannot be beat. We used the buses and boats several times and never waited more than a few minutes for them to arrive.

------------------------------
Past Trips: 12/02 - CR; 2/04 - CR; 5/05 - Pop/BCV/AKL; 10/05 - POFQ/BCV; 2/06 - VWL; 5/06 - BWV; 12/06 - POR/BCV/WL; 6/07 - SSR/BCV; 10/07 - BCV; 12/07 - POFQ/BCV; 5/08 - DCL/VBR; 2/09 - BWV; 6/09 - BCV; 9/09 - AKL/DCL/BC; 5/10 BLT/Poly; 3/11 BCV/BLT; 6/11 - DCL-Alaska; 6/12 - DCL Next Up: 2/13 - Magic Western Caribbean On the Horizon: 5/13 BCV; 10/13 BCV
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
eeyorepatty
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2007
Review Date: Fri February 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Great relaxing winter get away. Good location for transportation
Cons: Never saw the geyser go off, waited for over an hour. Slippery entry ways. trouble with housecleaning

Stayed January 14 - 20th, and we did not have the best vacation however. On Day 3 wife slipped on cement while entering lodge area after waiting an hour to see the geyser that never went off. She ended up breaking her ankle and was stuck in the room for the remainder of the vacation on heavy pain killers. DVC did send a lovely basket to make her feel better and we did get her a scooter so she could try to still enjoy the parks, but really she did not. Our kids went off on there own. ANy way, the studio was plenty big enough and we were in a handicapped room so that actually worked out great. One can not beat the lodge and how wonderful it feels like you are in a national park. On night before check out we called and asked if we could possibly have an 11 check out instead of a 10 because we were not moving real fast with wife. The DVC guest relations told us to check with housekeeping, when we did they were out right nasty and said that NO DVC members may have extended check out times no MATTER what and asked who told us to call them anyway? I was so insulted that I called DVC member services right away. Odd thing was that at 10 am the next morning the only cart in the hallway was next to our door! No disney magic there!
Love the fact that the location to the bus is so close to the DVC lodge and that it is just a great location. Would stay again but really have to say that housekeeping needs to get some pixie dust and lighten up.
OH and the rugs that are outside the doors to prevent slipping, well they need to be outside EVERY door! Wife is looking at surgery in a few weeks to fix ankle!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
HKP

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2008
Review Date: Sat February 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Relaxing Resort
Cons: Smaller Darker Units

The Studios at Wilderness lodge seem darker and smaller than other studio units I have stayed in. It is a little tight to manouver around in the small bathroom. But the location and atmosphere is relaxing.


The excitement of being at WDW can fray the nerves and it so nice to go back to a resort at the end of the day that has such a relaxing theme. I like the "lobby" of the Villas and the pool is small but again hidden away in a wooded area.


One down side: I usually love the music in the hotel lobby but in January they were still playing Christmas music. I was over it by then.


Dinner at Artists Point was amazing. One of the best meals I have had a Disney. I had the portobello mushroom soup - WOW! It had crunchy pieces of garlic on top that added a unexpected texture to the creamy, oh so tasty soup. Yum! I then had the scallop dish which again was extremely good. Sorry not a food critic but it was great!

------------------------------
HKP :woohoo:
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
eaglerock
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 8
Review Date: Wed February 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: loved the coziness of the site,
Cons: bus rides can be long, especially since bus also serves camp ground

I stayed at the Wilderness Lodge with my family and kids (5 & 9). The decor was great espicially in the lodge. There are sitting areas with fireplaces on the upper interior floor balconies. You feel like you are at Yellowstone Park in the main lodge.


The boat rides to the park were great. My kids liked these as much as going into the park.


Take the boat ride at night and you can watch the fireworks at the Magic Kingdom. Tell the Capt. you want to see the fireworks.


The lighted boat parade that comes by the beach each night is also cool.


I went in December and it was cool at night and in the mornings. The pool was very warm and my wife & I swam everyday at 6:30 am with steam coming off the water. I have not experienced a warmer pool at Disney during cool/cold weather.


We really love the wilderness lodge and can't wait to go back. It is only 2 buildings and a short walk to everything at the hotel.


