home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Villas at Wilderness Lodge (VWL) « Previous Product 
VWL2BR.jpg
>
VWL1BR.jpg
>>
VWLStudio.jpg

Two Bedroom Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
14 42526 Wed December 21, 2016
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
100% of reviewers 9.6
VWL2BR.jpg
supersize


Description: Villas at Wilderness Lodge Two Bedroom Vacation Home
Accomodation Size: Two Bedroom


Author
Post A Reply 
floridaperson
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: July 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 10
Review Date: Tue January 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very spacious rooms. Comfortable beds. Quiet.
Cons: Need fitted sheets on beds. Bathroom in 2nd bedroom small.

Our family stayed at this resort after staying at the Pop Century for a night. We have been spoiled now and don't ever want to stay anywhere else. The rooms are very spacious and the beds extremely comfortable. Our only complaints (if you want to call them that) were the sheets on the beds in the second bedroom were not fitted sheets and didn't stay on the bed properly, the bathroom in the 2nd bedroom was very cramped. It would be nice to have housekeeping services every other day. We think there should be coffee provided for each day's stay. When we ran out of coffee, we had to buy more. We pay enough in points for it! This was by far the best hotel we have stayed at.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
disneysister1

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: March 2007
Location: York, PA
Posts: 8
Review Date: Tue February 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very comfortable rooms, convenient to the main lodge, GREAT quiet pool
Cons: None!

This is my family's favorite resort. We fell in love with Wilderness when we "accidently" landed there several years ago and ended up buying into DVC there. We absolutely love the feeling that we are transported somewhere else. The music, the ambiance, the pine trees, the beach, and the pools are so relaxing. The quiet pool has little "bubbling springs" in it. It is so convenient from the DVC building. The main pool is so warm and the water is softer than other pools. Stan the ranger told us this is absolutely true! The villas are very convenient to Roaring Fork and makes it easy to stop there for a snack or quick meal on the way somewhere. We also love taking the boat over to MK or CR or FW. We have also taken advantage of the bike path over to the Fort. Your really feel you are somewhere else at the Lodge! We just love it!!

------------------------------
http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1245729566.pnghttp://www.magicalkingdoms.com/timers/tickers/sgp9u9epwlkordnm.png 12/1971, 6/95, 2/05, 12/05 & 06 CR 6/2000 , 8/02 Wilderness Lodge, 07/03 Home to BCV and VB, 07/04, 07/05, 06/06 VWL & AKL, 07/07 VWL, 04/08 AKV, 06/08 VWL and AKV,12/08 Poly!! http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g205/disneysister1/logo.gif
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AlesiaWilliams
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 3
Review Date: Mon February 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: quiet
Cons: quiet

We extended our trip at the last minute, and we stayed the Wilderness Villas. It was so peaceful and relaxing. I would definately recommend!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jbhoward_99
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 15
Review Date: Tue February 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great decor, location, transportaion, check in/out
Cons: Restaurants, multiple rooms cannot exchange keys

The rooms had great decor, we felt like we could be in Yellowstone. (Although, having stayed at the Old Faithful Inn, I like this better! :-) The pools were really nice and the quiet pool was a great bonus for the adults. We enjoyed having the full kitchen and laundry too. This setup is perfect for our family which has now grown into all adults and 3 young grandchildren. The little ones could go to bed early in the bedrooms while we hung out in the living/kitchen area. Beautiful views of the lake from the lodge area.


Location was great, very close to MK. We took the boat back and forth and the buses were good too. They also have cabs if you're in a real hurry (we utilized this on our way to Chef Mickey's one morning when we were running late for about $5).


Check in/out was also very smooth. However, we had several problems with multiple rooms and keys. The reservations were made one way, but we needed to swap a couple of people and had lots of trouble switching names on keys once we got there. They wouldn't let me CHECK IN to both rooms or even give me a key to both rooms and they were in MY name! We have needed this on several occasions when one room was ready and the other one not. This, I'm assuming, is a Disney-wide policy that you would run into with any resort.


Lastly, the restaurant, Whispering Canyon, did not live up to our expectations. I didn't think the "having fun" theme was carried off well for adults too. The kids had a great time, but since we were a table of adults we seemed to be invisible. The food was just okay too. So many other Disney restaurants are much better. We actually liked the "cafeteria" style restaurant by the pool better (a lot actually!)


