home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Non-Disney Park Resorts » Hilton Head Island (HHI) « Previous Product  · Next Product »
HHIGV.jpg
·
HHI2BR.jpg
>
HHI1BR.jpg
>>
HHIStudio.jpg

Two Bedroom Villa
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 48796 Tue March 1, 2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
100% of reviewers 9.6
HHI2BR.jpg
supersize


Description: Hilton Head Island Two Bedroom Vacation Home
Accomodation Size: Two Bedroom


Author
Post A Reply 
mainys

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: April 2007
Location: Mystic, CT
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mon January 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: HUGE rooms!
Cons: No elevators

I stayed here with friends in 2006. We were driving from CT to WDW because I could not fly at that time and they were nice enough to drive with me. HH was the half way stop. It is gorgeous there. Everything from the slight Disney touches such as their dog "shadow" whose paw prints are everwhere to pictures of Walt and his family in the Villa made it magical. The Vill there was a dedicated 2 Bdrm and was absolutely HUGE!! The balcony off the back held a full-sized picnic table and two rocking chairs!! I would stay here again and vacation here anytime! I didn't get a chance to experience their beach, but have been to HH at other resorts and it's a lovely place to visit. Stop by if you want a relaxing vacation with a touch of Disney. The only drawback would be the lugging of your luggage up two flights of stairs to the Villa, but otherwise wonderful place!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
kregan

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: April 2008
Location: Leesburg VA
Posts: 8
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Disney without the Parks
Cons: Disney without the Parks

One of the most relaxing, quite Disney vacations I have ever had! My husband & I stayed in a one bedroom in Bldg 30, April 2008, for one week. It was magical! Definaely would do it again.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dvcownernc
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: May 2008
Location: N.C.
Posts: 32
Review Date: Mon September 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A very large room and a relaxing vacation location.
Cons: Not a lot to do if you're looking for a "park" type getaway.

We just returned from a 5 day long Labor Day weekend trip to HHI. This was our first time staying in a 2BR villa and it was worth every point. The room was very large and had plenty of room for all of us. It also allowed privacy for DW and I, which was also very nice. The bathroom lockoff is another great feature as it allows those of us who stay up late to have access without disturbing the elders and children who head to bed earlier. We also liked having the 2 double beds in the second BR, especially due to the size of our travel party (6 adults + 1 child). We definitely had no issues with feeling cramped due to the size of the villa. Everything was very clean, including the provided dishes and silverware which we used to make our own breakfast each morning. I know it sounds silly, but it was so convenient having small things like detergent and paper towels provided that it really made it seem like a "home". All of the furniture was in good shape and both the interior and exterior have had some paint touch-ups recently. They've definitely done a nice job with upkeep. The balcony was very nice, including the walkout form the master bedroom. We had a nice overlook of the pool area. Beware that some of the units face the pool but are obstructed by the water slide, so unless you want to look out your windows at people using the slide all day, watch out for the rooms in Bldg 25. My one complaint about the room would be the lack of wireless internet access. I understand we're on vacation but some of us like to stay connected and IMHO there is no excuse for Disney not to have this setup for members, it's 2008 already! They do offer wifi hot spots in some of the public areas, but I'd much prefer to be able to sit at the table or rocking chair on my balcony to use the internet. (I can do this at the Marriott, why not Disney?) Our overall experience with the 2BR unit at HHI was outstanding and we will definitely visit again soon.


Additional Activity Notes: Use the front desk to setup golf arrangements. They did a wonderful job and saved us at least $25/person per round depending on the course. We did not do the dolphin discovery tour, but there are 2 other operators right there within walking distance at Shelter Cove that will do it for half the price Disney charges. Two us took the Member rate Kayaking trip offered through the resort. It was the same price as local competitors and you can't beat the convenience of doing the tour right from the resort. Because the tour is contracted out I won't hold it against Disney, but I don't think it was worth the $25. All you're doing is paddling yourself around the inlet and IMO the guide, although very nice, didn't offer a whole lot of extra information to make it seem worth it. We honestly saw more wildlife right from the resort pier, including dolphins feeding at sunset on 2 occasions, a very nice treat!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
tinkerbella's mom