Great place to go with esoecially if you will be visting the Magic Kingdom often during your stay.


Boats also go to other Deluxe hotels suchas Poly, Comtemp, and Grand Floridian so it is easy to got to restaurants at these hotels.


The counter service area is small and has limited offerings. Loved the Whispering Canyons for dinner.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
KingOMiami

One Bedroom

Registered: April 2008
Location: 237 Miles from the House of Mouse
Posts: 244
Review Date: Fri September 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Dining, transport, overall ambience
Cons: Room was at the far end of the hallway and the dreaded partial view of the dumpsters

We stayed at VWL Labor Day weekend '07 and it was our first DVC trip. We loved the room, very, very cozy. We ate at Whispering Canyon and then the CS place the rest of the trip. We took the boat to MK one day and did the buses the rest of the trip. The CM are fantastic and the guy to look for is Ranger Stan who from what I understand does the resort tour, but not the days we were there. I have heard he does an excellent job going over everything.


The only drawback was getting the room at the end of the hall with a partial view of the dumpsters. I say partial because they have planted some trees but they are nowhere near full enough to cover that view completely.


Overall, DW & I want to go back there again, it is our home resort after all!

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] [B]DVC Members since Mar. '07[/B] Our lil home - 50 point VWL contract DVC Trips 07 - VWL 08 - AKV 09 - SSR 11 - OKW 12 - VB, VWL 13 - AKV x2, OKW 14 - BWV 15 - PVB
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dgaston
Studio

Registered: March 2006
Location: South Woodstock, CT
Posts: 157
Review Date: Sun September 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Clean, well-kept room
Cons: est. 1/8 mile from elevator

We stayed at VWL from 7/26 to 7/29/08. We were in xx61, the next to the last room down the hallway. I had specified not 60 or 62 at check-in, otherwise I think we would have gotten the dumpster view! DH is the one who estimated the distance;it did feel long at the end of the day.


Our studio was very clean, Maintenance replaced a hallway light just outside our door. That seemed to be quite a project.


We ate at Artist Pointe for the first time and enjoyed the salmon and buffalo. On this trip rain altered our plans each day -- our pool day at WL was cut short by persistent rain beginning around 12:30.


We still had a wonderful trip, but next time we may request "near the elevators!"

------------------------------
Debbie http://www.magicalkingdoms.com/timers/tickers/crxt06wb9nswyhph.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rlcarmichael
One Bedroom

Registered: January 2008
Location: Chesapeake VA
Posts: 445
Review Date: Mon September 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Quiet & clean. Plenty of room. Bus stop.
Cons: Room really dark with lots of dark colors. Distance to ferry.

We got ALL of the way at the end of the hall way which was a REALLY long walk after hitting the parks. Plus was the bus stop which is directly in front of the Villas building. Really long walk to the ferry dock.


The hallways were. FREEZING and I like it cooler so that's saying something.


Still have the "$29" portable tv which is pretty lame. My sons had bigger tvs in their dorm rooms at college

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] DVC Member BLT, VGC & SSR. Make-A-Wish volunteer Wish.org
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit rlcarmichael's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
dsquarednz
One Bedroom

Registered: September 2008
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 238
Review Date: Tue September 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Gorgeous resort, lots of fireplaces, smaller than other properties
Cons: Bus ride to Downtown can be quite long, bathroom lighting is dark

We just got back from our first stay in the Villas at Wilderness Lodge (8/31 through 9/7). We had stayed at the Lodge before, so we were already in love with the building and location.


We had a dedicated Studio on the first floor, right off the entranceway. The room was also right next to the laundry room. Surprisingly, the location was ideal as it was close to the exit (and thus the Lodge and bus stop), and we never heard any noise from the laundry room. Doing laundry was very easy as well (and free)!


As a previous reviewer noted, the hallways were FREEZING. Not sure the reason for this, but we kept our room at 75 or so during the day, since we weren't there, and only turned it down at night.


The kitchen area was sufficient, and the refrigerator larger than expected, and included a small freezer section. We didn't really make use of the microwave etc, as we had no idea what to expect. Next time, we will be sure to buy some groceries.


The Villas have several comfy places to curl up with a book or relax at the end of the day. Out of the three resorts we've stayed in (VWL, AKL, BCV), this one is the only one that truly feels like "home" for us.


