home News forums Reviews Trade links

 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · Register  

Home » Walt Disney World DVC Resorts » Animal Kingdom Villas (AKV) « Previous Product  · Next Product »
AKV2BR1.jpg
<<
AKV2BR.jpg
<
AKV1BR3.jpg
·
AKV1BR2.jpg
>
AKV1BR1.jpg
>>
AKV1BR.jpg
AKVstudio3.jpg

One Bedroom Villa, Savanna View
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 170186 Mon September 27, 2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Rating
100% of reviewers 8.1
AKV1BR2.jpg
supersize


Description: Animal Kingdom Villas One Bedroom Vacation Home, Savanna View
Accomodation Size: One Bedroom
View (Value, Standard, Savanna, Concierge): Savanna


Author
Post A Reply 
dlpmikki
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: June 2007
Location: England
Posts: 14
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: nice jacuzzi, flat screen TV
Cons: converted hotel rooms, long walk to get to, few animals

The best thing about staying here in October 07 was being able to walk to Jiko where we had the best meal of the trip. We saw very few animals from the room (altho there were hundreds of love bugs covering the balcony - yuck).


The Internet connection had not been set up properly and it took several visits from both the Disney contractor and the Internet provider to get a working connection (the wrong connection had been switched off when they converted the two bedrooms into a one bed). We also had a problem at check-out where they could not get authorisation on our card despite our bank assuring us that were plenty of funds and it was OK from their end. Having told us to ring our bank because we must be over our limit and being told the opposite by our bank it was frustrating. We eventually ended up paying DVC direct by check a month or so later - it took that long to get a bill!


There were other niggles - the flat screen TV stopped working and the repairman said it was always happening because of the way they had been set up. You could only turn off to standby and not completely off which considering how environmentally friendly AKL is supposed to be was surprising.


I am saying yes to recommending this because I hope we were unlucky with the animals. I think when kidani village is finished the rooms in Jambo house will not be nearly as good an option.

------------------------------
Mikki Young DVC Member since 1992 Solo trip October 2012
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit dlpmikki's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
RweTHEREyet

Add-on Aficionado

Registered: February 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC; OKW; BCV; SSR; BLT; VGC; VGF
Posts: 6693
Review Date: Wed January 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Beautifully themed; resort has it's own savannah
Cons: not located in the thick of things

We spent one night in a one-bedroom at AKV prior to moving over to SSR for the rest of the trip. We arrived late, so check in went quickly. The Front Desk failed to tell us we had two packages waiting and that our Owners Locker had been delivered, and bell services had to make a second trip. All of the Cast Members we encountered were pleasant and helpful.


Being newly converted DVC rooms, everything was brand spanking new and in great condition. The furnishings and theming are the best of all the DVC resorts, imho. While the wood in the room is dark the fabrics are bright and colorful.


The bathroom does not have a separate shower stall, but a jacuzzi tub/shower combination and it takes a big step to get in and out of the tub. This deep tub might make bathing small children a little difficult.
There is a lot of wasted wall space in the bathroom--another towel rack or hooks for clothing would have been nice.


The balcony ran the width of both the bedroom and living room area and was just huge. We saw a few animals from our balcony, but we weren't there long enough to see how if more came around throughout the day, so I can't say if the savannah view was worth the extra points


The living room has a sleeper chair in addition to the sleeper sofa, so the villa sleeps 5, not sure I would want 5 adults trying to use the bathroom at one time. Since there is one sink in the vanity and the vanity is in the same room as the shower, it could be a problem for a part of 5 other than close family, to be getting ready at the same time.


The bedroom is beautiflly appointed, lovely pillows on the bed, an attractive armoire in place of a boring closet, nice artwork and very unusual lamps on the bedside tables.


The hallways are long, but the decor and animal viewing areas make for an interesting trip.


Flat screens in the living room and bedroom, a nice change.


We never heard any noise, from neighbors, upstairs or out in the hallway, very peaceful.


We enjoyed being able to walk to Boma for breakfast without having to go outside. The smells coming from Boma fill the lobby and are just heavenly.


There were no disappointments in our one-night's stay, and we would love the opportunity for a longer one.

------------------------------
RweTHEREyet? http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g295/jkm8113/1aa70712-70af-499e-a70d-f250a139c2f4_zps4ad7a58d.jpg http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1517468401.jpg http://www.mickeypath.com/id/1539414000.jpg
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
goofy4mickey

Studio

Registered: July 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 151
Review Date: Wed February 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Felt larger than other Villas, Beautiful furnishings & theming & ANIMALS!
Cons: kind of remote

We absolutely LOVED staying here.