Studio

Registered: March 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 127
Review Date: Mon September 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful landscaping, Clean spacious rooms, Peaceful
Cons: Noisy if your on 1st floor, exposed wiring, and not beachfron

Ok better late than never. We went to HHI Aug16-Aug23, 7 nights in a 2 bdrm just the 4 of us, DH, DD6, DS4 and I. Drove down from NJ to use up the 270 incentive points we received when we purchased our AKV DVC in Oct. '07. Arrived 8 pm and checked in, the front desk staff was extremely helpful and kind enough to keep it short and sweet since we were tired. Finding building 17 was a little confusing since it was very dark, but a helpful CM stopped his golfcart and showed us the way. Our room was on the 1st floor, very clean ,the decor hues of reds, greens, wood, very hunting lodge-like, warm and welcoming. The kids room had the 2 queen size beds (which they got lost in), the MBR had the king size bed with the annoying flat top sheet that would slip off the mattress each morning. The one negative was the exposed wiring on the ceiling fan in our room that was an eyesore. Basically we loved the space and everything worked.


We found the landscaping beautiful, we had a view of the marsh which seemed so peaceful, and online pictures do not do the resort justice. Activities tons for kids 5 and up, didn't sign my kids up because I did not want to exclude DS who's 4. You could rent bikes with helmets yea-. We chose to drive to the beach, but the shuttle was easily accessible. The pool was very clean, the kids loooved the slide, and for the non swimmers- plenty of life life vest to use. There were some locations with horseshoe toss games, scattered hammocks for napping, charcoal grills for those inclined to cook. Plenty of restaurants with ok food within walking distance so you did not need to drive. We did venture to the Old Oyster Factory for dinner which was good. The dolphin cruise was cancelled d/t weather so we walked across the harbor and took another dolphin cruise on the larger 2 story boat- kids loved that and for the little one yes it had a bathroom. One thing Wed. is dvc member discount, but I saw an ad for the 1st cruise we had booked in the local magazine and their price was slightly cheaper than our "discounted" member price so look around.


One thing if we go back I might request a 2nd floor unit despite the lack of elevators. This is because the guest who checked in on Sun pm and left Fri early sounded like a stampede of horses when they walked--I don't know if the floors are that thin. It was a little annoying at midnight everynight.


Lastly the clambake was cancelled also due to rain, yet despite the few rainy days we had a blast, it is a place to truly vacation in a restful relaxing manner- we even survived the lack of internet access go figure. In summary lover it so much DH came back wanting to buy more pts and contemplating doing it at HH.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Mrspaceman2
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: January 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 35
Review Date: Wed September 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Location, activities, overall quality of the villa, relaxing
Cons: beach umbrellas/chairs $$$

Hilton Head Trip Report
My wife, and our two boys (12 and 9) just got back (on 9/20) from our first DVC trip; a week at HH. If this trip is any indication of our future with DVC, then we made an excellent investment.


Where to start?


Facts -
We stayed in a 2BR villa. We invited friends along to help keep our kids entertained (we also enjoy their company), Mom and three kids (one girl and two boys, ages 7, 10 and 12). Upon arrival we were given a choice villas, marsh view or pool view. We chose the pool view with the thought that we would let the kids wander down to the pool and we would only be a "scream" away.


Reservations -
We made the reservations 7 months out (we are AKV owners). No problems. Actually made a reservation for 9 (though only 8 showed), again no problem.


Service -
From the moment we walked in the door to the time we left, the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Our one incident for the week was the result of a lapse in the cleaning crew prior to our arrival was handled quickly even though it was "after hours". And Disney HH went the extra yard of refunding a full nights worth of points and gave us a "goodie" bag full of Disney stuff. Bravo for Disney. Everyone makes mistakes and it is impossible to control the actions of all the staff, so what matters is how a company handles the problem and whether there are repeats. I can't speak to the repeats, but Disney HH gets points for its responsiveness and good will.


Unit itself -
Again this is our first stay at a DVC resort and we were very happy with the room. (with the exception of the lapse), the rooms were clean and in good order. No signs of over-use or neglect. My only negative comments and these are personal - appliances are very noisy (dishwasher and washer/dryer). Also it would be nice to have more than just eight of every kitchen item. These two conspired to force us to run the noisy appliances while we were in the unit. This hampered conversation and inhibited movie watching. A positive comment is that they put real blinds in the units which darken the room sufficiently enough to sleep. Beds were surprisingly comfortable.


