home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Animal Kingdom Villas (AKV) « Previous Product  · Next Product »
AKV2BR.jpg
<<
AKV1BR3.jpg
<
AKV1BR2.jpg
·
AKV1BR1.jpg
>
AKV1BR.jpg
>>
AKVstudio3.jpg
AKVstudio2.jpg

One Bedroom Villa, Standard View
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 161815 Sun June 10, 2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
100% of reviewers 8.9
AKV1BR1.jpg
supersize


Description: Animal Kingdom Villas One Bedroom Vacation Home, Standard View
Accomodation Size: One Bedroom
View (Value, Standard, Savanna, Concierge): Standard


Author
Post A Reply 
rigsby25

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: March 2006
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 3
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great theming, restaurants, gift shop, pool, bar, exercise facilities. Bathroom is not attached to Master BR.
Cons: dark, poor bell services

If you can't get a savannah view, this is the next best thing. Currently, you will get a pool view. You will be close to the lobby so there shouldn't be too long of a walk to the elevators. You can always walk around the hotel and view the animals. The kitchen is rather small. 5 Adults fit comfortably.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
zafiro

Two Bedroom

Registered: June 2007
Location: Land of the Free, Home of the Brave
Posts: 743
Review Date: Tue February 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: AKL is a great place! Pool view, savannah directly accross hall with windows to see the animals
Cons: Small for 5 people, which is max recommended

We had a smaller unit than shown in these diagrams (there was no entryway bathroom). There may have been a mechanical room that was outside of our unit that took the space. Everything was new, so that was nice. We had only one bathroom, not 2 as shown. The main bedroom was big, as was the bathroom, but the living room / pull-out sofa sleeping area in our unit was not as big as some of the 1 br villas we've been in.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
dmiller109

Studio

Registered: October 2007
Location: Near Charleston South Carolina
Posts: 116
Review Date: Wed February 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great view of the animals. A peacful retreat with a relaxing atmoshere
Cons: I really don't have any cons

It was nice waking up every morning and having breakfast on the balcony and watching the animals eat right below you or out over the Savannah

------------------------------
:Princess: [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Chriskre

Grand Villa

Registered: April 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 2343
Review Date: Fri February 5, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Brand new rooms with great theming in the resort
Cons: Far from the action and a little dark for some.

I absolutely loved the resort. Our room was great. Everything was brand new. The unit had 2 full baths and we were 4 adults so everyone had room to spread out. The balcony is almost 30 feet long and very relaxing to watch the sunsets. Parking is super convenient right under the building.
The pool is great. The kitchen is a bit small with very little cupboard space but who's gonna cook on vacation anyway.
Great point value. I'd go back again.

------------------------------
Christine Disney fanatic living close to the Magic. :kitty::kitty:
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Chriskre's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
GusGus
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 18
Review Date: Sat February 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Clean, comfortable, lots of room
Cons: Lighting

We stayed in Kidani Village in December 2009. We rented points from an owner and in fact we loved it so much that we're renting points again for the same time period (would love to buy DVC but it's not in the cards yet). I thought I wouldn't like it but it's the kind of resort that you really have to visit to get a good idea of how it looks. I loved it. It was so relaxing. The pool was fantastic. My kids loved the play area. The staff was great, super friendly. We never heard our neighbors. I can't say enough good things. I used to think that the Grand Floridian was my favorite resort but it really can't compare. I liked how it felt like a separate resort away from everything.


We had a standard view, but we were right above the pool and could see one side of the savanna.


The lighting is terrible though, especially in the bathroom. Seriously, check your makeup on the balcony before you go anywhere.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
GusGus
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 18
Review Date: Thu April 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Quiet, beautiful theming, lots of room.
Cons: Location--it's a plus and a minus.

We've stayed at Kidani Village twice on rented points (not a DVC owner) and I love this resort. On our first stay, we actually had a view of the pool and the savanna. It's not technically a savanna view, but you get a large portion of it. On our second stay, we had a view of the parking lot. I was worried about the noise from the buses, but I barely heard a thing.


The resort is very peaceful and out of the way. The rooms are large and everything was clean. The staff is super friendly. You really can't beat the huge bathroom in the master bedroom. My kids love the pool. I didn't find not having a CS restaurant in Kidani to be a problem, but we tended to have some meals in the room.


The only cons are the lighting and the location. The location works for it and against it. It's not a busy resort. Even during busier times, it isn't crawling with people, which is a huge plus, but it's a pretty long ride to the Magic Kingdom even on a slow day. I would say that the bus took about 15 minutes longer than it would have from, for example, Pop. Not a big deal, just adjust your schedule and be prepared for it.


I would stay here again and frankly, if I ever buy points, it will be here. It's a wonderful resort.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Jen1974
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: July 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 7
Review Date: Mon August 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Theming, newer rooms, intimate setting
Cons: Distance to parks

We recently returned from a 5-night stay at Kidani on rented points, and we couldn't have been happier! Reading the reviews prior to our trip, I was concerned about bus waits - but we never waited longer than 15 minutes for any bus. Our average time from walking out of our villa to stepping off the bus at the Magic Kingdom (the furthest park from Kidani) was 30 minutes. Other parks were less. For the beauty and theming of this resort, we'll take that!


We were pleasantly surprised by the two bathroom layout, and we found the overall space large and inviting. Unlike other reviewers, we didn't find the room too dark. The kitchen was more than adequate to serve our needs (family of 4), and the balcony was HUGE. As a bonus, we were right above the pool, so it was a quick hop downstairs for the kids (ages 6 and 7) to swim. The lobby (and resort itself) is much smaller than Jambo, but we found that we enjoyed a more intimate setting away from the crowds. We were easily able to take the short walk to Jambo to check out the gift shop and eat breakfast at Boma (our best meal of the trip).


We are considering another Disney trip next year, but when I suggested trying a different resort, both my husband and my kids said, "No way!!" I think we're fans for life!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
michaeldominick

Studio

Registered: November 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 101
Review Date: Sun June 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: animal viewing, decor/theming, pool area, Kidani 1BR room size with 2 bathrooms
Cons: distance to everything, bus for everything, food options/selection

We stayed at Kidani 1BR Standard. (there are 2 different hotels Kidani and Jambo which are both considered AKV). The room itself was very spacious, i think it might be bigger than the typical 1BR villa, and it had 2 bathrooms which was very covenient since there was 5 of us. Even though we had a Standard View (view of the front entrance) it was very quiet, didn't hear any vehicles. The room color is dark brown and the lighting a little dim, which bothers some people, but i thought it was fine, especially with the drapes open. The room itself was a 10, but i don't think i would return to this resort. It only has bus service to all parks, and it felt like it took longer to get everywhere. Also, there isn't any quick service option at Kidani. I went to both Sanaa and Boma. Both were African / Indian cuisine, which was fun to try once, but i can't see wanting to go there often. There was a shuttle to go between the two resorts which was nice. The shopping is very limited, as there was only a small store at Kidani. The pool area was excellent, and my kids had a great time there.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:13 PM.

MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by Forum Software