The boat ride to Magic Kingdom is magic - even the walkway to the boats is beautiful. This resort gives you a feeling of being away from it all, and yet is very close to our favorite resort.


In addition to the boats, the buses also go to every park (which is not true for the Epcot resorts).


Now for the "cons":


The bathroom lighting - both over the sink and over the shower - is quite dim. Not sure if that is true in all of the Studio units, but with the dark woods (which we love), it does make shaving, makeup application etc a tad difficult.


Our room was on the ground floor, which was convenient, but we didn't feel comfortable opening the doors to our patio or leaving the curtains open at night.


Finally, the atrium in the Villas is beautiful, but many children like to run through screaming. Our room wasn't affected by this, but I'm sure rooms closer to the Atrium are. We noted this at 7am on arrival day as I tried to take a nap while waiting for our room (and after a 20 hour flight!).


In summary, this resort is best during September-December, as it has a woodsy atmosphere. The quick service food area has a great selection of tasty food (although the lines can get long early in the morning), and Artist Point is one of the best restaurants on property.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
kathleena

One Bedroom

Registered: September 2005
Location: Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Posts: 270
Review Date: Sun October 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Nice location near the MK
Cons: Dark, dark, dark

Stayed here April 2007 and was disappointed. We were on the 5th floor, facing the trees behind the bus stop. The room was so dark it was hard to see. Plus being on the top floor in an odd area, the ceilings were sloped, so the room felt very small.


I love the WL and have stayed at the Lodge before and had great rooms, but I dont think I will ever stay inn the villas again. Maybe not all the rooms were like this, but I would be afraid to get one again.


Also, we had a big problem at check in. None of our names were downloaded to the resort so they took forever to print our keys, and the CM made a huge mistake (and was reprimanded in front of me). I waited a long time PLUS I had to go back and wait more later to get my correct keys.


The one bright star were the extremely cute towel animals that our Mousekeeper left the kids!

------------------------------
Nancy in Maine
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y64/DisneyBUff/kathleenatag.gif
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Snoopey

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2008
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 53
Review Date: Sat March 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Location was great
Cons: No plasma TV

Hi, my wife and I stayed at the Villas at Wilderness lodge between 02/23 - 02/26 2009 and the first moment we step into the lobby we said WOW!, I mean everything is really beautiful, cast members are great. The hotel is really, really nice, this was our first vacation as DVC owners and we weren't disspointed. We stayed in room 5521, which I think was great, no stains, the carpet was clean, bed was comfortable, bath was clean, everything was really nice and shiny, even we smell the cabin like odor in our room. I think our room was great because we have a view of the pool, the lake and the forest. At night we saw the fireworks from MK and we have a great view of the fountain in the lake (well, it was like little boats with lights and music) we saw those boats from our balcony. We definetely stay here again. The only drawback could be that we didn't have a plasma TV just a typical monitor, but that is really not that critical for us.
I really think we made a great investment purchasing DVC and we love our home villa and we will stay there again in our next vacation.

------------------------------
The circle of life :bouncingg http://www.myvacationcountdown.com/tickers/3svr3p9u41r6a1uu.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Chriskre

Grand Villa

Registered: April 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 2343
Review Date: Sat April 18, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Near Magic Kingdom & Nicely themed as usual for Disney
Cons: Too far for seniors to walk to main areas.

Stayed here once and found the location of the villas a bit far from the main areas. I went with my senior parents and they were a bit winded with the trek. So needless to say that once we left the room we didn't return until later that evening which kind of defeats the "Welcome Home" feel that we usually feel being able to go to the room to relax mid afternoon so we can keep going until the late night. The Lobby is real nice and the Western themed restaurant was alot of fun for my 85 year old Aunt on her birthday when the waiters were singing and having fun with her. Definetely if you are celebrating a birthday get the "Happy Birthday" button. You'll get free desserts and perks thruout your stay.
I'd go back but not with elderly familly. Key West is much better for that or Beach Club.

------------------------------
Christine Disney fanatic living close to the Magic. :kitty::kitty:
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Chriskre's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Page:  1 · 2 More Items


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 PM.

MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by Forum Software