The resort itself -
Like the rest of Disney - - very well kept with not a branch out of place. The pool was clean. Horseshoe and shuffle board areas had all the supplies.


As most of you know, there are no full service restaurants at HH, the two quick service restaurants had food that was good, reasonably priced, served in adequate portions. However, in the best traditions of Disney "quick" service, the food service was very slow. Usually 15 minutes between order and arrival of food. This was a result of cooking to order, which is good, but good short order cooks can have food ready quickly w/o compromising quality. One additional note on the food is that we did not miss the full service restaurant. Plenty of choices within walking distance, more in biking distance and even more if you care to drive.


The beach house, which we used everyday was very accessible. We drove, but you can get there by Shuttle or Bike. The beach house is right on the beach (duh) and has a nice pool as well. No slide, but our kids didn't miss it. The beach itself is wonderful; clean, wide with shallow water that goes pretty far out (compared to Vero). The water temperature was perfect, no one got cold, though I can't say the same about sun burns. At this time of year, the beaches were not crowded. Only negative comment is the map they give you at the front desk could be better. Map shows a "Y" vs. a rotary. Ignore the "Y" and head through the first guard gate that you see. Bear left after that and the beach house is on your left. One last note on the beach. This comes out of ignorance and being spoiled by my in-laws beach house; the chairs and umbrellas nicely laid out on the beach don't below to the resort, they are for rent. $30/day, $18 for each next consecutive day, $11 for each additional chair beyond two. This seemed quite expensive to us, particularly if you are not big planners and don't know when and if you are going to the beach until you wake up that day. My advice (and what we did after day one) is to go to Walmart (down the road 4 miles) and buy yourself two chairs and a good (avoid the cheap ones due to the wind) beach umbrella. You'll be ahead in a day or two. If you can't fit them in the car on the way home, pass them to another DVCer.



Activities -
Our family made use of many of the activities, some free, some paid.


Specifically:
Campfire (free): Well we could only get our two (we are too old to do "kiddy" activity) boys to go to the campfire with a mention of Smores. Let's put it this way, my 9 year old is still singing and dancing the Mrs Gooneybird song/dance. I wish I had video taped our 12 year old . . . sigh, no blackmail. That's one for the parents . . .


Resort tour (free) - Carol our tour guide was very pleasent, and knowledgeable about the resort and DVC in general. Tour included a game to find the hidden mickeys.


Hilton Head History Tour (costs) - Carol again with Al driving the van. Apparantly she knows as much about HH history as she knows about the resort. Van took us from the resort with several stops including a light house, a civil war fort (Mitchel), an historic Taby (type of construction) home site, a museum, and a beach overlook Port Royal. Plenty of history mixed with a little bit of "the best of modern HH" on the ride between stops. Tour lasted about three hours and included a history "quiz" (with prizes) on the way back to the resort. A very enjoyable morning.


Sand Sculptures (free) - I'm sorry that I can't remember the name of the person running this activity, but she did a great job! We had three families participating and each was able to produce a sand sculpture that made you say "wow, we did that?!".


Ghosts and Legends of the Low Country (free) - an hour of funny and not too scary ghost stories with a little bit of fiddle. Told by "Blue Crab", who also pops up occasionally with music and other entertainment. Enjoyed by the whole family.


Shrimp Boil at the Beach (costs) - This was unremarkable for the price. Plenty of unremarkable food. Desert was good.


Dolphin Trip (costs, 10% discount on Wed) - Chris was our tour guide. Just our family of four and Chris on 20' boat with canopy. We saw a couple of Dolphins, one actively herding fish and feeding. Though it would have been nice to see more activity, Chris made up for it by his running commentary on growing up in the area and his giving us the ocean view of the Island. The high speed, high tide run through the salt marsh was a highlight for the kids.


Fishing (rental fee for tackle, bait is free) - the kids fished. The fish got fat on bait. No fish lost their lives that day.