We stayed in a 1 BDRM Uzima view for 5 nights in February. I liked the room layout alot. One BIG plus for us is that the bathroom is not connected to the bedroom - which meant, we could put our 1yo to bed in the bedroom and still turn on the bathroom lights. (not possible in other layouts, although we deal with it fine) LOVED the HUGE balcony - as stated above, it ran the entire length of both rooms.


Bathroom - I liked the layout alot. I thought the lighting was actually better than some resorts (VWL comes to mind - way too dark to put on makeup for me! of course, I'm old, so it could just be me!) I agree that they need hooks or towel racks in there - they have a big empty wall on one end - why not put some there?? No place to hang towels at all. (I think there were 2 hooks - that's it.)


Loved the laundry area - it actually had some hanging space and as someone who doesn't dry alot of stuff in the dryer, it was great!


The flat screen TV's were really nice - actually I agree that the overall theming is the best here and was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked the resort. If they could just plop it down between Epcot and HS, it'd be golden. lol


We saw many animals - actually all but one on that sheet that helps you identify them. But we spent one resort day - and the animals definitely changed throughout the day.


The kids went in the pool (way to cold for me!) and loved the slide.


We really enjoyed staying here and definitely plan on staying more frequently at AKV.

------------------------------
Kim :mrmouse: (dh) :msmouse: (me!) :tinkerbel (dd28) Smile!onald: (ds25) :minniemou: (dd19) :mickeymou (ds9)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit goofy4mickey's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
jbhoward_99
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 15
Review Date: Wed February 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Savanna view, beautiful lobby, excellent breakfast buffet
Cons: Can't walk to anything outside of the resort

We stayed here to enjoy the new rooms overlooking the "savanna". The lobby of the hotel is so beautiful! The hotel is just awsome to see. We were there at Christmastime and the tree was so cool. Anyway, the savanna view was neat, but not like we had dreamed about. I guess we thought we would see a sprawling savanna with animals wandering about. Our view had some trees and some grass, but a lot of dirt and service areas visible. The animals were there almost all of the time (the feed them to attract them) which was nice and they were very close. Just not as "picture perfect" as we had dreamed about. The rooms were very nice and well-maintained. We LOVED the breakfast buffet at Boma (the juice was awesome!) We didn't like that we were sort of "trapped" at the hotel and couldn't really walk anywhere (we had to use the bus). I thought we'd be able to walk to AK, but it was too far and no path. I'm not sure if this has been changed or not. We're used to being close enough to at least one park to walk. Very nice overall though. We'd LOVE to stay in the Grand Villa here!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ToddEly
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 2
Review Date: Thu September 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Savanna view, comfortable room
Cons: Problems with air conditoner

We were there in early June, and had a friend stay with us in the room. He had no problems with the fold out couch, said that it was comfortable and had no problems falling to sleep.


The room was great, just like the hotel. It felt like we were on a safari (the nighttime animal viewing with the night vision goggles helped with that as well).


We were a little surprised to see the bathroom, it didn't look like the model they showed us nor what we had a layout of. But we spoke to a DVC person at the park and found out that the new village will have that layout.


Waking up and looking outside at the aniamls was a nice start to the day. We could also see them working on the new building from our patio, and it seemed that some of the animals liked to watch the progress.


The only thing that we really didn't like was the air conditioning. If I had found this site before we left I ould have know how to take care of that. Glad I know about this place now. We all really enjoyed our stay. Our bed was nice and comfy. The shower/tub was nice and roomy. The dual sinks made us realize that dual sinks at home would be the bee's knees for getting ready in the morning.


Overall we had a great time, and are looking forward to returning.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
WDW Lover

Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: March 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 42
Review Date: Sun May 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful resort! Loved being able to watch the animals!!
Cons: Away from the 'action'; longer bus rides

Just returned from 3 nights Kidani Village - Savanna view...


The new resort is absolutely gorgeous!! The furnishings are very unique and the layout is wonderful. We especially enjoyed having the 2 full baths in the 1-BR villa. The kitchen layout is also very nice and gives the feel of much more space than at most of the other resorts. I have 3 grown sons, so having the sleeper chair was also nice. Both the couch and the chair were comfortable.


We loved watching the animals. There were almost always several varieties wandering around the savanna. There were two small giraffes who were fun to watch as they tried to keep up with the bigger guys!


We ate at Sanaa and it was one of the better meals of the trip. They are obviously working out some of the kinks, but would defintely recommend it.


While this resort is away from all of the 'action,' that isn't necessarily a bad thing. I would definitely stay here again for a more relaxing trip. The busses were pretty regular, but just must allow extra time for travel.


Overall, we really loved the experience!!