Overall, we love this resort (despite my rants!). Lots of quiet and active areas. We would definitely stay here again and just avoid WC and somehow try to work out the multiple room issue.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lisa

Two Bedroom

Registered: December 2005
Location: Honeoye Falls, NY
Posts: 747
Review Date: Wed February 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Calmness, theme, close to MK and MK resorts,
Cons: number of close restaurants

VWL – Room 5549, 2/07


When we checked in at 5pm, I asked if there were rooms to choose from, and was told no that we were given room 5549. I panicked slightly thinking it was the dumpster view room. The CM showed me the map and I was happy. My only request was a room on the lake side (well as non-smoking) and we had a wonderful view of the lake through the trees.


The room was toward the end of the long spooky hallway. It really wasn’t long (we will talk about long in the next resort!) but it did seem slightly eerie… Those lights and brackets really add to the haunted mansion effect. The common areas of the villas were spectacular. From looking at the villa’s lobby I had mistakenly thought that the fifth floor would be at the top of the lobby's upper beams. I was a little disappointed that they had not taken the lobby up to the fifth and that area was blocked off. It did make the hallway seem more closed in.


After reading the DVC boards for years I have learned the first thing you MUST do after looking at your view is drop everything inspect the room for cleanliness and call housekeeping immediately if there is any problems. No hair, no slime or grime. Everything was in great shape and very clean. Very impressed with the attention to detail in the housekeeping and maintenance of our villa.


It is definitely a different decor then or home BCV. I think the darker colors help maintain VWL appearance. The darker colors were cozier, but a couple afternoons I noticed that the lack of sun shining in the room in the late afternoon (we had wonderful morning sun) made it a little to dark for ‘being in Florida’. Most likely the other side of the building gets that afternoon sun. The door to the second bedroom next to the TV. This was sort of a love hate thing for me. I loved having the girls feel closer to us in the living room, but with that closeness we had to be concerned about making too much noise and waking them (they didn’t like the door closed all the way). That dedicated 2 bedroom had a ton of space in the second bedroom! Wow!


The transportation seemed good. We took the bus to MK a couple times and never had to wait too long. The boats were fun and nice way to travel. I felt it was was a good thing that I had researched the boat system before we left, to know what boats were going in what direction. We went to the HDDR one night and used the little boat getting back just in time to see the EWP. Very memorable evening. Having the trail to FW was very nice. We rented a surry bike and gave that a try. The girls thought that was a hoot.


We did no swimming while we were at VWL. The main pool was closed during our stay, which we were aware of before the trip, but it was very cold so there were no tears shed. The construction fences did detract from the feel of the courtyard and did make going to the boats a bit longer. I would like to have experienced the pool area.


The resort is beautiful and extremely well themed with well care for villas. The views of a lake and trees gives a sense of calmness. It was very hard to pack up and leave VWL after 4 nights, we really wished that we hadn't make this a split stay and stayed the whole week . The closeness to FW, CR and MK added some great options with the boat ride part of the fun.

------------------------------
Cheers, Lisa (aka lisareniff) A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men. - Willie Wonka AKL & VB - Pres. Week 2012 - last time as VB owners AKL ...then the Gulf - Pres. Week 2010 BCV - Back home for President's Week 2009, 2011, 2014 & 2016 VB - April 2008 in a BC baby! BCV - MO Grand Gathering solo VWL & BWV - Presidents Week 2007 Poly & VB - Presidents Week 2006 VB & Poly - Short "no kids trip" May 2005 AKL & BCV - Presidents Week 2005 BCV - Thanksgiving Week 2003 (first time home!) Off site 1975 & 1980 (back when WDW was the MK)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gopherit

Grand Villa

Registered: October 2005
Location: SouthEast Texas
Posts: 1536
Review Date: Thu June 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: easy access, pretty view, cute ducks!
Cons: ground floor (not everyone's cup of tea); duck poo on patio

We received a 2BR lock-off on ground floor about 1/4 down the hall. The view was of a landscaped area, split-rail fence, woods. The room was very close to the door that leads to the Villa pool and also to the Villas lobby. It was very clean and in generally good shape. Every day a pair of ducks came to visit - they literally would knock (tap) on the glass door with their beaks. Kids thought they were adorable -and they were. Only drawback - duck poo on the patio. Oh well! We have had a pool and bay view room at VWL before and loved it, yet we would take this room again in a heartbeat, too. It's all good!!!!

------------------------------
Our Four Burrow Babies http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v218/ck26181/10894ae5-75ad-4d9e-8fc8-700e69b3ff35_zpsa6237034.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Laxmom

Grand Villa

Registered: March 2008
Location: In the wilds of northern Ky...
Posts: 1277
Review Date: Sun September 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Theme and location
Cons: long hallways

We stayed here on a precruise trip and wished we could have spent more time! This place is just fantastic to the finest detail! You are trully transported to a different place while staying here; you are no longer in Florida. The lobby is amazing as is the pool. Even the lights illuminating the walkways at night flicker like they are flames. There are animal tracks stamped in the concrete.