Biking (rental fee) - We ended up renting bikes on day four. Given the small cost difference between renting for one day ($18) vs. the length of your stay ($25), I wish we had rented them on day one. All the bikes were in good shape. Helmets, locks and baskets were free. Our kids loved just tooling around the resort. We headed off resort on the bikes for lunch. In the end I wish we had time to explore more as the island is full of bike paths, though many of them (by necessity) cross roads, which can be tough when you have little ones.


Movies (Free)
Good selection of (well) Disney movies. Great way to wind the kids down after a day at the beach and give the adults some grown up time.



HH in general
In general, we had a very pleasant laid back vacation. A nice combination of relaxation, mental stimulation (reading and history tour) and activity. Clearly we were not on the island during high season, so its hard to judge how a summer vacation would be. The weather for the week started of hot (low 90's) and humid. Towards the end of the week, it was in the low to mid 80s. Still humid, but the lower temperature, was wonderful. Apparantly, it stays sort of like that through Nov. As we are not big lovers of the heat, our next trip to HH will be late Sep/early Oct.


Again, every one had a good time and no one was left with any significant complaints.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
vacationbunni

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: February 2009
Location: Liverpool, NY
Posts: 18
Review Date: Sat February 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Large, clean beautiful grounds, convenience and peaceful
Cons: None

My sister and her family stayed with mine in a 2 bedroom villa. It was beautiful, cozy and huge. We had 7 people and it was extremely roomy and felt like home. The entire grounds are something to see. The marsh and landscaping are fantastic. Rent the bikes, my kids loved riding them at night around the resort and we rode several times on the path over to the beach house. You can ride bikes on the beach and I highly recommend it...great time.


Beach house is great. Games, bar for the adults, snack/food bar, huge bathrooms/changing area and pool. We just went back and forth from the beach to the beachhouse. Just brought the room key to the beach and did not need anything else.


HH island is very laid back and beautiful. We went to tons of shops, over to the Harbour and Salty Dog Cafe.(great gift shop).


My kids loved it and wanted to go back instead of Disney World. Next time I will take them golfing. This resort is hard to get into at peak school times and vacations, so plan accordingly. I tried to get in for April and it was booked solid. I would say this was one of the most relaxing, enjoyable vacation my family has ever taken.

------------------------------
:mickeybar:bunny::sailing: [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] http://www.magicalkingdoms.com/timers/tickers/uxv6b5h8ebqqvb95.png
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gingermouse17

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 12
Review Date: Mon April 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: a happy, calm, relaxing environment
Cons: 14 hour drive

My family and I went to our first trip to Hilton Head on April 15th. We all loved it. My husband loved the beautiful trees and the camp-like feel of the resort, my 3 kids loved the pools and the beach, and I loved the kayaking tour, hot tub, and the warm sun.


This trip was a true relaxing family vacation. We didn't make any plans so we wouldn't be on a time limit and we just enjoyed various activities and having fun playing with each other. This was our first time in a 2 bedroom which was awesome. It was sooo huge that it will be difficult to go back to a one bedroom.


The resort was very clean, and the staff was the best staff we ever encountered on any trip. They were extremely polite and very accommodating. We were all very sad to leave but are glad that we did plan another vacation for July 4th weekend.


I have to add that I have read many posts stating that the Disney Hilton Head resort is not next to a beach or golf course so it's in a bad location. I have to disagree. Even though I love the beach and my husband loves to play golf, we both loved the location. The marsh has sooo much wild life ie. dolphins, cranes, pelicans, crabs, hermit crabs, fish which was neat to see since we are not able to see those types of species on a daily basis.


There are also may different activities that you can enjoy from the resort: a dolphin cruise, kayak tours, rent bikes, fishing, crabbing etc.
If you want to go to the beach and/or have a change in scenery it is only a 2 minute car ride.


We love Hilton Head and look forward to many vacations to come.