------------------------------
LeeAnn WDW visits off-site: 4/87, 11/87, 8/90, 12/91, 10/02, 6/03, 12/07 Disney Cruises: Big Red Boat 12/91; Disney Dream 11/11, 10/12; Disney Wonder 11/13, 12/14 On-site: 9/05 (PC), 1/06 (SSR), 5/06 (OKW), 1/07 (OKW), 5/07 (OKW), 9/07 (OKW), 1/08 (SSR), 3/08 (BWV), 5/08 (ASMu), 8/08 (BWV), 11/08 (OKW), 12/08 (VWL), 2/09 (ASMo), 5/09 (BWV/AKV), 12/09 (BWV); 02/10 (CBR); 05/10 (POR); 09/10 (ASMu); 10/10 (THV); 01/11 (BWV); 04/11 (CBR); 09/11 (ASSp); 11/11 (SSR/BWV - :lovestrucWedding!!); 02/12 (BLT/VWL); 09/12 (ASSp); 11/12 (BWV); 01/13 (OKW); 05/13 (SSR); 10/13 (BWV): 01/14 (VGF/SSR); 03/14 (SSR); 10/14 (BWV) DLR: 9/1959 (I was VERY young!!), 10/82, 10/07, 07/11 http://i25.tinypic.com/wrdlah.jpg http://i26.tinypic.com/1195eh4.jpg [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
cara620
Waiting to pass ROFR (i.e., n00b)

Registered: November 2008
Location: MI
Posts: 40
Review Date: Sat September 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Perfect for a family of 5
Cons: none

We are currently staying in the onebedroom SV at Kidani Villiage and could not be happier. We are a family of 5 and this is the perfect space for us. The living room is huge..sooo much larger than the 2bdrm at SSR we stayed at in Jan09. My older kids are loving all the activities they can do at the community center and all the things that are planed around the resort, including Jambo house. We are staying 4 nights (planned on 3 but added one more ) and we are not even going to any parks. We just got off a 4night DCL cruise and headed here to tryout our home resort for the first time and some r&r before we head home. This is perfect for r&r but not boring for the kids. The pool and water play area are wonderful. I can not count how many times my big kids have gone down the big water slide ..and my 2 year old will not stop going down the little warterslide. We are all loving our stay here.


I have very few complaints..1. the elevators are few and far between. and 2. no quick service food....the pool bar has a few salads and sandwiches you can pay an arm and leg for...but those using the DDP are not happy to find out that the pool bar is not QS. So my suggestion is that if you are planning on being around the pool around lunch time....pack a lunch, you have a kitchen, use it.


I hope our review was helpful.

------------------------------
Cara, [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Prochristo

Two Bedroom

Registered: April 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 567
Review Date: Mon September 27, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful views, Beautiful resort, Friendly staff
Cons: Remote location from all but AK, dimly lit rooms

First off- it is a truly stunning property. As you would guess, given that it's a Disney resort, the theming is wonderfully carried out into the smallest of details. I was expecting the lobby to be bigger than it was- more like Jambo House, I suppose, but in reality it is much smaller and more intimate- very cozy. All of the staff we encountered while staying at Kidani were very knowledgeable and courteous. We stayed in a 1 BR, Savannah view and we really loved the villa. My only complaint about the room itself is that it is quite dark. I don't mean the coloring of the decor, which is very warm, but rather the fact that the actual lighting fixtures don't put out much light. Leaving the drapes open in the daytime helps considerably, but at night time this obviously doesn't work.


We stayed in room 7442 and it was quite a hike to the lobby or bus stops. Not impossible, but after a long day of touring the parks, our feet and legs were definitely not liking all that "extra" walking. Next time we'll request a room closer to the lobby.


I didn't care for having to walk through the smoking area outside to get to the bus stop. I realize it has to go somewhere, but I think that placing it there was a big mistake on Disney's part.


Regarding the Savannah view- it was absolutely mesmerizing. We were on the 4th floor and I can tell you we'd have been very disappointed if we'd been placed on the 5th floor, where I imagine all you'd see of the Savannah would be the tops of the trees. After popping into the Community Center on the 2nd floor (same as the lobby) I think a 2nd or 3rd floor room would be preferable.


The busses came frequently. I don't recall ever waiting more than 5 minutes for a bus to arrive. Getting picked up before the masses at Jambo House was great!


The gift shop is VERY small. I'm used to the larger ones like at Pop or CBR- so that was a surprise.


The lack of a food court is rather annoying. Getting to The Mara isn't hard, but it is a hike- and it's kind of a pain to use the bus to get there. Also, note that the in-room dining is fairly exotic and there were no children's options listed. We might have been able to request a kids menu, but we didn't try.

------------------------------
Amy http://i1200.photobucket.com/albums/bb327/prochristo/WDW%20December%202010/DSC01420-1.jpg?t=1298442525
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:14 PM.

MouseOwners. "MouseOwners" is a registered servicemark. This is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated in any way with The Walt Disney Company, the Disney Vacation Club, Disney Vacation Development, or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. All Disney images The Walt Disney Company.
Powered by Forum Software