Our room was immaculate. We stayed in the wonderful master suite while the kids occupied the second bedroom. We were on the 5th floor with a slight view of the lake. This also meant that the ceiling in our bedroom was vaulted around the dormer. The shower and bath were huge and the tiles were embossed with pinecones and pine boughs. The second bedroom came with a smaller bath that reminded me of most hotel bathrooms. The walkin closet in this room was huge and we ended up using it as a dressing room, of sorts, for the only other girl on this trip. It actually worked out really well! It was big enough to hold a foldaway crib or small blow up mattress easily. Shoot, it was bigger than the bathroom!


Every CM that we came across was really friendly and helpful. The food at Roaring Forks was pretty good for counter service. We rode the bus to DTD with no problems or long wait and took the boat to MK for EMH, again with minimal wait times. I would stay here again in a heartbeat but would opt to stay longer next time!! Just a terrific way to start our cruise vacation!

------------------------------
http://www.myvacationcountdown.com/tickers/drfnfy9m9l0j7670.png http://www.myvacationcountdown.com/tickers/gzjruvycgptfhjeq.png http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/hhi2.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
hillbilly1170

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 6
Review Date: Mon September 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful theme, boatloads of fun, close to magic kingdom
Cons: Not much at all, can't really complain about anything

Another great stay at VWL!!! Everyone wanted to stay longer. I can't see were BLT is going to be any better than this. I stayed at the contemperary and it doesn't measure up to Wilderness Lodge.

------------------------------
http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/akv2.jpg http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/bcv.jpg http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/okw3.jpg July 72 offsite July 80 offsite March 96 All star music March 04 Shades of Green March 06 Villas at Wilderness Lodge March 06 Beach Club Villas March 07 Boardwalk Villas March 07 Old Key West March 08 Beach Club Villas March 08 Wilderness Lodge March 08 Shades of Green October 09 Beach Club Villas October 10 Old Key West October 10 Animal Kingdom October 11 Shades of Green October 13 Animal Kingdom October 13 Beach Club Villas
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gemdisney

Studio

Registered: March 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 118
Review Date: Wed September 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great appeal, great pool, great theme, loved it all!
Cons: squeak in drier for 1st minute it was running

I LOVED this resort, room, view, showers, bedrooms, layout, theme. There wasn't much I would have changed. THe view was great even though it faced the road but it wasn't an issue because of the woods which completely added to the theme. I would have liked to see the lake but it was still completely satisfying. Our luggage came form a different hotel and the bell man from the previous resort forgot to send 1 bag and within the hour the gentleman who brought our stuff to the room had it back to us. He also left us a few messages keeping us posted on what was happening with it. Our dier has a squeak to it when it first started up only for about a minute but no more. We only stayed for 1 night so we could take advantage of cheaper airfare and the cleaning staff had no issues with us taking more time than the regular check out time. They patiently waited and went to another room without any complain of us taking more time than we were suppose to. We had room 5544 if I remember correctly and truly loved it. It has made up my mind that we will eventually buy there as well as soon as we have the means.
My one suggestion is to bring your ID with you if you look under 30 to any bar. I'm not accustomed to carrying mine now that I am over 30 but still the same I was carded and needed to go back to the room to enjoy a cool drink on the hot day with my fellow Disney travelers. Too bad Disney coulnd't do something with our room keys so we wouldn't run into this problem. I'll just have to get use to still looking so young to be carded. LOL

------------------------------
gemdisney:blueflowe http://www.magicalkingdoms.com/timers/tickers/jj0vc5sfmwwdnv5c.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
harmrose22

Two Bedroom

Registered: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 591
Review Date: Sun September 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Closeness to MK, quiet resort, great for kids!
Cons: Overly bleached sheets, Epcot bus service

We overall LOVED staying at VWL. Check in was a breeze even coming off a fairly full ME bus. Our room was ready with no issues. When we got to the room, it was very clean. In fact, the sheets were so bleached, they were crunchy and you could smell the bleach. I guess I will take over bleached to dirty though! Our room was 5536. The view was nice. You could just make out the road in the distance but it was mostly trees and one very small frog that looked like it shouldn't have even made it up to the 5th floor.


The only issue we had was with the bus service for Epcot. Every other park was a breeze to get to but the 2 times we wanted to take the bus to Epcot, we waited for a very long time. We made it to the MK, then over to Poly for dinner one night via boat and monorail faster than we did when taking a bus directly from VWL to Epcot.