------------------------------
(DH) :cool2: (Me) :tinker: (DD7) :bouncingm(DD5) :flowerfor (DS2) :nemo: (DTiger) :kitty: (DGinger) :kitty: http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/akv3.jpg http://members.cox.net/disneyvacationclub/images/dvc_sigs/hhi2.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
PBB

Banned

Registered: April 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 368
Review Date: Mon September 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Room, Geat Vistas, Very Relaxing
Cons: Gift Shop, Restaurants (quality)

First time to review HH here. We have gone to HH every year for the past 12 years on Labor day (family tradition). We stayed in building 31 on the 2nd floor. In our experience, we have found this building to be our favorite. The views off the 2nd floor across the marsh are the best plus we get to watch the boats we wish we could afford come out of Shelter Cove Marina. On Sunday morning, we sat and drank coffee while we watched 3 adult dolphins and one baby fish at the opening to the marina. In fact, we saw about 8 dolphins on this trip.


Between going to the beach and the different restaurants and stores a car is a must for this resort. If you drive be sure to bring beach chairs and umbrella if you stay for a long period of time. The rental chairs are so expensive and you can buy them for what they cost over 4 days.


HH has upgraded the appliances and televisions. They finally put in a nicer stove that actually heats up quickly. Unfortunately, the dishwasher is still loud. The HD TV's are a nice upgrade along with the IPOD clock radio. They re-covered the couches with same fabric and the fabric is loose and does not look good. It just looks cheap.


Housekeeping was very good this trip. We have had past problems. They usually will start knocking on the doors at 9 am to see if you have left on your check out day even if you have the do not disturb signs on the knob. They have actually called the unit as well. I guess they finally got the hint from guests being upset or they did not have a chance to call us this time. LOL


The snack bars and gift shops are going way down in my opinion. There is nothing special about the snack bars menus and the food is awful. Basically, frozen food from a food distributor heated or cooked. Nothing better than fast food. Sad The gift shop is just boring and over priced. They had a wind jacket that had Hilton Head DVC embroidered on it for $ 60. The jacket was so cheap. What a rip off ! The resort wear used to be so nice and reasonably nice. Now, it is just cheaply made and very expensive.


The beach was great during the day and walking on it during the night was perfect with the moonlight. We had Dinner at Hudson's Seafood Restaurant and it was great. We did something different this time and went on the Schooner Welcome docked at Shelter Cove. The weather was perfect for sailing and the sunset cruise was absolutely gorgeous. Crew was great and it cost about $ 41 per person. If you get a chance I would recommend it.


Overally, we continue to enjoy the HH resort and will continue to go back. I wish they would re-visit the menus at the snack bars or at least make the food worth the money they charge. Hamburgers, hot dogs and chicken fingers......lacks imagination and tastes. What a shame.


I would recommend this resort in a heart beat and it is very relaxing.

------------------------------
Patrick [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
damatos2060

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 2
Review Date: Tue March 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great rooms, Family activities, Beautiful views, Overall peaceful vacation.
Cons: Limited products in the store surprised at how few HHI specific items available for purchase

Just came back from HHI stayed 02/24/11-02/28/11. This was a last minute book as it is off-season was able to get a reservation less than 14 days out. Stayed in 1322, 4 adults & 3 kiddos. Perfect location close to parking beautiful view of the marsh, right next to Bldg was horseshoe pit, grill, and hammock. The rooms are large size and stocked with service for eight. We did several of the activities both FREE and ($). A few of our favorites: campfire(free), un-birthday party(this was great it is kids only we did it as soon as we arrived so it gave us some downtime), the marsh tour was awesome their Naturalist was great she also did the shark necklace activities which was educational. Most of the activities require signup prior some 24hr advance as the resort was not at capacity we were able to get in, but I bet in the summer you need to book prior to arrival. They have begun updates to the property they recently re-did the pool at the resort and horseshoe pits when we were there they were in the process of remodling the beach club. There are quite a few shops and several restuaraunts right outside the resort at Shelter Cove Habour(walking distance). We cooked all of our meals in room there is a nice Piggly Wiggly(chain grocery) store in biking distance or a quick drive. Savannah,Ga is also only an hour away so we left the property one day and toured the city. There are several Hidden Mickey's throughout the property. There is wireless internet service available in room free for DVC members or $9.95 per day for non-members. The also have bike rentals including tandems which is great for the little kiddos that know how to ride but may be slow or just aren't that great at riding in a straight line. I can't say enough about this place so much to do or "not to do" if you choose and just relax. We will definitely come back next time in the summer to enjoy the beach.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 PM.

MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.