Grandpa and DS loved the pool and the slide as well as being able to then head over to the beach with a bucket and shovel. All in all, a great place to stay. We would definitely stay there again!

------------------------------
Smile Harmony http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;36;127/st/20100822/e/Road+Trip%21/k/37d0/event.png http://www.myvacationcountdown.com/tickers/oy57zez50fckflj3.png http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa68/harmrose22/DSC04160.jpghttp://www.mouseowners.com/images/OKW1RL.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
HeatFan14

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 13
Review Date: Sat January 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Our Home Resort, Pools, Artist Pointe, Lake, Comfort
Cons: Whispering Canyon Food

As our "home resort" we have now stayed here the past four years, all in a 1-BR Villa. In 2007 I commented that the rooms were getting a "little worn" and wondered aloud what our monthly dues were being used for.


Well, after a late October/early November stay in a refurbished room I extremely happy to report that the rooms are back in tip top shape. New carpeting, convertible sofas, paint, lamps, and mattresses in the bedroom have made a huge difference. Not only do the rooms have that "new hotel" smell, but they look great as well.


The decor has stayed the same with the dark greens and burgundys, and the pictures on the walls. If you didn't know the resort started refurbishing in September you would not notice any difference. Except, that everything is new and not worn or tattered.


This is a great resort with the pools, lake and boats and easy transportation to the parks. The food at Artist Pointe is second to none and one of the best Disney restaurants. The food at Whispering Canyon can be a little uneven. Go earlier when everything seems a little fresher - food and cleanliness. This place is fun, but can get a little unkempt later in the evening after family after family has trapsed through with straws and napkins being thrown about, not to mention the incredible mess that seems to be left under the tables. So be forewarned.


The Mercantile is a great little Disney gift shop and always has a good selection of foods and drinks, should you chose to actually use the kitchen in your villa. Our experience is they are great for breakfast - eat all the good food Disney has to offer at the parks and other resorts.


Overall, another wonderful trip to VWL -- already booked for October 2009.

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
mickeymorse

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2007
Location: Too far from WDW
Posts: 11
Review Date: Mon February 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Spacious rooms/ Quiet resort/ Sturdy Branches Health Club
Cons: None

This was our first trip as owners and loved the resort. We stayed in a 2 bdrm on the 5th floor. These have 1 long balcony as opposed to 2 smaller balconies.
Loved the quiet pool and hot tub. Nice to come back from the parks and just relax. Sitting down at the beach you can watch Wishes and see the Electric Water Pageant.
I can't wait to go back in August for 7 nites.

------------------------------
I LOVE MY VWL!!! [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jeffstain

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: October 2008
Location: Willow Grove, PA
Posts: 56
Review Date: Wed October 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: close to magic kingdom, quiet
Cons: bus transportation

We stayed for 9 nights from 9/26 to 10/4 2009. Myself, DW, 4 kids (15,9,8,3) and my in-laws. Check in was very easy and service was prompt. We very much enjoyed our 2 Bedroom unit (5545). The balcony faced the lake so we could see and hear the electric water pageant the nights we were in early. Beds were very comfortable (even the pull out sofa). Used the washer/dryer quite a bit and saved on the packing! Kids slept in 2nd bedroom that had 2 queens. We slept on pull out and in-laws had the king suite. Jacuzzi tub was used every night!


It was very quiet both in the unit and at the Villas pool. We used the Lodge Pool a number of times as well. Great proximity to Magic Kingdom with the short boat ride. Loved the american symphony music playing constantly, still runs in my head.


Could have used some pots/pans (none in the unit) but the kitchen was just fine. It was a little dark but we thought it was part of the theme and didn't bother us as we were out at the parks most of the day every day.


Only con I can think of for the Wilderness Lodge Villas was the bus transportation. There were many trips to other parks where we had to go to the Grand Floridian or Ft Wilderness before going to the park. Just made the trips a little longer. Direct service would be great but the combined service was understandable with the proximity to the other resorts.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
John2247

Two Bedroom

Registered: March 2011
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 730
Review Date: Wed December 21, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lodge at Christmas Time, transportaion to Magic Kingdom
Cons: None

We love the Wilderness Lodge and it is our home resort. We have stayed there many times, primarily because of the nearness to the Magic Kingdom. I love the Ambiance and feeling you are in a mountain lodge, rather than being at WDW. Artist Point and The Whispering Canyon Café are also great places to eat.

------------------------------
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 AM.

© MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images © The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.